Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cronulla - The New Entertainers

Rockin Ronny

News Limited owns our game. Anything in rugby league that benefits News Limited is valuable to them - which is why Cronulla's problems have made them immensely valuable to News. The trick will be - how do they keep Cronulla afloat until even more stupidities are revealed. How much more is in the Sharkies' closet?

The rich vein of stories from Cronulla are a dream for News Limited "scribes" and other league muck-rakers like Danny Weidler:
  • 4 Corners, Matt Johns and Bunnings in NZ 2002
  • Greg Bird and the glassing
  • Paul Gallen - ball, stitches attack plus racist comment
  • Zappia belting a staff member - and the rest
  • Mystery dying bloke and the cash
  • "Pyramids" development saga
  • Seymour getting hammered
  • Sponsors (LG) leaving in droves
  • Proposed Claytons relocation to Gosford
If they had a criteria again, News Limited would make Cronulla first - just to keep the stories flowing.

If not for Cronulla, no-one would watch the Footy Show which was dying a painfully slow death. It's hilarious watching neanderthals like Fatty trying to get his tiny mind and big mouth around all the controversies.

I say "Go the Sharks". Rugby league's new and greatest entertainers.

The Dodger

rocking ronny, i find it very funny and sad at the same time, how much it hurts you to see the cronulla club still here after all the shiit it has gone through.

i do sympathise with you, as there are alot of you out there that would just wish nothing but pain and suffering for the club.

the reality is, if all clubs were anal probed the way cronulla has been this year, i wonder what skeletons would be found?

hopefully this ends with cronulla, but if it contiunes through to other clubs, then a revamp is what will be happening, without a doubt.

News Limited owns our game. Anything in rugby league that benefits News Limited is valuable to them - which is why Cronulla's problems have made them immensely valuable to News. The trick will be - how do they keep Cronulla afloat until even more stupidities are revealed. How much more is in the Sharkies' closet?

The rich vein of stories from Cronulla are a dream for News Limited "scribes" and other league muck-rakers like Danny Weidler:
  • 4 Corners, Matt Johns and Bunnings in NZ 2002
  • Greg Bird and the glassing
  • Paul Gallen - ball, stitches attack plus racist comment
  • Zappia belting a staff member - and the rest
  • Mystery dying bloke and the cash
  • "Pyramids" development saga
  • Seymour getting hammered
  • Sponsors (LG) leaving in droves
  • Proposed Claytons relocation to Gosford
If they had a criteria again, News Limited would make Cronulla first - just to keep the stories flowing.

If not for Cronulla, no-one would watch the Footy Show which was dying a painfully slow death. It's hilarious watching neanderthals like Fatty trying to get his tiny mind and big mouth around all the controversies.

I say "Go the Sharks". Rugby league's new and greatest entertainers.

Yeppers Wockin' Wonnie - you are 100% right there.

Our rich vien of stories far outweigh any others.

# Group Sex in the Brissie Nightclub Cubicle inv Aus Rep Players (Late 2008)
# Tackling the Bar Manager in the Street (Aus Cap'n Filmed 2008)
# Stealing grog from behind bar (Filmed 2008 - Aus Rep Players)
# Player seriously assualting Girlfriend ( 2009 Currently doing comm-service)
# Aus Rep player and 09 Face of League charged sexual assault of 17 year old (2009)
# Aus Rep player snotts club sponsor at launch (2009)
# Former Aus Rep Player pissing in street (2009)
# Star marquee player walking out on contract and club (2008)

Yeah Wonnie us Sharkies are having a shocker - and all by ourselves.

# Aus Rep player and 09 Face of League charged sexual assault of 17 year old (2009)

:lol: well done Quigs, That about sums it up

Wockin Wonnie

Can you get the first home owners grant if you build a glass house?

The Dodger

the thing is quigs, i wonder what sort of skeletons will another teams closet have if they were tergeted just as much.

its all good.

clean up the mess and start fresh.

BIKER_DRAGON

So what is next more bogus fund set ups to pay players under the the table. Something the NRL are currently investigating.

NGR

rocking ronny, i find it very funny and sad at the same time, how much it hurts you to see the cronulla club still here after all the shiit it has gone through.

i do sympathise with you, as there are alot of you out there that would just wish nothing but pain and suffering for the club.

the reality is, if all clubs were anal probed the way cronulla has been this year, i wonder what skeletons would be found?

hopefully this ends with cronulla, but if it contiunes through to other clubs, then a revamp is what will be happening, without a doubt.

have a cry...

souths have been copping it since the end of the super league war, and you poor little sharks cop it for half a year... pfffffffft

The simple fact is NO club would want to be placed under such scrutiny as the Sharks are at the moment. An investigation of any club would result in something being dug up and once the mud has been thrown, it sticks - regardless of whether it was found to be utter BS at a later date. Look at the beat up about the women in the Sharks dressing room. Was there a retraction, an apology? No, but the mud has stuck.

And remember, if the press turn their eyes on your club, it is not just the present circumstances that are under review. Anything from the last 10 years appears to be fair game at the moment. So even clubs that have invested a lot of time and effort in cleaning up their act are not in the clear yet.

How confident are you that your club has nothing to hide from the tabloids?

The simple fact is NO club would want to be placed under such scrutiny as the Sharks are at the moment. An investigation of any club would result in something being dug up and once the mud has been thrown, it sticks - regardless of whether it was found to be utter BS at a later date. Look at the beat up about the women in the Sharks dressing room. Was there a retraction, an apology? No, but the mud has stuck.

And remember, if the press turn their eyes on your club, it is not just the present circumstances that are under review. Anything from the last 10 years appears to be fair game at the moment. So even clubs that have invested a lot of time and effort in cleaning up their act are not in the clear yet.

How confident are you that your club has nothing to hide from the tabloids?

I am pretty confident we will be ok should anything come up.

Ronnie Dobbs

Thats 8 incidents across the rest of the clubs compared to nine just for the Sharks.

I think its a fair cop.

Thats 8 incidents across the rest of the clubs compared to nine just for the Sharks.

I think its a fair cop.

Dobbsy I was only scratching the surface.

# There was a little halfback from Canberra.

# Not to mention some of your own DUIers and drive without licences was that in 08... hangon that was only a year or so ago.

# Dogs pub brawls

Thats just from memory, imagine if I did something that Magnay and DUI wouldn't know about, imagine if I used ballanced investigative journalism.

Imagine what else I could dig up with just a tad bit of research.

Oh and I think Joel Clinton might of had another root after since having the one the other night too. Just a hunch.

Declared Idiot #88

BIKER_DRAGON

Bring back the club show just for the Sharks
attitude-1.gif

1658291.jpg