Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch 2013 - Part Deux

ParraEelsNRL

And if a Perth side was struggling like the Panthers or eels are atm, what would their crowds be after 3 years of shitness?

2k if lucky.

RL heartland v RL expansion area? If we ever drop to sub 8k then I'd be gutted, especially after being in the comp for fifty years! Are Penrith travelling that bad? The Fremantle dockers have been generally crap forever yet draw 30k, the western farce suck since they started and still get 15k, stop making excuses, sub 10k crowds are a joke and when we keep hearing we can't have new teams because the existing ones need to be stronger then we see crowds of 8k surely you can understand the frustration?

Jason Maher

Perth Red, just f**k off.

Titans crowd was bullshit. No f**king way in hell the ground was over 40% full.

BunniesMan

I do agree that expansion cannot happen while we have weak clubs. Expansion clubs will take up a lot of resources. Like the Storm still do to this day despite all their success.

When we have 16 strong stable clubs then they can give birth to 2 new ones who will take our resources while they get set up.

SLRBRONCOS

RL heartland v RL expansion area? If we ever drop to sub 8k then I'd be gutted, especially after being in the comp for fifty years! Are Penrith travelling that bad? The Fremantle dockers have been generally crap forever yet draw 30k, the western farce suck since they started and still get 15k, stop making excuses, sub 10k crowds are a joke and when we keep hearing we can't have new teams because the existing ones need to be stronger then we see crowds of 8k surely you can understand the frustration?

FORCE don't get 15k. They got 16k vs Crusaders (whom are the big away drawers, whom everyone wants to beat)

No other force crowd was 13k. New stadium stand and they average 11k - 12.5k.

Sub 10 crowds are a joke, but I can't see a Perth bud averaging much better.

Then why don't you have more members?

As far as your higher home crowd average is concerned

It's only because three of your home matches this year have been against Sydney based teams that pull a good crowd. (Souths, Canterbury and Dragons)

Plus the massive advantage of playing home matches on public holidays (Easter Monday and Anzac Day.)

That was a great move.

Taking a home match to Darwin against the Cowboys who are used to playing in the sweltering heat. :lol:

And they say we're the ones on the metho.

You must be another of those people who claim all our good crowds of which we have 4 this year and another passable one besides that are all due to away support and those away supporters cant be bothered turning up to their teams own home games.

BTW we all have a dig at souffs crowds because of the myth that is your membership base. Either the numbers are fabricated or the memberships are given away with centrelink payments and meth bottles

That and the fact that you all think souffs is the most supported sports team in the known universe.

Starkers

the western force have played 4 games at home this year for a total of 53,057 and an average of 13,264. they're sitting 2nd last on the table in front of the highlanders.

avg crowds so far in 2013

reds: 31,893 (6 games)
brumbies: 15,324 (6 games)
waratahs: 14,139 (5 games)
force: 13,264 (4 games)
rebels: 12,139 (5 games)

avg in 2012 after all 8 games

reds: 34,218
waratahs: 20,937
brumbies: 14,419
rebels: 13,914
force: 13,255

so reds have come off their high water mark but are still a strong drawer. brumbies have improved slightly but they are leading the comp. the waratahs have been destroyed at the gate despite izzy and the force and rebels are more or less holding despite similarly poor seasons.

You must be another of those people who claim all our good crowds of which we have 4 this year and another passable one besides that are all due to away support and those away supporters cant be bothered turning up to their teams own home games.

BTW we all have a dig at souffs crowds because of the myth that is your membership base. Either the numbers are fabricated or the memberships are given away with centrelink payments and meth bottles

That and the fact that you all think souffs is the most supported sports team in the known universe.

Members doesn't = ticketed members.

age.s

Yesterday was a shitty night for footy. How many people were taking their mum out for dinner? I know that's the reason I didn't go and I'm sure loads of others fell into the same boat.

franklin2323

Yeah. We have a core of 8k. The titans crowd was 99% Penrith. Melbourne bring 0 supporters to any Sydney game. Sunday night with School/Work the next day on mothers day.

Add to that we are rubbish. Have been for a few years now so the casual not hardcore supporter will miss most games. Against a team we beat 3 times EVER. It was always going to be a struggle.

timka4

Titans need to lower prices tickets to accommodate for the large diversity of supports on the gold coast. Most of the people I know (live on gc) don't even support the titans, they are a new team still however so it's I'd say acceptable. People who don't support either the home and away team but are still footy fans wont pay high money to watch the game, however if it was much lower many more fans would turn up just to watch a live game on the weekend

I do agree that expansion cannot happen while we have weak clubs. Expansion clubs will take up a lot of resources. Like the Storm still do to this day despite all their success.

When we have 16 strong stable clubs then they can give birth to 2 new ones who will take our resources while they get set up.

These weak clubs have been given decades to get there house in order and we're still waiting for them to be stable despite giving all the time in the world what a joke.

SLRBRONCOS

Titans need to lower prices tickets to accommodate for the large diversity of supports on the gold coast. Most of the people I know (live on gc) don't even support the titans, they are a new team still however so it's I'd say acceptable. People who don't support either the home and away team but are still footy fans wont pay high money to watch the game, however if it was much lower many more fans would turn up just to watch a live game on the weekend

When the titans first moved to skilled in 08 they used to have heaps of fans wearing their colours and great crowds, i feel like after the cool new team support phase fell out, all those fans went back to supporting the club they liked before.

LJC

Just like Friday night with Sharks fans owing the SFS.

The Friday night game at the SFS should have been played at Leichardt Oval! The crowd at Leichardt would have been well over 15,000! It is (Leichardt)a boutique ground which fans enjoy as it has its own special atmosphere. This can't be replicated by stadiums. As soon as I heard this game was at the SFS I could see a mistake had been made by the planners!

Understandably the Tigers predicted that they may have been travelling better in the competition but I would have penciled in Leichardt regardless of performance.

People go to games for the experience at the ground just as much as the viewing of competitive teams. The "boutique" ground does have its place in the NRL and this is an example of misplaced greed on the part of the Tigers management. Hopefully the lesson has been learnt! The Cronulla Sharks did the same mistake when they used Gosford for a home game a few weeks ago!