Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do we keep Sandow?

Dibs

Paul Kent on triple m just said Sandow personally rang the bloke owing third party money to demand his money. Classic

That's how it should be too and not the clubs responsibility, although his manager should be the one doing it that's what he gets paid for

Noise

That's how it should be too and not the clubs responsibility, although his manager should be the one doing it that's what he gets paid for

Agreed. Should be his manager doing it. Still, it would have been funny to listening to that phone call I reckon

When asked on The Sunday Footy Show if Arthur should hand the No. 7 jersey back to Sandow, Sterling responded: “No.

“I’ve been a critic of Chris for a long time now. He’s easy to fall in love with when we see what he can do on a football field.

“Obviously I can show you – I’ll put together clips – of the things people don’t see, what he doesn’t do in games, and the defence he comes up with.

“You cannot be responsible for setting up two smashing tries, but then be directly responsible for conceding three.

“And I’ve said so many times, the difference between Chris’s good games and his not-so-good games – and there are too many of those – is too vaster gulf.

“In the NRL, if you have a No. 7 on your jersey you’ve got to be 7.5 (out of 10), at worst, every week. And that’s where Chris has struggled.

“The first things that a coach has to do when looking at a player is ask the question ‘can I win with him?’

“I think Chris Sandow has shown that Parramatta struggle to win with him and they are better off apart. How that’s facilitated, well that remains to be seen.”

Halfback of the century and rugby league Immortal Andrew Johns pleaded with Sandow to take pride in his performance.

“From what I saw the other night, Chrissy didn’t give 100 per cent,” Johns said.

“There were certain areas where he didn’t attempt to tackle. Chrissy, we all love you, but get out and have a go, mate.

“You’ve got people who love that club. Get out and represent that club. You are only tainting your legacy.”

Sandow’s Eels teammates were so furious with his performance against Canterbury on Friday night they refused to acknowledge him inside the dressing rooms at ANZ Stadium.

The NRL told The Sunday Telegraph: “We will be writing to the Parramatta club to seek an explanation (on the Facebook post).”

The Eels were checking whether the post would count as a breach of Sandow’s contract, meaning the blue and gold outfit could tear up Sandow’s contract with no strings attached.

“The club is aware of the social media post and we will investigate as per our normal process,” an Eels spokesman said.
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...topstoriesndm+(Daily+Telegraph+|+Top+Stories)

Imagine the phone call.

Chrissy: Hey, Mrs Spags, where my f**king dosh?
Mrs Spags: I'm sorry Chrissy, my dragon walking business went broke a couple of years ago.

Paul Kent on triple m just said Sandow personally rang the bloke owing third party money to demand his money. Classic

I wonder if the club and Sandow will part company next few days, and Sandow knowing this, in his desperation is trying to grab this third party money asap?

What did he say on Facebook?

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...a-eels-tell-chris-sandow-20150718-gifa8y.html

1437214850468.jpg

ash411

If he doesn't want to go without the rest of his money, I say park him on the bench, or not play him at all. Let him miss his Warrington deal if that's the way he wants it.

But under no circumstances should he be paid to walk out on this club, regardless of his playing status for next year.

If he doesn't want to go without the rest of his money, I say park him on the bench, or not play him at all. Let him miss his Warrington deal if that's the way he wants it.

But under no circumstances should he be paid to walk out on this club, regardless of his playing status for next year.
Agreed 100%, there is no way we should let the little shit win.

Noise

I don't want him to get paid a cent but I reckon they will compromise and meet halfway. Parra only want to pay him till the end of the month, Sandow wants the end of the year. They'll prob meet somewhere in middle.

I don't think the Facebook post is a sackable offence, particularly when you consider what other players have done and kept their jobs.

caylo

After such behaviour the NRL should allow at worst for him to play in a lower grade. Force him to go there if we can't fire him and I'm almost certain he will not turn up to training or just quit on his own. Rubbish, one of the worst recruitments in recent times.

ash411

After such behaviour the NRL should allow at worst for him to play in a lower grade. Force him to go there if we can't fire him and I'm almost certain he will not turn up to training or just quit on his own. Rubbish, one of the worst recruitments in recent times.

He's turned out that way, but I don't think he was a bad signing at the time.

He was playing well at Souths, an exciting, cheeky halfback with plenty of potential.

It just turned out that his playing style didn't mesh well with the club, and his personal issues made it that much worse.

Then the NRL bans his biggest weapon, he probably had the best pound-for-pound shoulder charges in the game, which has hurt his defensive game massively.

But yeah, he's turned out to be more trouble than he was worth. Time for him to go, but none of this compromise nonsense, he can't have his cake and eat it too.

but I dare say, unless the NRL forces the issue, he won't take another NRL field for the Eels, or at least, he shouldn't.

ash411

By the way, I don't see any of Sandows white knights rushing forward to defend him...

Of the 80% of fans and the media that believe he should stay at the Eels, I haven't heard from one of them yet.

Just the 20% of us... interesting that.

By the way, I don't see any of Sandows white knights rushing forward to defend him...

Of the 80% of fans and the media that believe he should stay at the Eels, I haven't heard from one of them yet.

Just the 20% of us... interesting that.

Nah, Swifty did a Pou (figuratively speaking) before Friday night's game.

We need to get approval to suspend him, then we can (hopefully) replace him in the 17 without breaching the cap.

When he initially signed I was excited because he was the best 7 available at the time. However in 2013 I created a thread where I stated that I just couldn't see him having success with us and that Stuart would offload him. Since then I thought as most of us did that he had turned the corner however his constant brain farts, battle with his weight, off field issues and lack of consistency in defence made me think that I was right the first time.

Now it is obvious that he was never right for us. I don't blame Kearney and co, they had good intentions but I would now rate him as the worst buy in our history especially when you consider his lack of professionalism both on and off the field.

I have confidence in Brad Arthur. I really rate him as a coach and a true Eels man. Arthur understands what our club means to all of us and what a privilege it is to wear the jersey. That is why I am confident and somewhat relieved that Sandow will never wear the blue and gold again.

Kornstar

I don't want him to get paid a cent but I reckon they will compromise and meet halfway. Parra only want to pay him till the end of the month, Sandow wants the end of the year. They'll prob meet somewhere in middle.

I don't think the Facebook post is a sackable offence, particularly when you consider what other players have done and kept their jobs.

Yep, comparable to rape or domestic violence of course it is not that bad, however he is clearly at odds with the club and they will only make their own product suffer as a result because he is clearly sooking and making the game look stupid.

If they don't at least let us drop him to Wenty or completely then they are dumber than we already believe.

ash411

It's also nice to see that they aren't willing to pay him the rest of his contract to leave.

It something we may not have seen a few years ago.

lingard

Agreed 100%, there is no way we should let the little shit win.

I'm happy that the club is playing hard-ball with him. That's what he deserves. He's clearly not professional enough - on or off the field - to warrant us playing it any other way. HOWEVER: if the NRL don't allow us to drop him, I don't want him making a repeat of Friday night's performance. (And, make no mistake, that's exactly what will happen if he plays first grade with us again.) The rest of our players surely don't want to play with him now, either.
IF we can't come to an arrangement with him this week and IF the NRL don't let us drop him, I'd simply pay him his $130,000 and let him go immediately. He'll cause a lot more damage to this club if we don't.
And he won't be 'winning' anything. He's already lost all his credibility.
Of course, as suggested, we could leave him on the bench the whole game - but I think just having him around will be a very unsettling and unnerving experience for the players and coaching staff.

T.S Quint

Screw that. I'd rather drop him and have Joseph Paulo playing halfback.

Hell, I'd rather have Junior Paulo playing halfback than that little shit.