Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch 2012

CC_Roosters

Brisbane V Steelers 46k
Melbourne V Newy 14.5k
Penrith V Sharks 15k
Parra V Manly 11k
Chooks V Warriors 10k
titans V bulldogs 15k
wests v souths 25k
raiders v cowboys 10.5k

wests v's souths must be 25k as a minimum really should be 30k, anything less is a failure. looks to be good weather, sunday arvo, great stadium, heritage round, the list goes on......

Jono1987

17k is still average considering the Dragons are a good team and supposedly one of the better supported teams.

I'd love to see them sell the ground out.

Great? No. Average? Hardly.

There is no disputing that we're one the most supported teams in the competition. Whether you use home attendance, away attendance, membership numbers, TV audience ratings...whatever. It is clear that we belong in the top handful of clubs.

We agree on your last point. It's a shame that it would cost a fortune to transform the ground from an oval to rectangular shape. It might slightly reduce capacity but those seats behind the goalpost would provide much better viewing and might then sell out.

CC_Roosters

Great? No. Average? Hardly.

There is no disputing that we're one the most supported teams in the competition. Whether you use home attendance, away attendance, membership numbers, TV audience ratings...whatever. It is clear that we belong in the top handful of clubs.

We agree on your last point. It's a shame that it would cost a fortune to transform the ground from an oval to rectangular shape. It might slightly reduce capacity but those seats behind the goalpost would provide much better viewing and might then sell out.

Surely a proper steep grandstand close to the touchline and in place of the hill would increase capacity? Then you could square up and transform the ends to hills with seats at the front ala newcastle.

azza29

11 thousand in Melbourne?
They would be disappointed with that.

What's it cost to go at AAMI?

A bit low, from memory they had a few under 10k against the lower drawing teams last year, so in that light it's an improvement. Sunday afternoon just doesn't seem to work well down here. Rebels got a rubbish crowd last week too.

Given the Knights aren't exactly a huge draw card in Melbourne I reckon we'll get a similar number on Friday night.

And GA tickets are about $25 or $27 IIRC. Kids/family tickets are dirt cheap though.

DC_fan

Crowd comparison after four rounds for 2007-2012

2007. 581,801
2008 601,020
2009. 594,573
2010. 573,179
2011. 572,732
2012. 539,480

This season ranks 6th or a long way last over the past six years.

We are down on 2011 figures by 33,252 or 5.8 percent.

CC_Roosters

Crowd comparison after four rounds for 2007-2012

2007. 581,801
2008 601,020
2009. 594,573
2010. 573,179
2011. 572,732
2012. 539,480

This season ranks 6th or a long way last over the past six years.

We are down on 2011 figures by 33,252 or 5.8 percent.

Round 3 killed us, averaging just 14,006. Rounds 5, 6 and 8 should go a long way to catching up with the curve.

docbrown

So

2011 (up to Round 4 Avg) - 16,859
2005 (up to Round 4 Avg) - 17,581

2005 (up to Round 5 Avg) - 17,717
To catch up to that 2011 Round 5 needs 169,212

Next two weeks SHOULD represent a good pickup, a big Easter should right the ship, hopefully

Can't really complain for crowds this round, though nothing spectacular. Crowds should get better next week. Should be aiming for +25k Tigpies vs Souffs at SFS surely, though Tigers shoddy form might hinder this outcome.