Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cross OUT

Pika

I am with you mate.

Thought you might have had some inside info about his preseason or something.

I think its an unfair call to say he is overpaid without him having a run.

We might get a better idea as the season goes through.

At 120kg, Wicks is our quickest forward over 20m, that in itself is damaging. He also has a good football brain, which makes him easy to Coach. He is up there with our rep players in learning plays and understanding calls etc.

He is meeting all his preseason targets, so only match time will tell.

keeney

I think he could be anything, he certainly seems big adn gifted. BUT he wasn't playing first grade for a lot of last year, and hasn't always been impressive.

roopy

Wicks did have the worst coach in the NRL making the game plans for him last season, and this year he has arguably the best coach at making game plans to maximise the strengths of individual players.
Give Smith an impact player and he will use him perfectly more often than not.

Yosh

Well I would aruge in terms of natural talent Perry had it in the truckloads and yeah didnt really impress... And yeah sure he was under Hagan at the time, but why didnt Smith keep him? Is Wicks better than Perry?

Frederick

perverse said:
he'll make one there too i daresay.
With all the food he'll be buying at the ground I reckon we'll go a long way to paying Wests back that $1 million they underwrote us for

keeney

Wicks is obviously more athletic than Perry, from all accounts he's heaps quicker while carrying the same weight. Perry just pulled a purple patch out of nowhere in 03, the likes of which had never and shall never be seen again.

NthKnight

Knight's lucky escape Wicks walks away from bike smash

KNIGHTS battering ram Danny Wicks has walked away from a motor vehicle accident that destroyed his scooter and severely damaged another car but left him with hardly a scratch.

The former Dragons front-rower has been ruled out of the team to play Cronulla in a pre-season trial at Cessnock on Saturday night but is lucky to be alive after the bingle at Adamstown on Monday.

"I feel like I got hit by a car," Wicks laughed yesterday as he recalled the incident to teammates at a photoshoot at EnergyAustralia Stadium.

"I had a bit of glass taken out of my elbow, and I'm just a bit sore. My scooter's a write-off and the car got towed away, but I walked away.

"The car was probably doing 40 or 50 kilometres an hour, and I was probably doing 40 or 50, and we hit head-on, and I was on a motorbike, so I definitely won't be playing on Saturday.

"The bike went into the radiator then I dented the bonnet, hit the windscreen, dented the roof, dented the boot, then landed on my feet on the tar."

Asked to compare the impact to a tackle, the 22-year-old Grafton junior said: "I know I haven't been hit that hard before."

Knights coach Brian Smith said Wicks was "sick and sore" once the adrenaline rush from the shock had worn off, and he was lucky not to be more seriously injured.

"He won't play on Saturday, as a precaution more than anything, but he's getting around OK now, which is amazing when you think of what he went through," Smith said.

"The car's been damaged from top to toe and he's walked away with a scratch on his left elbow."

Wicks had missed earlier trial games against the New Zealand Warriors and South Newcastle because of a hamstring strain but said he would be fit to play in Newcastle's NRL season-opener at home against Canberra on March 15.

http://theherald.yourguide.com.au/n...wicks-walks-away-from-bike-smash/1191905.html

Well it seems he has some outstanding agility for a bif fella. Lets see Perry do that :D