Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cricket Crap

Sobers also said he much prefers the modern attacking approach to batting to anything he saw as a player in the same interview...

When he said "that is not cricket" he was talking about the game being so much more, and his time in the game being so much more, than one six-ball over that people remember. Not that hitting tonnes of sixes isn't cricket.

That being said I agree that T10 is only useful for carnival weekends and exhibition,

He said t20 has made batsman more attacking in test cricket

Then went on to say test cricket is the real cricket. T20 is "entertainment" cricket

tomdl

Warne is going to spend his entire summer trying to find reasons why Khawaja shouldn’t be in the test teams. We all know how much he hates it when people don’t cup his balls and agree with every thing he said.

He sounded genuinely unhinged last night everytime he bought it. Hope Usman sleeps with one eye open.

Warne has been a lot better than on ch9. He is even pissing in Gillys pockets at times (and vice versa)

That interview with crash where he says Tugger is selfish cause he never likes getting out, LOL.

Still has his agendas though, particularly pro Victorian.

AlwaysGreen

I kind of agree with Warne on that 'this is the way I play' attitude.

Brad Haddin used to lob the ball to mid off when we were 5/67 and at the next press conference tell us he was playing his natural game.

Sometimes for the good of the team you have to play differently.

Warne is still a wanker though

I mean, he does have a point.

Not so much about Warner, f**k his OLED eyes.

But when he says "Australian cricket needs to stop worrying about being liked and start worrying about being respected."

Pretty hard to disagree with that sentiment. I think the nice guy thing has been done and not worked all that well by other nations. The trick is to find the balance between Warner style cricket and the saccharine stuff. A nice middle ground.

WaznTheGreat

I kind of agree with Warne on that 'this is the way I play' attitude.

Brad Haddin used to lob the ball to mid off when we were 5/67 and at the next press conference tell us he was playing his natural game.

Sometimes for the good of the team you have to play differently.

Warne is still a wanker though

Shittiest cricketer ever Brad Haddin

JJ

Clarke is feeling left out - and yet again Katich seems far more balanced...

No problem with the comment re respect, I don't think this is about being liked... and sorry, I'm not seeing too many people saying they respect Davey... having him in the team means you're neither liked, nor respected... the likes of Border, Waugh etc didn't worry much about being liked... in fact Clarkey seems to be the one that worries most about being liked

I’m a huge Katich fan, not so much Clarke but, Don’t disagree a lot with what Clarke said. We play a certain way, have done for a decades, and now we need to change, bend over to everyone and be super friendly because we want to win over the puplics respect? Please

As in a lot of sports, at this level it is a mental game. Talk to Tugger and AB, 100% they agree with Clarke IMO

WaznTheGreat

I’m a huge Katich fan, not so much Clarke but, Don’t disagree a lot with what Clarke said. We play a certain way, have done for a decades, and now we need to change, bend over to everyone and be super friendly because we want to win over the puplics respect? Please

As in a lot of sports, at this level it is a mental game. Talk to Tugger and AB, 100% they agree with Clarke IMO

R.I.P Tugger

JJ

Not sure it's Davey Warner's way though - AB, Waugh didn't have a giant sook when anyone said anything mean back to them... and to my knowledge they didn't deliberately cheat - in fact Border was in many ways the perfect cricketer - hard as nails, respected by everyone, gave it everything and expected others to etc (yeah, big AB fan here)

Timbo

I don't think it's that at all. Clarke is sticking up for his little mate Davey, and he is still operating with this disconnect that you need to be an arsehole to win cricket matches.

Runs and wickets win cricket matches, not being a tool. Where did we suddenly get the idea that good blokes can't bat or bowl?

WaznTheGreat

I don't think it's that at all. Clarke is sticking up for his little mate Davey, and he is still operating with this disconnect that you need to be an arsehole to win cricket matches.

Runs and wickets win cricket matches, not being a tool. Where did we suddenly get the idea that good blokes can't bat or bowl?

Matt Wade wins cricket matches