Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch, Part III

Big Sam

If souths hadn't taken the easy money at ANZ they'd be averaging 25,000 easily at the SFS this year.

Their "vision" is costing them massively

We'd be dead if we'd stayed at the SFS. That move gave us enough cash flow to survive til the privatisation.

BunniesMan

Bm has never put a foot into Sydney and has no idea. He's best ignored
Does Todd Greenberg have no idea?

P.S. I was born in Liverpool hospital. I'm a born and bred Sydneysider. I only moved to Coffs when I was 9. So literally half my childhood was spent with "a foot" in Sydney.

cleary89

P.S. I was born in Liverpool hospital. I'm a born and bred Sydneysider. I only moved to Coffs when I was 9. So literally half my childhood was spent with "a foot" in Sydney.

Constable mensa use to drive when he was in year 3, so he knows syndeys roads like the back of his hand.

8Ball

Seems like you spent the rest of your life with "a foot" up your ass.

Pete Cash

Why don't you hit Wikipedia and check out the physical size of Sydney. You have no idea.

Even if we accept you aren't lying like normal you haven't lived in Sydney as an adult I do. Penrith to homebush is 46.5 kms. Cambelltown to homebush is 43 kms. Seriously I doubt I live more than 10km from homebush and its still like 30 minutes there by train.

Big Sam

I've spent the last few days in Melbourne and have witnessed first-hand why the VFL's centralisation strategy works so well. Most of the suburbs represented by clubs are close to the CBD. And the two stadia are well-positioned near major train stations to help fans from the outer suburbs.

Compare this to Allianz which is a 15min uphill hike from Central. Not only that, but as some have mentioned, Sydney is a much larger city by area. Manly's far from Moore Park, ditto Cronulla. And Penrith's further still from ANZ.

The best scenario you're ever gonna get is Souths, Roosters, Parramatta, Wests, and Canterbury playing out of ANZ/Allianz with Penrith, Manly, Cronulla, and St George playing only 1-2 of their home matches in the big stadia.

BunniesMan

So again, ok assuming I know nothing about anything, instead of attacking me what do you have to say about one of the most important men in the NRL, someone who knows Sydney and rugby league and the NRL very well, he has the same opinion as me.

Todd Greenberg is smart enough to know where the future is headed.

The NRL wants a 20,000 average crowd a few short years from now. You can't have that in suburban stadiums.

Pete Cash

If manly played out of anz or Moore park what would the crowds be like for a manly/north Queensland match

The nrl can reckon what it likes but unless they have invented a way of navigating around Sydney faster than what exists they are talking nonsense. Especially for Friday night games. Joe Penrith works in the city drives home during peak hour to collect the kids and drive basically all the way back into the f**king city to watch the panthers play at a soulless hellhole and get home at like midnight. Sounds like a great plan.

You do understand that Sydney is a huge sprawling mess. Its physically larger than greater London. Why don't all those soccer clubs just play out of two stadiums.

Big Sam

You do understand that Sydney is a huge sprawling mess. Its physically larger than greater London. Why don't all those soccer clubs just play out of two stadiums.

London has a better public transport system too (so does Melbourne).

The only way you could get the two stadia plan to work would be to have every match on Sunday afternoon so people have enough time to get to and from the stadium. But the networks wouldn't have a bar of that...

Pete Cash

You'd probably need to build a third stadium more west of homebush. As discussed at length in tfc homebush is in the municipality of strathfield putting it in the inner west while the Olympic stadium is in auburn putting it just inside whats considered western Sydney.

The idea that a stadium that is practically in the inner west is ideal as a centralised stadium for western Sydney is silly. Western Sydney as we all know is population wise a significant chunk of Sydney. Its not ideal to ignore them and its unrealistic to expect them to potential have to drive home from work and then drive back into the city.

As you say Sunday afternoon games could be maybe a work around but we are beholden to tv networks until the next rights deal.

This ignores the fact that forcing manly to play out of Moore park or homebush is a good way of guaranteeing tiny crowds.

Jason Maher

Put some dots on a couple of maps to demonstrate what Big Sam is saying:

http://i.imgur.com/UNyb9y7.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/qkQkd13.jpg

Links because both images are large. Note the difference in scale, because Sydney is much larger and Penrith and Campbelltown are so far out.

The blue dots on the Melbourne map are the current Melbourne-based AFL clubs. The red dots are Fitzroy (Brisbane Lions) and South Melbourne (Sydney Swans). The green dot is Etihad Stadium (Docklands), the purple dot is the MCG.

The blue dots on the Sydney map are the current Sydney-based NRL clubs. The purple dots are the Wests Tigers two bases. The red dots are Newtown and Wests original base in Ashfield (I left Norths out by accident, but I assume most people can figure out where North Sydney is). The green dots are the two big stadiums (I presume most people know which is which, aside from BM).

The two images are the same size, but the Melbourne map area is 1/4 that of the Sydney map.

Teddyboy

Yeah, because a club whose best average is half of the Broncos best ever could have such an influence :lol:. Stick to drinking sh*thouse Merlot from Tesco and complaining about brown people taking the UK over, it's all you're good at.

Your a bit of a merkin ain't you.

Who cares about your story.

Stop infecting thread after thread.

DC_fan

In 1967 when Penrith and Cronulla joined the competition it extended the boundaries of the then Sydney competition by a long way. Before that the furtherest teams had to travel was to Parramatta..

Back then Sydney had no freeways/motorways. It took close to two hours to travel between Penrith and Cronulla. Even more so if you were travelling between Penrith and Manly.

Today in the time it took in 1967 to travel between Penrith and Cronulla/Manly, you could be in Newcastle, a far part of the way to Canberra or even have flown to Melbourne.

The problem still is getting around Sydney. Travelling times around Sydney have improved, but by no where as much as you would think in 46 years. Weekend road congestion which did not exist in 1967 is as bad or sometimes worse then weekdays.

Sydney's traffic problems are not going to get any better any time soon, if ever. If you live in Sydney as most of us do then you have to live with the traffic problems and deal with them the best way you can.

Danish

We'd be dead if we'd stayed at the SFS. That move gave us enough cash flow to survive til the privatisation.

That's all well and good for the first agreement, why sign up for a 2nd long term deal once the privatisation was already wel in place?

LeagueNut

A mate just tried to buy tickets for Mt Smart this afternoon, the only options were right up the top of the stands or on the grass bank. We might get another 20k+ crowd this round.

CC_Roosters

A mate just tried to buy tickets for Mt Smart this afternoon, the only options were right up the top of the stands or on the grass bank. We might get another 20k+ crowd this round.

Good stuff hopefully a win to send them into the 8

Newcastle v chooks deserves a big crowd today I hope for 25-30k. as for sharkies given their patchy form and opposition I will say 11-11k max