Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch 2013 - Part Deux

undertaker

Yesterday and today should've been swapped. SGI v MAN would've been a perfect 3pm game, and SYD v PEN definitely a Monday night fixture.

agreed. Dragons/Sea Eagles would've got close to a sell out had it been yesterday arvo.

Still hard to believe Brookvale only has two Sunday games in the first 20 rounds, Kogarah only has one, and Leichhardt zero. These suburban venues are tailor-made for Sunday arvo football

Danish

Manly and Dragons fans are probably the better behaved fans I've witnessed.

Never had any problems with dragons fans. ANZAC day is always in great spirit, as have been every game I've attended at Kogarah. Even after the 2010 grand final I didn't cop my flack walking out of the stadium (the wife got abused by a couple drunks sitting in front of us, but thats it).

with Manly, considering how many thumpings I've had to witness at brookvale I've never so much as even copped a sarcastic "good game mate" or anything. Manly fans seem to focus solely on their own side and almost ignore any opposition fans from what I can tell.

Of the sydney clubs Souths and dogs fans would be the worst in terms of pig headed assholes trying to either rub your face in a win (souffs) or getting agitated and/or violent after a loss (dogs).

In the whole league though Melbourne fans take the cake. I'd say it would be a fun trip to go down there when they turn shit and just give it to them, but we all know if/when the day comes that the storm are only middle of the road there will be no fans at the games to mock anyway.

the dude

I wasn't talking violence so much.. I hate nothing more than watching Souths lose at Brookvale because the arrogance of their fans. That's why they're probably my most hated - followed by Roosters. But I agree with the Dogs, they're probably 3rd worst, Dragons 4th worst. (From a Souths perspective anyway)

SLRBRONCOS

In SEQLD,

Dragons fans are fine - majority of broncos fans all have a dragons mate that they bring along to the game. Its a fun rivalry from what I've witnessed at Suncorp.

Manly - are pretty bad, a Manly supporting family friend was sitting with his wife in the Manly supporter bay at last years match and decided to leave, as he couldnt handle his own teams filthy fans.

Rabbitohs - there were some pretty colourful displays from bunnies fans on Friday night. A fight below us and a group of ethnics causing trouble to my left.

Bulldogs - Bulldogs fans come up here come from suburbs similar to those in Sydney, and act exactly the same.

NZ - all just rent a crowd, care for the 80mins, then couldnt give a shit. Just show up in their all blacks gear.

Tigers, Parramatta, Penrith, Cronulla, Canberra and Roosters are all meh.

Newcastle - for some reason, they are all obese.

SLRBRONCOS

with Manly, considering how many thumpings I've had to witness at brookvale I've never so much as even copped a sarcastic "good game mate" or anything. Manly fans seem to focus solely on their own side and almost ignore any opposition fans from what I can tell.

You should see how they perform up here. Im a placid bloke and they irate me beyond belief.

the dude

Round 9 predictions

Souths vs Cowboys - 20k
Tigers vs Sharks - 15k
Warriors vs Bulldogs - 14k
Eels vs Broncos - 10k
Raiders vs Knights - 16k
Titans vs Dragons - 15k
Panthers vs Storm - 10k
Manly vs Roosters - 15k

Crap round for crowds

undertaker

Newcastle - for some reason, they are all obese.

:lol: No joke there.

At the several Knights away games I've been to over the past few years since moving to Sydney, man oh man I've sat next to some grossly overweight Knights fans (mostly women) who are large enough to eat you.

SLRBRONCOS

Nathan Tinkler continued the obesity trend.

What made it even more noticeable was the giant Mcdonalds M on one of the goal ends.. Did you both notice this too?

LJC

Souths and penrith on a sunny Sunday afternoon gets 15 k I reckon , no club relies on away fans more then easts, there two decent crowds this yr was on the back of away fans.

IMO they should have been kicked out before norths or at the very least relocated to perth

Give yourself an upper cut!

No club should be relocated or kicked out.

That was a massive Super League mistake! It had no idea of tribalism, tradition, historical ties and support and club familiarity advantages established over years of existence.

Quite amazed people still think that this is a way to go. Should have learnt from the South's' fight! The Bears are a worthy fight as well!

Longevity of a club is a massive advantage in a competitive sports market ,not something you throw away because some club has a rough trot!

t-ba

Souths and Manly bring the worst out in each other imo. They're up there with Cronulla in the blind hatred of Manly stakes, and I don't think Manly fans will every forgive Souths fans chanting about our imminent death and the resurrection of Norths early on in 2002. (It's hard to forget. RL Fans in Australia. Chanting)

I tend to agree with the person who said Manly fans do not care about the opposition. Pretty typical the world ends at the Roseville Bridge attitude.

CC_Roosters

What are we expecting tonight folks? Imo given there will be 6 manly fans there 12k is the pass mark. Wouldn't expect any more tbh

Souths and penrith on a sunny Sunday afternoon gets 15 k I reckon , no club relies on away fans more then easts, there two decent crowds this yr was on the back of away fans.

Of course. We all know the the crowds for the souffs parra dogs and dragons games were purely away support. They dont bother turning up to their own home games in those numbers though. They would rather spend their money on doing the roosters a favour

BunniesMan

I'm not that old; but was rugby league always the 4th most popular sport in the eastern suburbs of sydney

???
Politis was whingeing a few weeks ago about how RL in the Eastern suburbs needs more help than the western suburbs.
Of course. We all know the the crowds for the souffs parra dogs and dragons games were purely away support. They dont bother turning up to their own home games in those numbers though. They would rather spend their money on doing the roosters a favour
We got triple what Easts got against an out of town team and without a superstar offseason signing.

CC_Roosters

Looks horrendous at Kogarah. Barely 10k on the pictures I have seen so far

Jumped the gun with the above, looks like heaps piled in for kickoff. Looks 13-14k