What's new
The Front Row Forums

Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cross from Batemans Bay to Origin Dream

Pumba

First Grade
Cross from Batemans Bay to Origin Dream
By Andrew Bryan

As a kid from Batemans Bay, Ben Cross always dreamed of playing in Rugby League’s theatre of dreams.

The NSW Wizard Blues prop has impressed since his move to the Knights in 2008 and has earned his maiden Blues jersey ahead of Australian Test prop Brent Kite.

“I’m absolutely over the moon,” Cross said.

“I’ve been waiting forever to pull this jersey on, ever since I started playing back in Batemans Bay, to pull it on is unreal.”

Cross was inspired as a youngster by hard-hitting NSW legends Steve Roach and Paul Harrigan and hopes to emulate them in Rugby League’s greatest rivalry.

“I’ve thought about playing for the Blues 24/7,” he said.

“When you play footy as a kid and as you get older you start to realise the steps you need to take to get there.

“I’ve worked my way pretty hard to get here and I never want to take this jersey off.

“My heroes as a kid were big Blocker, Chief and Mark Geyer, they all played with such aggression and passion, it was unreal to watch their battles.

“Guys like Wayne Pearce were battle-warriors, they went all day and never stopped and I used to love watching him and all the old Blues front-rowers play.

The 29-year-old has no illusions going into his debut clash against the Maroons at ANZ Stadium on Wednesday night and plans to feed off the experience of NSW stalwarts Willie Mason and Craig Fitzgibbon.

“I’m expecting a war,” he said.

“Two forward packs going full-out at each other, so we will need to get some early ascendancy and try to set up the series in the opening 15 minutes.