Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

COVID-19 - NRL press conference at 10:00 Livestream Todd Greenberg and Peter V'Landys

Stop stirrin up shit Cap'n. Didn't you see em on the sideline the other night washing the footy balls in water and then disso.

Mate, the NRL has this all under control.

Stop your panicking alright, you'll scare the kids.
I still say it's a BS Plandemic!

shadowboxer

Come back this time next week or in a Fortnight and we can discuss the BS around it - Bondi on Friday is a sign of how many think it is BS, time will tell

ghoti

I loved how players were elbow bumpig end of game after essentially smoochin for 80 mins

Game goes when the first posi test arrives in any player or support staff, govt probably has to step in cos NRL seem hell bent on playing through it. Would be off if Beattie was still in chsrge, (for better or worse who knows)

I'm not sure where stats are at atm but with the amount of contact and travel these squads are doing it's almost a certainty of. Positive test in the next fortnight id think..

Stop stirrin up shit Cap'n. Didn't you see em on the sideline the other night washing the footy balls in water and then disso.

Mate, the NRL has this all under control.

Stop your panicking alright, you'll scare the kids.

I did and it's a wank. Totally ineffective unless using a virucidal agent. Better to wipe the balls with Clinell wipes.

Then the other day when the Beagles wore the masks. Just stupid and also ineffectual.

Masks should only be worn by affected people and those in close contact with them. There is a big risk of making the bloody thing worse for yourself if you wear a mask as you keep breathing the virus in if you are incubating.

I see stupid people.........

Come back this time next week or in a Fortnight and we can discuss the BS around it - Bondi on Friday is a sign of how many think it is BS, time will tell

Exponential growth. It's not bullshit. It's also not going to kill the majority that get it but it's real and people need to stop having optimism bias and stop thinking about danger to ourselves but start thinking about danger to others. If we look after ourselves we look after everyone.

The peak of this is expected to be 6 months duration. That will extend if people don't follow advice.

I don't think enough is being said about the dovetail that is going to happen when COVID-19 runs into normal flu season here. The timing of this is just real bad.

Here's chart showing the exponential growth up till March 17th. This is just NSW.

new-and-cumulative-covid-19-cases-in-australia-by-notification-date_0.png

How’s your health going Frenzy?
Haven’t seen you around for a while.

I’ve been on speed dial to Brooksy over the last 12 months.
Copped a flathead spike in a knuckle FMD what a punish that was/is.

Inferno

I wonder how many people have it but aren't being tested because they don't fit the criteria.

On Friday I was told that a colleague who had been in the office during the week had all the symptoms and was told by a doctor they "probably had it". But because they hadn't been in direct contact with a confirmed case they couldn't be tested.

We were told we should "probably" self isolate over the weekend, but that those with particular commitments on Monday and Tuesday would still need to come in. Everyone else should work from home for a couple of days.

How’s your health going Frenzy?
Haven’t seen you around for a while.

I’ve been on speed dial to Brooksy over the last 12 months.
Copped a flathead spike in a knuckle FMD what a punish that was/is.

Healthy for now thanks carch for asking. But fully expect to get this thing eventually. Probably when the COVID-19/Flu season dovetail happens. Thats expected in mid/late April. I'll get a flu shot, they are going to make it compulsory for health workers and then take leave for a few days because the flu shot will temporarily lower immunity to the other cunova thing. Despite this EVERYONE should have the shot this year. Don't worry about being a tree hugging greenie or whatever stops people getting one. Have it. Official advice will come out soon I'm sure.

Flathead spikes... one of the most painful things I've had in a litany of painful things LOL

I'm mainly pissed off about all the extra work I'm doing which is directly related to this shit. 12 hour days where I go 2 hours early to get my job work done then at around 8:30 the COVID-19 shit starts for the next 8 hours. Then 2 hours to do my regular stuff again.

Woe is me. I'm not the only one but FMD it's just a bit ridiculous some of the stuff I have to do daily.

Vent complete.

By the way you still might run into me at Coles. They had dunny paper today. 1 palette. Limit of one pack of 32. I got one only because haven't been able to get any for weeks and the leaves are starting to scratch my arse. LOLLOL

Healthy for now thanks carch for asking. But fully expect to get this thing eventually. Probably when the COVID-19/Flu season dovetail happens. Thats expected in mid/late April. I'll get a flu shot, they are going to make it compulsory for health workers and then take leave for a few days because the flu shot will temporarily lower immunity to the other cunova thing. Despite this EVERYONE should have the shot this year. Don't worry about being a tree hugging greenie or whatever stops people getting one. Have it. Official advice will come out soon I'm sure.

Flathead spikes... one of the most painful things I've had in a litany of painful things LOL

I'm mainly pissed off about all the extra work I'm doing which is directly related to this shit. 12 hour days where I go 2 hours early to get my job work done then at around 8:30 the COVID-19 shit starts for the next 8 hours. Then 2 hours to do my regular stuff again.

Woe is me. I'm not the only one but FMD it's just a bit ridiculous some of the stuff I have to do daily.

Vent complete.

By the way you still might run into me at Coles. They had dunny paper today. 1 palette. Limit of one pack of 32. I got one only because haven't been able to get any for weeks and the leaves are starting to scratch my arse. LOLLOL
Good to hear mate
I’m in the pound until April 1 mate

you might know my sister in law.
Crazy Mary
Helps place people into old folks homes.
Moran up Engadine is one such place.

I wonder how many people have it but aren't being tested because they don't fit the criteria.

On Friday I was told that a colleague who had been in the office during the week had all the symptoms and was told by a doctor they "probably had it". But because they hadn't been in direct contact with a confirmed case they couldn't be tested.

We were told we should "probably" self isolate over the weekend, but that those with particular commitments on Monday and Tuesday would still need to come in. Everyone else should work from home for a couple of days.

They will only be detectable by contact tracing after the fact. And that is enormously hard to do and won't catch everyone.

That doctor was wrong BTW. That person you know should have been tested. It's in the NSW Health guidelines but sadly GPs are not really bound by them as they work privately.

It's not rocket science either. I am being screened 3 times a day. YES 3 TIMES A DAY. Once coming in to work. Once at midday and once leaving.

Have you recently returned from overseas?
Have you recently been in contact with a person known to have C19 or just returned from overseas?
Do have have any of these symptoms [everyone knows by now]

Answer yes to any they take your temperature and you get sent home after testing. Not for 14 days though for me. Only till test result comes back -ve then I can go back. If +ve and not gonna need hospitalisation but I get put off work and told to self isolate till symptoms abate.

This is for the whole LHD I work for and at least 3 others I am aware of.

This week I expect to get redeployed into somewhere else as my area of work is considered high risk and we have to pretty much totally distance every client socially. 192 of them. Then all my staff bar 3 will be re deployed as well

Good to hear mate
I’m in the pound until April 1 mate

you might know my sister in law.
Crazy Mary
Helps place people into old folks homes.
Moran up Engadine is one such place.

Moran have been doing great with this.

Don't think I know Crazy Mary. I'm not working in the shire. I'm in a different LHD.

Are you in the pound 'cause you just came back from, Bali was it?

PNG
I was safer there.

Phuque yeah. I wouldn't be caught dead in Indonesia. Under reporting. No public health system to speak of. Tests for COVID-19 unavailable.

This is true of many countries. Not even in the USA do they have enough available testing due to their screwed up health system. If you don't have insurance there you have to pay to be tested so they are under reporting as well. Most of the new cases in NSW overnight are back from USA.

Hateful nation. Can't stand them

Phuque yeah. I wouldn't be caught dead in Indonesia. Under reporting. No public health system to speak of. Tests for COVID-19 unavailable.

This is true of many countries. Not even in the USA do they have enough available testing due to their screwed up health system. If you don't have insurance there you have to pay to be tested so they are under reporting as well. Most of the new cases in NSW overnight are back from USA.

Hateful nation. Can't stand them
The people coming back from the US have been the main distributors here for a couple of weeks, by a long way.
Their insurance health scheme will destroy them, you just know they have way more cases then what is being reported.
Medicare for the win.

By the way, PNG is where me roots are. All me black fella reels are from PNG included my dad
My missus did her schooling there.
Friendliest people on Earth.
I was walking down the street and men with machetes were coming up and shaking my hand.
It was a highlight of my life so far.
Spent 2 x 6 month stints in Africa and this was just as if not better.