Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch 2014 part 3

guyver78

Now lets see what happens to ticket sales in game 3???
Surely last night's result has to be the worst possible thing that could have happened to the NRL.
Would anyone here pay $265 to watch what will probably be a good game of footy but have no significance what so ever???

This is where we get to test the "event" theory. The same way tens of thousands turn up to watch man utd play a friendly or two us baseball teams if SOO is as big an event as we think then it should still sell well.

Needs some media hype and banter though to peak the interest.

guyver78

They need to hype the "Now we want to HUMILIATE Qld with a whitewash" angle, as well as dropping the prices.

It's the QLD supporters that they need to somehow hype not NSW so the above will not work. It wouldn't be so bad if your stare had the series won and they were playing a dead rubber but the fact that it's a dead rubber and QLD have already lost makes it that much more difficult to sell to people.

Even if QLD win by 40, it really means nothing.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

It's the QLD supporters that they need to somehow hype not NSW so the above will not work. It wouldn't be so bad if your stare had the series won and they were playing a dead rubber but the fact that it's a dead rubber and QLD have already lost makes it that much more difficult to sell to people.

Even if QLD win by 40, it really means nothing.

Actually...

"Now we want to HUMILIATE Qld with a whitewash"

...that would be the perfect way to to stir the QLD crowd up. NSW will obviously have more emotion invested in the game, so the best anyone can do to get QLD into it is "piss off, youre not getting a whitewash"

oikee

83 thousand tonite. Four hundred and 87. New Record to watch NSW go down. Wati wont be their to help them tonite.

Not far wrong. Game 3 will sellout.
Queenslanders will come out to support what has been a great ride, plus the fact they can all leave early and :-
I said earlier in the week no matter what happens Queenslanders will be winners.
The blues will have to lift the shield in front of a empty stadium,.
Exactly what Gallen and his band of merry thugs deserve.
Next year will be the same.
Game 1 NSW, Game 2 MCG. So the Shield again will have to be lifted in Queensland, life is good, it does not get better than this, the rugby league Gods are smiling.

guyver78

Actually...

...that would be the perfect way to to stir the QLD crowd up. NSW will obviously have more emotion invested in the game, so the best anyone can do to get QLD into it is "piss off, youre not getting a whitewash"

Oh Jesus, spare me!!!
You really think people are fools and that sort of a silly approach will get people to pay $250+ for what will ultimately be an empty feeling for QLD supporters at the end of it all anyway?
They literally had to discount, give away and beg to sell the last 10,000 tickets to the 100th Origin game, what makes you believe a dead rubber will sell at those prices?

guyver78

Not far wrong. Game 3 will sellout.
Queenslanders will come out to support what has been a great ride, plus the fact they can all leave early and :-
I said earlier in the week no matter what happens Queenslanders will be winners.
The blues will have to lift the shield in front of a empty stadium,.
Exactly what Gallen and his band of merry thugs deserve.
Next year will be the same.
Game 1 NSW, Game 2 MCG. So the Shield again will have to be lifted in Queensland, life is good, it does not get better than this, the rugby league Gods are smiling.

So to sum it all up and as you stated before:

-You will crack open your SOO "piggy bank" savings to get your expensive dead rubber SOO ticket
-Go and cheer on a dead rubber
-Quickly cheer QLD at the conclusion of the game
-Then quickly run out of the stadium as Paul Gallen lifts the shield right??

You're even a bigger fool then what I thought. GET OVER IT!!! SOO is all over for 2014. The same was the case 2009/2010, it was all over after game 2. In the end everybody remembers the winner, nobody gives a toss about the game 3 result once it's all over.

guyver78

Origin 3 last year had a bigger crowd?

Yeah mate, 83,813. You back in Brissie already?

They must have installed a fair few extra seats because I actually saw quite a few small empty seat patches all over the stadium whereas last year you'd struggle to find an empty seat.

BunniesMan

This weekend.

Canberra: 8k
NZ: 15k
Cronulla: 9k
Melbourne: 16k
Gold Coast: 9k
Newcastle: 12k

Not much to be excited about this week.