Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

D day for Parramatta

Name three players Parramatta must keep if they are to make the playoffs.

Danish

It was put in the too hard basket to put blame on the players- might have caused a game-wide revolt.

Doesn't mean they knew nothing though...

For most, I could accept that.

For Cam Smith, who acted as his own manager, it was complete bullshit. A bunch of managers were held accountable and deregistered over that case, but poor Cammy knew nothing

Snappy

One bloke's arse-covering email. So what?

Find me a CFO with a spine. These blokes sit around all day writing stuff to cover their arses just in case. Meanwhile people around them work.

Standard crap.

lol keep your head in the sand. You claimed there was nothing specific in the dodgy TPA allegation.

This is hard evidence that the club knew they were cheating. The CFO told the directors that they should self report it, which they ignored.

Glen

Parramatta fans are the best, seriously.

When Melbourne beat them in the GF and were later revealed to have exceeded the cap, you should of heard the outcry, obviously everyone except Melbourne was making noise but the way Parramatta fans carried on you would of thought that each of the Melbourne players had banged their Mrs (all in the same night), let's forget the fact that other teams had also lost in that very same finals series to Melbourne, they feel like they were robbed.

Fast forward now, Parramatta have been caught cheating the cap and here we have moronic Parramatta fans trying to tell us they weren't cheating, despite having f**k all knowledge of the findings or what exactly took place.. too good, well trolled and if you're not trolling, smash a glass bottle over your face for being such a hypocritical halfwit

Nice rant, hope it felt great.

Parra fans were right to feel very cheated by the Melbourne scenario given previous finals results, combined with the utmost arrogance from every level of that club when it happened. Now the shoe is on the other foot and I think the vast majority of Eels fans are more pissed off at our management than at the NRL. The argument about penalties is still raging because the NRL's announcement had no specifics and the media is having a field day with conflicting reports and unsubstantiated sources.

Of course there are a few idiot fans and a troll or two but most Parra fans around here have been pretty reasonable and are naturally discussing the details from a more optimistic angle. If you think all the other team fans in here, especially the ones making hundreds of gleeful posts with their chests all puffed out, wouldn't do the same if it happens to their team you are nuts

Cloudsurfer

For most, I could accept that.

For Cam Smith, who acted as his own manager, it was complete bullshit. A bunch of managers were held accountable and deregistered over that case, but poor Cammy knew nothing

Where, in all the findings/ the report is Cam Smith listed as culpable? He isn't because he wasn't maybe? In being his own manager, there is the possibility he did it right?
We've all heard the Inglis boat story, and there's some other TPAs mentioned in the report, but please tell us what the stories are around Cam Smith...

Parra

lol keep your head in the sand. You claimed there was nothing specific in the dodgy TPA allegation.

This is hard evidence that the club knew they were cheating. The CFO told the directors that they should self report it, which they ignored.

Laugh all you want. The lack of detail is important. Why a 12pt penalty? Why not all the points for the season? Why not 8 points? Try answering those questions instead of acting smug and knowledgeable. All you are doing is regurgitating crap from newspapers with no thought or analysis.

Parra

Where, in all the findings/ the report is Cam Smith listed as culpable? He isn't because he wasn't maybe? In being his own manager, there is the possibility he did it right?
We've all heard the Inglis boat story, and there's some other TPAs mentioned in the report, but please tell us what the stories are around Cam Smith...

How many contracts did he sign?

ek999

Laugh all you want. The lack of detail is important. Why a 12pt penalty? Why not all the points for the season? Why not 8 points? Try answering those questions instead of acting smug and knowledgeable. All you are doing is regurgitating crap from newspapers with no thought or analysis.

Because they weren't eligible for points in any match they were not under the salary cap. And to answer your next question in advance, the penalty was handed down when it was because the investigation was finalised the week before. It of course could have been earlier which would have led to a lighter penalty but Parra did their best to stonewall the investigation so it took longer then it needed to

The Cam Smith allegations are just plain stupid guys. Rugby League players sign multiple contracts all the time. What with his club contract, sponsorship and third party contracts as well as media deals, I'm sure he has several contracts at any one time. May have been odd to have more than one contract with the one organisation but who knows how it was framed?

For Cam to have known that Melbourne were over the cap, he would have to have known what everyone else in that organisation was earning and that simply wasn't the case. By implying that any of the players were aware of the whole picture, you make yourself look like an idiot. You also open yourself up to libel.

betcats

The Cam Smith allegations are just plain stupid guys. Rugby League players sign multiple contracts all the time. What with his club contract, sponsorship and third party contracts as well as media deals, I'm sure he has several contracts at any one time. May have been odd to have more than one contract with the one organisation but who knows how it was framed?

For Cam to have known that Melbourne were over the cap, he would have to have known what everyone else in that organisation was earning and that simply wasn't the case. By implying that any of the players were aware of the whole picture, you make yourself look like an idiot. You also open yourself up to libel.

Didn't he have 3 separate contracts with the storm?

Either way you are absolutely kidding yourself if you think none of those players knew something suss was going on fmd. Smith is smart guy its very hard to believe he didn't know anything. Its pretty suss when guys are getting boats given to them.

Parra

Because they weren't eligible for points in any match they were not under the salary cap. And to answer your next question in advance, the penalty was handed down when it was because the investigation was finalised the week before. It of course could have been earlier which would have led to a lighter penalty but Parra did their best to stonewall the investigation so it took longer then it needed to

Another fan of the administration. It's not really true though, is it. Rolled up dollars from previous years, the timing of Sewards statement, the fact that no club just has to do what it is told without going through a legitimate process. The timing was the NRL's choosing. And the timing and penalty is arbitrary and will be again next time.

blaza88z

Another fan of the administration. It's not really true though, is it. Rolled up dollars from previous years, the timing of Sewards statement, the fact that no club just has to do what it is told without going through a legitimate process. The timing was the NRL's choosing. And the timing and penalty is arbitrary and will be again next time.

So you're blaming the NRL now :lol:

Cloudsurfer

Either way you are absolutely kidding yourself if you think none of those players knew something suss was going on fmd. Smith is smart guy its very hard to believe he didn't know anything. Its pretty suss when guys are getting boats given to them.

Lol, the number of contracts keeps growing....

Please show me where it states/ confirms that Cam Smith had 2 (or more) contracts in the NRL auditors/ independent auditor reports of the Storm rort?

Yes, Smith is a smart guy...smart enough to not do anything wrong with his contract that would risk his footy career and more besides?

Nice Beaver

Mick Crocker was paid $25k to do "security work" at the Melbourne Cup. Problem was he was overseas at the time. Nooo nothing suss going on that the players would be aware of....please. :roll:

The fact every one of them to a man refused to talk to the auditors speaks volumes for their innocence or guilt.

betcats

Please show me where it states/ confirms that Cam Smith had 2 (or more) contracts in the NRL auditors/ independent auditor reports of the Storm rort?

Yes, Smith is a smart guy...smart enough to not do anything wrong with his contract that would risk his footy career and more besides?

Can you tell the difference between a question and a statement?

Edit: It was reported at the time, I never bothered to read the NRL reports because I don't really give a f**k about the details of the storm rort.

Nice Beaver

http://resources.news.com.au/files/2010/07/15/1225892/093299-aus-file-storm-investigation.pdf

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/n...on-john-hartigan/story-e6frfgbo-1225892035886

http://www.abc.net.au/pm/content/2010/s2954852.htm

Nice Beaver

Of course.

What makes you think that this is one of those times?. You are suggesting that Greenberg and the NRL are beyond question. Why do you believe that?

Mate give it a rest. Seriously.

Your own stupid club accepts that it f*cked up so maybe you should?