Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch, Part III

BunniesMan

Looks like this will be another round that gets us further behind last years average. Next week I only see possibly 3 16k+ crowds happening.

Beating 2012 is looking very unlikely at this point.

Righto crowd police

Does anyone know how ticketek works?

Because I tried to buy 2 seats together in the burns stand for Saturday and it could not be done when I tried.
Then there were whole sections empty or large gaps at the least sat night.

So how the f**k does it work?do people buy tickets and not go?

Do sponsors have em and can't unload em?

Are they season seats?

Same as the concourse. Could get 2 together in the corner.
Then there's Emptys allll the f**king way along.

Boooooooourns

Teddyboy

Lay off the piss teddy and stop trolling. It is still one of the best years for crowds in history and there are reasons for the minor drop from last year. Membership levels are at an all time high and we will see a growth in crowds in coming years.

Mate you are so wrong the crowd's this year have been crap.

BunniesMan

Righto crowd police

Because I tried to buy 2 seats together in the burns stand for Saturday and it could not be done when I tried.

Are they season seats?

Boooooooourns
I would assume members.

Cumberland Throw

If there was a competition to derive the lowest possible crowd in an nrl game.

A 6.30 Sunday night game in winter at penrith against a team from 4000km away would probably do the trick

I reckon it gets 11,000 on Saturday Arvo 3pm

BunniesMan

If there was a competition to derive the lowest possible crowd in an nrl game.

A 6.30 Sunday night game in winter at penrith against a team from 4000km away would probably do the trick

Those are terrible excuses. No heartland team (or team anywhere) should be getting 6000 in fine weather against anyone.

SLRBRONCOS

Righto crowd police

Are they season seats?

Sounds like members.

But stadiums sometimes request some bays to be empty, condensing the crowd and easing usher and security pressures.

Teddyboy

5th best on record innit?

If it drops again next year then yeah, sound the alarm.

The alarm should of been sounded back in 2011 mate and the only way you say it's the 5th best on record is because of a few games blockbuster games at the start of the season involving South's/Rooster's/Bulldog's but most team's crowd's have been very very poor and I really don't know how Dave Smith and co can change it.
To me 2003-2008/2009 were the years the crowds flocked back to the NRL yet SOO couldn't sell out most Sydney games back then but it seem's the opposite now :?.

franklin2323

Not with the way we are playing cheap tickets last week. Cheap tickets this week plenty of members aren't coming back. This year or next.

Though that said how many Sydney teams have played EVERY interstate team at home this year?

LJC

It's the NRL not the NSWRL, no more NSW teams it's already congested down there expansion wise WA/Brisbane 2 is the way to go. NSW teams have been given all the time in the world to get there house in order, it's time for other areas to get that same chance.

Completely agree that Brisbane should have another team and Perth is overdue for a side.

Furthermore their should be nothing stopping the addition of 2 more clubs and I firmly believe that the Central Coast Bears is a wise move(gains back former fans and shores up a popular and growing region on the eastern Coast line, more local derbies and the positives go on...) . And perhaps a side from NZ south island-Wellington Orcas?

The addition of more clubs actually encourages more juniors to play the game! The more playing our great game the better! I believe that a conference format will be good for the game in future years as new clubs are added to the League.

I have suggested 20 teams over a 5 to 15 year period and that's not say that even more teams could be accepted. The conference format will cater for such expansion. The NRL just have to work out which teams are placed in which conferences. I'd assume locality and distance factors, longstanding rivalries would be considered by the people that will do the draw.

If Penrith's crowd was in a non heartland area there be calls for it to be kick out the comp but since it in 'heartland" the cowboys will cop the flack for the poor crowd despite cheap tickets on sale make it even worse for Penrith. Cheap ticket and only 6k unacceptable.