Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Disgraceful

mean

Skinner said:
Good player, but I'm not sure about his captaincy. A little too quiet for my liking.

That said though, I struggle to come up with another.

I guess he's the best of the bunch. Have we got a team of younguns that need to spend a weekend with our ten listed toughest players of NZ to get some perspective? I'm also thinking a weekend in the bush (I'll be careful not to use incriminating words here) learning some work ethic and survival strategies that would enable them to step up when things got tough.

Or should they be sent to the ARL Jets academy to learn how to tackle, pass, catch and all the other basics?

KiWi_BoI_15

Just watched the replay of the game....well in short.......the name of the thread says it all.

Im eager to see some of these young blokes like Stanley, SKD and Paea get a run.

mean

Sam_the_man said:
So who would everyone go for as the Kiwis coach if not Kemble?

Me, i'd go either Prescott or Burgmen as i've stated else where or even Mr Norton. Any of those three would do me.

I don't an aussie in charge of the Kiwi ever again, different cultures, different histories in the game, different attitudes towards the game of league.

If you want the best, you get the best. Do you think a kiwi is running Telecom? No. Why was Russell Coutts sailing for Alinghi? He was considered the best.

Like Skinner said, we had unions by the nuts, but I'm afraid we're now giving them a tickle. I had good expectations, but my interest is now dissipating.

Obviously Bergman wasn't wanted there as well. Who's going to do the video analysis now with the equipment that only he knows how to use? I'd get the team to watch the video and get them to stand up individually and tell all their team mates their positives and negatives throughout the whole game. That'll be watching the game 17 times, but I'm sure the message will get through somehow.

Iafeta

Sam_the_man said:
Bluey being the recent exception?

lol, thats farked mate. What was Bluey's record after winning the Tri Nations? He was a part of the 2 wins out of the last 11, in fact, he was coach for 8 out of those.

Post the Tri Nations success, this was Bluey's record

50-12 loss to Australia
46-14 loss to Great Britain
30-18 loss to Australia
20-15 loss to Australia
18-14 win over Great Britain
34-4 win over Great Britain
16-12 loss to Australia
30-6 loss to Australia

7 losses out of 9 tests post the Tri Nations.

Bluey is a great coach, but he was not unbeatable. Given for most of that time he had the likes of Wiki, Jones et al, one would even argue if he's outstanding.

Skram

I think the worst thing is when you look right across the board with Kiwi eligible players, there's a hell of a lot of talent nowadays and especially in youth, but for some reason its translating to be the complete opposite in terms of results.
I'm not sure if the entire reason for the performances is down to the coaching/management but surely thats the first place you'd start the cleanout, sadly it looks like it aint gonna happen.
Bluey didn't have the best record in sheer win/loss ratio but the performances in the losses were a hell of a lot easier to watch. I hadn't turned off or walked away from a Kiwi's game in years, even the pastings, but 2/3 games this year I had, just plain disheartening effort that is hard to watch.
As for the players I'm not a fan of David Kidwell in terms of his playing ability at times but I think his presence is sorely missing, he gives his all in the black jumper and would have let loose at some of the underperformers for sure.
Asotasi is playing excellent and trying his best Wiki impression sadly he has a ways to go as a captain but I think he'll get there.
It's a pity the selectors were shortsighted enough to only have one fullback in the squad because I reckon Perret would be worth more than a shot in the #6 jumper, his running game is great and some of his passing has been superb. Hell at least he would only pass to players on his own team.

Sam_the_man

Iafeta said:
lol, thats farked mate. What was Bluey's record after winning the Tri Nations? He was a part of the 2 wins out of the last 11, in fact, he was coach for 8 out of those.

Post the Tri Nations success, this was Bluey's record

50-12 loss to Australia
46-14 loss to Great Britain
30-18 loss to Australia
20-15 loss to Australia
18-14 win over Great Britain
34-4 win over Great Britain
16-12 loss to Australia
30-6 loss to Australia

7 losses out of 9 tests post the Tri Nations.

Bluey is a great coach, but he was not unbeatable. Given for most of that time he had the likes of Wiki, Jones et al, one would even argue if he's outstanding.

how many of those results were those bullsh*t mid season games where we only had half a team?

JB

Sam_the_man said:
how many of those results were those bullsh*t mid season games where we only had half a team?

So it's OK for Bluey to lose with half a team missing, but not for Kemble with a whole team goone including a couple of NZs all time legends?

mean

Sam_the_man said:

As I see it, a test is a test. No excuses.

Micistm

I feel for Kemble in many ways, even though I do believe the job is beyond him. The players just don't seem to relate to him.
But I feel he is going to be made the scapegoat for terrible results that he is only partly responsible for. He is just one factor in many issues that are the problem ATM. The problem is right across the board- It is the coach partly, and it is also the players. And speaking of 'across the board', what heartened me after listening to Sport talkback most of the day at work is that the Public aren't going to go after his blood, and pleasingly are more interested in a wipeout above him. The NZRL is awful, absolutely ****ing awful. I wanted to give them a chance, but this mess just shows how utterly arrogant and self congratulatory they are. They like to give their mates jobs rather than get decent management in.
RL in this country basically needs to wipe the slate clean and start again IMO. Firstly, decent managers. They don't need to be Rugby Leaguers, just excellent managers who know how to organise and get the right people for the right jobs, from selectors through to the coach and ultimately the players.

I don't really see how a firm judgement can be made on the board at this stage when most of their new things they want to implement haven't started. I am prepared to give them time to see how it all pans out.

The Jobs for mate thing is a point that keeps coming up, possibly a fair one, but the thing is that in this country the pool of people in RL is very small, they all relate back to each other somehow. The managers point is interesting too, it sounds the right line to take things, but the Robson/Watson debacles spring to mind as well

Iafeta

Sam_the_man said:

lol a test match is a test match, I wouldn't say Gary Kemble has had a full quota either just quietly. In fact, I'd hasten to guess Brian had far stronger and more pertently more experienced line ups. The fact is Brian's record was reasonable, but it was not at messiah level as some would believe, nor was he invincible, nor were his teams consistently dominant.

Next?

ozbash

I'm not a fan of one off tests, they are an invitation for disaster and do more damage than good to the game.

funny how the poms stopped playing them after the flogging they copped in newcastle a few years ago.

theres only one way to play true test matches, in a series on tour .

Iafeta

I'm not a big proponent of that reasoning either. Agreed that historically over the past decade teams have copped a touch up, but I seriously wonder whether it's become more a state of mind rather than anything else. If you think about it, in terms of ESL players, realistically we now don't get Jason Cayless, Brent Webb, Shontayne Hape and maybe Motu Tony (I may be missing somoeone or another), and I really don't think they're the crux of the issue of whether or not the Kiwis should or shouldn't win. The Webb situation, I think can easily be covered by Inu or Perrett, Jason by his brother, Hape by the likes of Vatuvei and Tuiaki, and Tony should realistically be covered by the likes of Isaac Luke and David Faiumu.

I think it'd be a better way to look forward to not treat it not like a mid year boot camp that we know we're going to get flogged at, but a fair dinkum test match. Otherwise the attitude infiltrates it's way through to what you think are the real deal. To an extent, I agree with what Bob Bailey is saying, in that Chalmers has diverted attention away from what is important, and some of the Kiwis seemed to not have the passion they have shown at club level. And perhaps that stems from taking the mid year test as an experience and giving out the wrong vibes...