Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd Watch Thread 2009

I reckon about 14-15k is on the money tomorrow. I'll be there.

Panther_Daz

Dragons v Storm 19K
Titans v Cowboys 24.5K
Raiders v Broncos 8K
Panthers v Warriors 14.5k
Knights v Roosters 15k
Sharks v Eels 12.5k
Rabbitohs v Bulldogs 31k
Tigers v Sea Eagles 16k

Um, if you're talking about tomorrow night, it's at Kogarah.

dragondad

18k tickets sold for tomorrow night as of 2.15pm today.

Cat 1 SOLD OUT
Cat 2 SOLD OUT
Cat 3 2000 tickets left.

Saint Doc

18k tickets sold for tomorrow night as of 2.15pm today.

Cat 1 SOLD OUT
Cat 2 SOLD OUT
Cat 3 2000 tickets left.

Where did you get this info? I just went to ticketek and it said:

Cat 1 - SOLD OUT
Cat 2 - Single seats
Cat 3 - Available
Hill - Available

Considering the capacity has been reduced to 19,000 after the Sharks game, and the hill probably fits 8,000, I'd be thinking probably only 5,000 hill would have been sold (Estimate) meaning 19,000 - 5000 - 2000 - 12,000ish sold, which sounds about right.

Then when u include season ticket holders not turning up...i reckon we'll be 15-16,000.

Assuming that there are no more releases of tickets on Ticketek there are far fewer than 2k tickets left in Category 3. They're selling the last few rows of the easternmost bay in the Northern Terrace. Not sure but I think they sell one or two bays in the middle of the Northern Terrace last, but either way reserved seats should be sold out before kick off.

Fraser

I am going to come from left-field here but perhaps this is a factor as to why the Melbourne AFL teams draw larger crowds than Sydney NRL sides. Going to a Melbourne teams' AFL game is more of an 'event'- you will be going right into the city, so as well as going to the footy, people make it an event. Go the the game and then to Crown Casino or elsewhere after the final siren. The Melbourne AFL sides all share 3 grounds, but this doesn't appear to bother their fans so much. Why could this be?

Take a look at a map of Melbourne. Find Melbourne, Carlton, Collingwood, North Melbourne, Footscray and Richmond. I could do a loop on my bike in 20 minutes and pass through all those suburbs. Thus, even though the venue has changed, to the fans the grounds are still located close enough (geographically) to the teams' heartland. With the added bonus that for the fan, it's not just an afternoon/ evening at the footy but a day/ night out afterwards.

Now to you Qlders (especially): get a map of Sydney. Look where Penrith is. Look where Manly is, then find Kogarah, Cronulla and Belmore. They are not just single suburbs in the CBD, but part of districts or mini-cities in themselves. The idea some have bandied around that all the teams should play out of the SFS or ANZ stadium would never work because Sydney NRL fans would feel as if their team had been taken away from their local area altogether.

For this reason, going to the footy in Sydney is less of a night out than in Melbourne or even Brisbane. What is there to do in Homebush after the game? Ditto Campbelltown or Parramatta. When comparing the traditions of Melbourne AFL to Sydney NRL, remember that Melbourne AFL is a game represented by suburbs. Sydney NRL is represented by districts.

So tell me why the AFL have more pride in their suburbs names and NRL is become a nickname fest. Go on Foxsports, AFL ladder shows the location name, NRL all show nicknames. They occurs frequently in media print. With our so called proud district footy, why are teams commonly referred to by their nicknames? Can you tell me which district the suburbs Bulldogs and Roosters are located?

Have a look at AFL suburb names. They're all one word, they're relatively short aside from Collingwood and West Coast.

Now look at NRL. We've got St George Illawarra, North Queensland, Manly Warringah, Cronulla Sutherland, South Sydney... it's pretty obvious to me they've gone with the shortest names - mascot names - to save space.

DRAGONS V STORM - TICKET UPDATE

Friday, July 31, 2009
Fans looking to attend the Dragons v Storm ‘Emergency Services Cup’ match at WIN Jubilee Oval, Kogarah this evening are encouraged to pre-purchase their tickets to avoid queuing and the prospect of missing out in the event of a sell-out.
Tickets are selling fast with less than 2500 General Admission tickets remaining for this clash between two of the premiership heavyweights.
Fans attending the game are also encouraged to arrive early to avoid the last minute rush. Gate D opens at 3.30pm for the Arrive Alive match between Kiama High School and Endeavour Sports High School. The remaining gates open at 5pm with the Toyota Cup game scheduled to start at 5. 15 pm.
Please be advised that due to venue capacity constraints, NRL (Yellow Passes) & Club Junior Passes cannot be accepted for this match. The conditions of entry for these passes specify that entry is subject to venue capacity. See back of pass for card entry conditions.
For further information please visit www.dragons.com.au. Tickets can be purchased through ticketek by phoning 132 849 or by logging onto www.ticketek.com.au

http://www.dragons.com.au/default.aspx?s=article-display&id=18881

Insane sales for this one... my pax was around 5,600 when I purchased on Monday :|

Great, will be good to see a big Friday night crowd, shame the stadium size is going to keep the number artifcially low. Everyone loves a winner!

brendothejet

Great, will be good to see a big Friday night crowd, shame the stadium size is going to keep the number artifcially low. Everyone loves a winner!

you are a dead set f**king sook mate.

seriously.

What do you want? an empty stadium? Apparently becuase the full house youll see tonight is obviously dissapointing you.

20,300 at the Titans tonight.

Nothing too flash considering this QLD derby game should've got 25k.

Over 18k at Kogarah.