Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch 2013 - Part Deux

fanatique

guys we are gonna get butthurt by origin

Well its the fault of no one but the NRL.

What serious grown up sport effectively says " hey look a few exhibition games are more important than the major league."? None of course but we do.

Unfortunately we have to put up with Origin and just wait til its over.

bobmar28

What serious grown up sport effectively says " hey look a few exhibition games are more important than the major league."? None of course but we do.

Put up with origin?

Raiderdave

ahhhhhhhhhhh:sarcasm:

10th v 13th minus Origin players and no Under 20's?

I'll take 23k every day of the week.

Will Souths draw more than 20k against a fellow top six side with no other NRL on today and three grades being played?

the dude

We'll get 20 but not much more than that.. If the rain hits though, probably 16k which would be poor

DC_fan

10th v 13th minus Origin players and no Under 20's?

I'll take 23k every day of the week.

Will Souths draw more than 20k against a fellow top six side with no other NRL on today and three grades being played?

Not having the U-20s makes little difference to the crowd. The bulk of the crowd gets to a ground after that grade has finished.

Big Sam

Last year v Newcastle we got 17k on a gloriously Sunday arvo. Tonight will be around the same.

Also Timmah, why would this being the only game today enhance the crowd? How many neutrals are seriously going to go to ANZ to get their fix?

Get real Timmah, nothing is going to stop the crowd from being crap tonight.

A Rabittohs side without Inglis is like watching a prositute apply herpes cream.

SaraSassypants

Not many Knights fans are going to travel down the F3 in the rain for safety reasons. Rain and 6 star players out will keep a fair few away tonight IMO

BunniesMan

Multiple stars out. Heavy rain. But lets get in with stupid unrealistic predictions for us so we can lol @ souths when it doesn't happen. Any less than 30k is a spectacular failure IMO.

Big Sam

If as expected, crowds are below average for this round, is it worth looking at double headers for matches before SOO?

Could have been done easily this weekend with 2 matches at ANZ and 2 in SE QLD.

If as expected, crowds are below average for this round, is it worth looking at double headers for matches before SOO?

No thanks.

Double headers are evil.

CC_Roosters

I agree its just common sense. Have double headers in the rounds before each origin

Without wanting to sound like a broken record these are the games you could take on the road to new or country areas and still be sure of a decent turn out.

t-ba

Without wanting to sound like a broken record these are the games you could take on the road to new or country areas and still be sure of a decent turn out.

Don't want the AFL effect. Numbers at a lot of their 'country' venues are getting worse and worse because no one is interested in watching the shit fixtures anymore. I'm going to go out on a limb and say the current backlash from this practice might make it difficult for the NRL to do it. Flogball certainly got the march on us there.

18 team league could sort this out imo. Play 3 matches the week before Origin, six on the weekend after for a whole round. Teams get three rest weekends a season (rather than byes), two pre origin, one post origin. Eliminates any undue advantage and keeps the draws integrity in place.

BranVan3000

I reckon 11k for this Souths game is being realistic (but no doubt disappointing too)

Seems like everybody just stops caring about to round round footy this time of year. NRL need to address it. Even the Footy Show says things like "there are four games being played this weekend but who cares?"