Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Curtis Scott

betcats

I don't think you fully read @wibble post.

He is saying cops can abuse their powers, in particular to get a famous scalp. He has no idea what happened with Scott(same as me) but he just wants everyone to keep in mind the cops might’ve abused their power sometimes.

Ive never said Scott’s guilty, but I’ll believe the police over his lawyer every day of the week. Pointing out the police abuse their powers sometimes to insinuate they might of here is stupid, it’s like pointing out every citizen might be guilty because a small percentage are criminals. Show me how they stitched Scott up or leave it out.

Canard

He is saying cops can abuse their powers, in particular to get a famous scalp. He has no idea what happened with Scott(same as me) but he just wants everyone to keep in mind the cops might’ve abused their power sometimes.

Ive never said Scott’s guilty, but I’ll believe the police over his lawyer every day of the week. Pointing out the police abuse their powers sometimes to insinuate they might of here is stupid, it’s like pointing out every citizen might be guilty because a small percentage are criminals. Show me how they stitched Scott up or leave it out.

It doesn't say anything about abuse to get famous scalps, in fact it says the opposite.

Nobody on LU would claim for a second that he was "famous". I doubt any of the police involved were even aware of who he was.

He also says

I don't know much about Scott, but what I do know makes it easy for me to suppose he was a drunken, violent idiot who was dealt with accordingly by police

My take, his minimum likely penalty is a few weeks regardless of police behaviour, however if video evidence of police assault is released he will not play NRL again.

Vee

The qld police shot a killed a young bloke not far from where I lived a couple of years back. They claimed he pointed a gun at them. The victim was shot in the back however. There were no witnesses other than the police.
Link?

Nevan_

It doesn't say anything about abuse to get famous scalps, in fact it says the opposite.

Nobody on LU would claim for a second that he was "famous". I doubt any of the police involved were even aware of who he was.

He also says

My take, his minimum likely penalty is a few weeks regardless of police behaviour, however if video evidence of police assault is released he will not play NRL again.

Why won’t he play again? Matt Lodge invaded a family’s home and threatened to kill them, and yet he still has a career.

A.C.A.B

betcats

He also says

I misread that. Police being bullies late at night when no ones around, that seems even less relevant to this Scott situation then what I thought he was actually saying.

myrrh ken

@wibble ol mate, you are boring us with your misinterpretation of the arguments.

The police would have issued their set of facts, which the media is getting its reports from. The defence hasn't and it doesn't have to. The unsubstantiated claims that he was "cuffed while asleep" are just that and do not align with the police facts which is the reason why people are questioning it.

People have said it is "not uncommon" for police to abuse their powers and they do so "all the time". It happens but it is not the norm. No one believes police are infallible - I've never said that.

People are just arguing the toss. Wouldn't be much of a thread if we did the ol he might have done it but then again he might not have, lets wait and see.

Xcalibre

You have to read more than three sentences.

But for those three sentences:

1) Using a taser is a serious event that to me, signals there was a serious threat to the public. But there obviously wasn't, as Scott was released the next day.

2) Therefore, it seems likely that the police over reacted, as shown by their use of a taser for someone being a public nuisance (my understanding of when a taser should be used, and that of police officers, may be entirely different).

3) I'm not discounting that the police did the right thing in tasering Scott. Maybe the "assault" was life threatening. Maybe their assessment of threat and mine are quite different. I'm offering that as a possibility.

I wasn't actually there. It is not beyond the realms of possibility that the police over reacted and Scott didn't really do anything wrong. It is also feasible that Scott actually seriously attacked a police officer and perhaps using a taser and laying on those charges was necessary. I'm not sure why the possibility of either being true is so confounding.

If you read after the bits you quote, you'll see I think the truth is somewhere in between. But I don't actually know.

I was responding to a suggestion that if the police did the wrong thing they would face the law. This "in between" scenario is one where Scott may have some reason to feel aggrieved, and yet the police will not face the law.

You obviously haven’t watched the news or cop reality shows. Cops don’t need to feel that an assault is “life threatening” to tase someone. They are within their rights to do it simply because the person isn’t complying with a direction.

Only recently there was a story on the news about a former male cop who was resisting arrest, simply standing and not submitting like being directed, and he copped a smack to the head (and was subsequently cut) and got tased. This can be the outcome of simply not submitting to an arrest. There was public outrage about it apparently because of the level of force they used.

Xcalibre

He’s also lumped heaps of comments together to support his position, and some aren’t even relevant in the context of what he’s debating. And who compiles numerous comments from different posters trying to make a point?! Jesus @wibble man, unless you’re affected personally why bother with going to so much trouble?

As for the debate at hand, I pretty much agree with what you said above. I’m incredulous to both sides because I wasn’t there. Of course cops abuse their power sometimes. And of course, some people when told to do something that they don’t like, can lash out too and provoke the use of force. Like was said before, Scott has previous form. That’s a fact. Afaik, we don’t know anything about the coppers’ previous form.

bileduct

You obviously haven’t watched the news or cop reality shows. Cops don’t need to feel that an assault is “life threatening” to tase someone. They are within their rights to do it simply because the person isn’t complying with a direction.
Not really bro.

https://www.police.nsw.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0010/583705/taser-use-public-information.pdf

A Taser should not be used in any mode:
iv. punitively for the purposes of coercion or as a prod to make a person move

v. against passive non-compliant subjects who are exhibiting non-threatening behaviour which may include:

a. refusing to move or offering little or no physical resistance
b. refusing to comply with police instructions
c. acting as a dead weight or requiring an officer to lift, pull, drag or push
them in order to maintain control

wibble

I don't think you fully read @wibble post.

It's because I write too much.

Cops usually taser blokes doing nothing.

wake up.

I think you're coming around. Your sarcasm didn't say "Cops always taser blokes doing nothing". By reverse logic, you do then concede that cops may have abused their powers.

Pre planned? Lol you’re joking aren’t you? You’re basing all this bullshit off a not guilty plea? He had the police called on him by the public. People were around.

I'm not basing anything off anything. I presented possibilities. But at least you're playing the ball here.

Everyone knows the cops can break the law I never said they can’t, but I find you’re above rant to be horseshit. I’m not casting doubt over this just because he has a “high profile” ie he is a footy player. Lawyers lie more than cops. Footy player do to, you won’t convince me otherwise.

@wibble ol mate, you are boring us with your misinterpretation of the arguments.

The police would have issued their set of facts, which the media is getting its reports from. The defence hasn't and it doesn't have to. The unsubstantiated claims that he was "cuffed while asleep" are just that and do not align with the police facts which is the reason why people are questioning it.

People have said it is "not uncommon" for police to abuse their powers and they do so "all the time". It happens but it is not the norm. No one believes police are infallible - I've never said that.

People are just arguing the toss. Wouldn't be much of a thread if we did the ol he might have done it but then again he might not have, lets wait and see.

He’s also lumped heaps of comments together to support his position, and some aren’t even relevant in the context of what he’s debating. And who compiles numerous comments from different posters trying to make a point?! Jesus @wibble man, unless you’re affected personally why bother with going to so much trouble?

As for the debate at hand, I pretty much agree with what you said above. I’m incredulous to both sides because I wasn’t there. Of course cops abuse their power sometimes. And of course, some people when told to do something that they don’t like, can lash out too and provoke the use of force. Like was said before, Scott has previous form. That’s a fact. Afaik, we don’t know anything about the coppers’ previous form.

Hey look, and just like that, by not arguing in extremes, we are all now saying the same thing!

Turns out we all agree Scott appears to be a Curtis, who is quite likely guilty of some level of toolship here that got him into trouble, and police can and do abuse their authority, which is unlikely as a complete explanation but still a possible thing in this current situation (if someone said at gunpoint which I had to choose, out of Scott being more to blame or the police being more to blame I would without hesitation bet my life on Scott being at fault. Nick87 wagered we all would feel that way, and is probably right there).

(Pasting a heap of quotes is a lazy way to write a lot, it doesn't take much time at all).

nick87

Cops usually taser blokes doing nothing.

wake up.

Pretty giant strawman
Cops dont usually taser anyone... when they taser someone it's usually for a VERY good reason.

But lets not pretend they're perfect. Cops do over react, they do make mistakes. Did they do so here? I doubt it, but that's what Scott and his team are claiming so whilst it should be viewed with extreme skepticism, it's certainly not impossible

I think the Scott team are trying to delay this, and put out an image of innocence to hopefully get a favourable ruling on suspension from the NRL, and once that's handed down, he'll quietly plead this out 6 months from now when everyone has forgotten about it.

But this strawman your building is some school yard level logic.

nick87

@wibble

The not uncommon remark was related directly to the over charging of people, which is absolutely not uncommon and very much the norm. Typically they'll hit someone with anything they can, knowing some of them cant and wont stick, because they want to give themselves the best shot for a conviction somewhere... and a common practise is to over charge, and then as part of a plea deal, drop some of those charges.

Nothing wrong with it, just making the point that this is part of the process.

Jack Wighton plead guilty to 6 charges and had 7 others withdrawn as part of that negotation.
https://www.canberratimes.com.au/st...-jack-wighton-pleads-guilty-to-civic-assault/

Pretty giant strawman
Cops dont usually taser anyone... when they taser someone it's usually for a VERY good reason.

But lets not pretend they're perfect. Cops do over react, they do make mistakes. Did they do so here? I doubt it, but that's what Scott and his team are claiming so whilst it should be viewed with extreme skepticism, it's certainly not impossible

I think the Scott team are trying to delay this, and put out an image of innocence to hopefully get a favourable ruling on suspension from the NRL, and once that's handed down, he'll quietly plead this out 6 months from now when everyone has forgotten about it.

But this strawman your building is some school yard level logic.

strawman???

I’m just going by the police report
Tasered
Blind drunk
Punched a cop in the face
Kicked another one ( one was a woman )
Threw his phone at a cab or car
Asleep in some joint he is not allowed to be
Chucked out of a pub

this strawman is made from bricks.