Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch, Part III

Surely they'll get 40,000 next Saturday, they'll be thouuusandss of Knights fans driving down the F3.

I reckon around 60,000 for the Souths/Manly game.

Xfactor1979

Surely Manly fans have more pride than watch a 100% South Sydney crowd when their team need all the support they can get

Turn up, you flogs!

1 Eyed TEZZA

There are more than 80'000 Manly and Souths fans. Surely.

I'd like to see it, but I'm not holding my breath.

100'000 combined would be fantastic.

JonnoM

There has only ever been 4 All Sydney Prelims at ANZ Stadium,Homebush.

1999- Cronulla v St George - 51,827
2009- Canterbury v Parramatta -74,549
2010- St George v Wests - 71,212
2012- Canterbury v Souths -70,354
2013- Souths v Manly -??????

Timbo

I'm thinking 65,000/40,000.

Funny thing is I think you'll have more luck getting Knights fans at Allianz than convincing Eagles fans to leave the beaches for the evening.

Jamberoo

Melbourne is not Sydney
Sydney is not Melbourne

AFL fans in Melb have a desperate clingy need to attend big games even if they do not follow the teams involved.
All the Media down their need to do is attach the Word Blockbuster to a game & Melbournes neutral football fans are lining up along with the teams fans ..
you could add about 20K neutrals to their crowd last night as they has nothing better to do... also it helps that Melbourne is an easy city to get around even on Friday night.

Sydneysiders are not as easily motivated to attend a game not involving their side , They'll watch the game on TV of course , but won't subject themselves to the hassle of attending, certainly on a Friday night. Sydneys NRL sides still wallow in true tribalism & usually genuinely hate opposing sides from Sydney.
So, so much wrong in this post.
1. AFL fans heaps more tribal than league fans. Club football is the pinnacle of the sport, so club is everything. Did you look at the TV - there were no neutrals - every bay was either gold or blue. Most tickets were $120- $160 - do you reckon casual fans will pay that?
2. Sydney NRL fans seem to hate Melbourne Storm much more than other Sydney sides. There is much more animosity/rivalry between AFL clubs in Melbourne compared to RL clubs/fans in Sydney.
RL now is all about Origin. Club football is suffering. Whilst the fixture and media revolves around Origin, crowds for all other matches will stay low.

Cracking atmosphere at AAMI tonight by the way. Disappointing number, but a great night.

supercharger

Seeing the game live on tv :D

I would have thought being from Perth you knew all about the "Watching TV culture" over there

After 5pm monday to friday, Perth people finish work, and go home and watch tv, no socialising, no communication with the outside world

That's Perth in a nutshell isnt it? :crazy:

Riiight

RWB

We really should sell out the SFS.

Tickets are reasonably priced, got a good time slot and Newcastle fans will hopefully travel up in big numbers.

Not to mention most importantly it'll be a cracking game.

Raiderdave

So, so much wrong in this post.
1. AFL fans heaps more tribal than league fans. Club football is the pinnacle of the sport, so club is everything. Did you look at the TV - there were no neutrals - every bay was either gold or blue. Most tickets were $120- $160 - do you reckon casual fans will pay that?
2. Sydney NRL fans seem to hate Melbourne Storm much more than other Sydney sides. There is much more animosity/rivalry between AFL clubs in Melbourne compared to RL clubs/fans in Sydney.
RL now is all about Origin. Club football is suffering. Whilst the fixture and media revolves around Origin, crowds for all other matches will stay low.

Cracking atmosphere at AAMI tonight by the way. Disappointing number, but a great night.

so.. so much wrong in this response

fumbles & bumbles fans are little cheerleaders for their sport , their code.
They happily trot along to any singletball game which the Melb media dub a.... blockbuster. ... doesn't matter who's playing wether it be their clubs biggest rivals ... they go. Its weird & a little pathetic really.

Sydneysiders on the other hand wouldn't been seen dead at certain games & it doesn't matter how big it is , they genuinely despise other clubs ... they have a bit of self respect.;-)
Seriously take off your rose coloured glasses champ & don't preach to us about Melbourne this & the AFL that

the 2 cities & sports .. & their fans are very different & comparisons are a waste of time.:cool:

WaznTheGreat

Hopefully Souths don't break the Eels 74k record,i need that record figure in my arsenal to troll people about how were the greatest.

Raiderdave

something around the rnd 26 game should be achievable for Friday night
& it may have nudged last years attendance if it had been played on the Sat

Sat should sell out its public allocation of seats which is 37,000 ish .... members should push it over the 40,000.

Its the Knights first prelim Final since 2001 & the bandwagon will be rolling along nicely........ so I expect a huge contingent to travel down on a Sat that wouldn't of been able to.. if it was on the Friday night & they'll swell this crowd to near capacity.

tickets are a reasonable price at both games
the next two weeks will go some way to redeeming whats been an appalling finals series crowds wise to date.

The souths/Manly game will be lucky to get 40k; the 60k predictions are nothing short of delusional. How embarrassing it would be if the SFS game outdrew the ANZ game.

BunniesMan

Lol I predicted between 50 and 60k for round 26 and everyone said I was delusional.

This is a home grand final qualifier. 45k+ Souths fans, 15k+ Manly fans. Plus the neutrals. 70 thousand it will be.

Lol I predicted between 50 and 60k for round 26 and everyone said I was delusional.

This is a home grand final qualifier. 45k+ Souths fans, 15k+ Manly fans. Plus the neutrals. 70 thousand it will be.

lol surely you jest

The round 26 game was the perfect storm. Unlike souths, a GF qualifier is nothing new for manly. They travel to ANZ once a year and that is for the GF if they get there. Souths will bring 30-35k at best.