Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Does Brad Arthur deserve the hype?

I just watched the press conference. Scratch all that philosophical feel-good bullshit I said earlier, just get Arthur to stfu about completion rates! FFS man, footy is surely not always every single time every weekend about completion rates. Sometimes a ball gets dropped. It happens. If you want us to play even crapper more boring footy than we currently do then carry on. Completion rates, FMD.

Agree. All this percentage talk / completion rates is crap.

The team doesn't look like they train together at all. Our attack is all over the shop. Against South we were brilliant but that's one game out of six. I think Arthur is too soft on them. And there has to be changes next week. Because that's a wooden spoon side we are looking at.

The eels completed 24 from 36 sets. The Titans completed 28 from 40 which is a bees dick more than us. That doesn't equate to the massive scoreline difference. The problem is De Gois and Seffa and the minimal impact they bring off the bench.

Yeh, sort of. While the completion rates are similar, the places in the field on which we turned the ball over, and the manner in which we did it were pretty different to them.....and they cost us. Even ignoring everything else, two intercept tries (one in each red zone) really shifted the momentum in the game. Maybe 'completion rates' is too coarse a term. I'd say our error rates were a pretty important factor in that game.

Agree that the bench situation is curious to say the least.

yy_cheng

To be fair look at the back line

1. Hoppa

3 folau
4 Morgan
5 biretta

Not exactly the balloons in the pre season and Joppa is still struggling when to chime in

Excerpt for the intercept, I liked our attack in the first half

yy_cheng

The eels completed 24 from 36 sets. The Titans completed 28 from 40 which is a bees dick more than us. That doesn't equate to the massive scoreline difference. The problem is De Gois and Seffa and the minimal impact they bring off the bench.

Yeah but was it an African bee?

Yep, look at the Roosters for instance and look at the impact they get. Then look at ours, our bench and back line are the worst in the comp ATM.

emjaycee

Didn't see the post game interviews myself but apparently Roberts had a funny dig at John Folau...

Interviewer: What's it like to play against someone as big as Folau?
Roberts: Less time in the gym and more speed work maybe.

It is one thing to want to improve physicality which BA has stated was the goal over the off season but not at the cost of being out paced every time.

Even my wife commented after the Tigers game and on the way to Pirtek yesterday about the lack of pace in our squad and she watches 4 games a year.

Bigfella

I agree with the comments about out backline being so weak, but it's not down to injury.

Yes we have blokes out, but only semi is really any good out of them.

And add 6 and 7 to the list.

Norman had one good half but even then some of his work was pretty desperate.

We must have close to the weakest spine in the comp.

I agree with the comments about out backline being so weak, but it's not down to injury.

I said this to a mate yesterday, Foran will make a difference but he can't do it alone. Peats has to play 80 and we desperately need a 1 that wouldn't get charged for loitering.

I dont think he has best tactics, but he seems to get players respect.

I have a game plan for the eels i have seen.I know our best squad that would win us games. There are guys in our top 17 that should not be there.

Kornstar

My best mate works quite high up in the A mart sports store and they had McQuire out for a work speech and function. He said he was blown away about how well spoken and driven he seemed to be. Gave an excellent speech and he said he can see why he has turned souths around. This was also after he just mins after he found out Avua got suspended for 9 months but he still went out and did what he was there to do anyway without fuss.

With the myriad of shit coaches we have had, his name never came up for us. Seriously, why the f**k is that???

More knowledgeable posters than me mentioned he was the brains at Melbourne while he was there and when it came time to pick an assistant from Melbourne which one do our board pick?

I still don't know if Arthur is any good or not but I don't think he has many tactics up his sleeve. Apart from the Souths game I think it has been rare since last year that he has out coached someone. Hayne's brilliance won us games as opposed to tactics. Our backline movements have been shit since 2011!

I can't believe how bad they looked yesterday, it is astounding that a home team who had been humiliated the week before can come out and play with so little pride and passion.

Is this the result of players picking a coach, rather than what is best for the club?

zipzip man

Until he makes changes its going to continue.

I have a few tips for him....

1. Stop Norman kicking the ball, both clearing and last tackle. He kicks it down the wingers/fullbacks throat every time and the last tackle option kicks are some of the worse I have seen. Punt Watmough or tell him if he passes the ball in the line one more time he is going to cop 80 lashings! Drop Hoppa from fullback

Give them a simple game plan... just run hard, tackle hard and hold the ball forget anything else because we are f@cken useless.

Agreed, but his tactics, selections and Bench rotations are a little worrying.

even the coach can have a bad day, he had a few mates though

it would be a pretty tough job week in week out, especially coaching this rabble

How's your morning, Brad?

Not good, mate. Only two of the three kids were ready for church on time. We can't expect to get to Heaven if we're only completing at 67%.

I reckon Taikarangi has been good...

Chipmunk

Agreed, but his tactics, selections and Bench rotations are a little worrying.

With the myriad of shit coaches we have had, his name never came up for us. Seriously, why the f**k is that???

More knowledgeable posters than me mentioned he was the brains at Melbourne while he was there and when it came time to pick an assistant from Melbourne which one do our board pick?

I still don't know if Arthur is any good or not but I don't think he has many tactics up his sleeve. Apart from the Souths game I think it has been rare since last year that he has out coached someone. Hayne's brilliance won us games as opposed to tactics. Our backline movements have been shit since 2011!

I can't believe how bad they looked yesterday, it is astounding that a home team who had been humiliated the week before can come out and play with so little pride and passion.

Is this the result of players picking a coach, rather than what is best for the club?

Virtually the same team, with the same tactics, with the exact same interchange setup, beat the best team in the competition only two weeks ago.

I don't agree with the make up of the team, but I still think that alot of our performance yesterday was attitude. We weren't really keen to do those little 100% things that can make a difference in any match.

Although I think it's an excuse and a bullshit one at that, I don't think the 5 day turnaround did us any favours either.

Kornstar

Virtually the same team, with the same tactics, with the exact same interchange setup, beat the best team in the competition only two weeks ago.

I don't agree with the make up of the team, but I still think that alot of our performance yesterday was attitude. We weren't really keen to do those little 100% things that can make a difference in any match.

Although I think it's an excuse and a bullshit one at that, I don't think the 5 day turnaround did us any favours either.

I don't agree we had the same tactics yesterday than we did against the Bunnies.