Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Does Brad Arthur deserve the hype?

phantom eel

I think he means for the rest of this year. It's a cosmetic change, but putting Norman in the 7 jersey and Sandow in 6 might help tell our team who is/should be in charge of directing play in the opposition 20m zone - and get the side ready for next year with Foran's role (compared to our current indecision).

My take is we are a team that still lacks any patience.

We don't know how to build pressure and just go set for set in a grind.

It's all or nothing. Has been this way for a long time. Parra ball.

I reckon this is more likely than the idea that our bench is too small (though that is possible too). An example was when Sandow made that break yesterday. Even when in heavy traffic he was looking for support, and at no stage did he decide to play it safe and protect the ball. I expected him to lose the ball and the little merkin f**ken did. I was so pissed off.

And as many have pointed out, we never play for repeat sets. Sometimes the opposition is just aggressive and energetic and defending their line very well. In those instances it's not a failure if you don't score. Just force them to defend for five then play for a repeat set. If they hold you out for six straight sets it might give them confidence but that won't last when they're buggered late in the game.

I've always thought it was pointless to defend your line for ages and then concede. You would have been better off letting them score on the first tackle of the first set on your line. The result would be the same (conceding a try) but you wouldn't have wasted all that juice holding them out. Obviously the best thing is to hold them out then get the ball back, which is why you can't just let the opposition score in hopeof not wasting energy.

My take is we are a team that still lacks any patience.

We don't know how to build pressure and just go set for set in a grind.

It's all or nothing. Has been this way for a long time. Parra ball.
And that's a reflection on the halfback, you have just summed him up to a tee.

Ron Jeremy

We will see this week how we respond, I reckon we win for some reason, but that wont buy me over just yet.

Norman is the halfback. He wears 6 because he plays on the left.
Well the halfback who is wearing 6 should be taking more control of the game, because the garden gnome who is wearing 7 but playing more a 5/8 type roll is more rocks than diamonds of late.

Casper The Ghost

Round 2 against the Dogs with Sandow off injured, other players exhausted from defensive overload and getting injured along the way Norman took complete control of our attacking structures and played the best game for the Eels since he joined our club. Norman set up two excellent tries and we could of scored another three if it wasn't for fumbles, mis-communication, poor execution and worst of all, f**ked refereeing. Another key benefit was a minimal of zig zag, cross crissing & crabbing going on from J Paulo and Watmough which generally f**ks up our attacking formations in any particular set.

I love watching him play but I've come to see that letting go of Sandow is the right thing to do.

If BA has already tapped Sandow on the shoulder which led to Sandow's performance on Sat against the Titans then he needs to be dropped or just let him move on to another club for the rest of the season ASAP.

As Poo says.... Split Halves
6. Norman
7. Foran (C)

Casper The Ghost

The possibility of Sandow being tapped on the shoulder would also explain why we got Beau Henry for the rest of this season.

tackling Pauli takes effort and tired out opposition - tackling guys like seph /mannah for example or degois is just going thru the motions.Teams get tired from guys who run hard and havng to stop them.

yy_cheng

I reckon this is more likely than the idea that our bench is too small (though that is possible too). An example was when Sandow made that break yesterday. Even when in heavy traffic he was looking for support, and at no stage did he decide to play it safe and protect the ball. I expected him to lose the ball and the little merkin f**ken did. I was so pissed off.

And as many have pointed out, we never play for repeat sets. Sometimes the opposition is just aggressive and energetic and defending their line very well. In those instances it's not a failure if you don't score. Just force them to defend for five then play for a repeat set. If they hold you out for six straight sets it might give them confidence but that won't last when they're buggered late in the game.

I've always thought it was pointless to defend your line for ages and then concede. You would have been better off letting them score on the first tackle of the first set on your line. The result would be the same (conceding a try) but you wouldn't have wasted all that juice holding them out. Obviously the best thing is to hold them out then get the ball back, which is why you can't just let the opposition score in hopeof not wasting energy.

Or do what the chooks do and give penalties so the opposition kicks for goal

souths_pride

I read some interesting posts in this thread about building pressure. I think that there are many ways of building pressure in the modern game, it just depends on the personnel that you have available; it not down to one player but a combination of things. Souths and Melbourne do it by playing for repeat sets, the Bulldogs do it by playing for territory and then making the opposition forwards tired themselves out working the footy away from their own in goal line, Wayne Bennett coached teams like to kick penalty goals and bleed you to death, Paul McGregor at the Dragons has made his side difficult to beat by being very sound defensively etc. The secret is finding the formula that works for the players you've got.

The problem that Parramatta have is that I don't think that Brad Arthur has come up with a strategy yet to suit the players that he has. It seems from the outside that the only time that Parramatta look threatening is when they offload the footy - thats fine, but its the hallmark of a desperate team and it can often go pear shaped, especially against a team that is really defensively organised.

For a team that is in your position, I would maybe take a leaf out of Des Hasler's book; its a simple and effective approach and is best suited to a team that doesn't have a lot of flair players. In terms of building pressure, I would have Norman simply kick to the corners on the last and then make the opposition work their asses off getting the ball off their own goal line. I really do think your forwards are capable of doing it - we saw it against Souths! Parramatta have arguably the most improved forward pack in the comp! Even against the Titans I thought they were really solid Moreover, this way of playing also builds confidence as teams will struggle to score points; a good defensive set can build as much confidence and enthusiasm as a try. Don't believe me - have a look at the game where Souths played Manly at the SCG last season - we won that game purely through line speed.

In terms of attacking the opposition goal line, this where the offloads come in; run the ball on the last. Who cares if you get tackled on the 5th? Conceding a turnover 5m out from the opposition goal line is a much better result and sustains more pressure than giving away a 7 tackle set from a 20m tap due to putting the ball deal. I can never understand why on earth you have Sandow and co. kicking all the time on the last when Parra look so dangerous offloading; the 4th and 5th tackle is the perfect time to do it because it is a nightmare to defend against, especially when attacking the opponent's goal line. Another possibility is to have Sandow run the ball on the last - for me one of Sandow's major strengths is when he hangs out the back like a fullback and runs with the footy; he did it against Souths and he tore us to shreds. These are just a couple of examples of what I'm talking about when I mention developing a strategy to suit the players you've got. Many of the first grade squad are decent players, I just think Brad Arthur is not playing to the strengths of the team in his game plan and as a result, the squad is made to look ordinary.

Casper The Ghost

I read some interesting posts in this thread about building pressure. I think that there are many ways of building pressure in the modern game, it just depends on the personnel that you have available; it not down to one player but a combination of things. Souths and Melbourne do it by playing for repeat sets, the Bulldogs do it by playing for territory and then making the opposition forwards tired themselves out working the footy away from their own in goal line, Wayne Bennett coached teams like to kick penalty goals and bleed you to death, Paul McGregor at the Dragons has made his side difficult to beat by being very sound defensively etc. The secret is finding the formula that works for the players you've got.

The problem that Parramatta have is that I don't think that Brad Arthur has come up with a strategy yet to suit the players that he has. It seems from the outside that the only time that Parramatta look threatening is when they offload the footy - thats fine, but its the hallmark of a desperate team and it can often go pear shaped, especially against a team that is really defensively organised.

For a team that is in your position, I would maybe take a leaf out of Des Hasler's book; its a simple and effective approach and is best suited to a team that doesn't have a lot of flair players. In terms of building pressure, I would have Norman simply kick to the corners on the last and then make the opposition work their asses off getting the ball off their own goal line. I really do think your forwards are capable of doing it - we saw it against Souths! Parramatta have arguably the most improved forward pack in the comp! Even against the Titans I thought they were really solid Moreover, this way of playing also builds confidence as teams will struggle to score points; a good defensive set can build as much confidence and enthusiasm as a try. Don't believe me - have a look at the game where Souths played Manly at the SCG last season - we won that game purely through line speed.

In terms of attacking the opposition goal line, this where the offloads come in; run the ball on the last. Who cares if you get tackled on the 5th? Conceding a turnover 5m out from the opposition goal line is a much better result and sustains more pressure than giving away a 7 tackle set from a 20m tap due to putting the ball deal. I can never understand why on earth you have Sandow and co. kicking all the time on the last when Parra look so dangerous offloading; the 4th and 5th tackle is the perfect time to do it because it is a nightmare to defend against, especially when attacking the opponent's goal line. Another possibility is to have Sandow run the ball on the last - for me one of Sandow's major strengths is when he hangs out the back like a fullback and runs with the footy; he did it against Souths and he tore us to shreds. These are just a couple of examples of what I'm talking about when I mention developing a strategy to suit the players you've got. Many of the first grade squad are decent players, I just think Brad Arthur is not playing to the strengths of the team in his game plan and as a result, the squad is made to look ordinary.

Agreed.

Chipmunk

Well the halfback who is wearing 6 should be taking more control of the game, because the garden gnome who is wearing 7 but playing more a 5/8 type roll is more rocks than diamonds of late.

Of late? His entire f$%king career more like it.

Chipmunk

This is great mate, but you've got to have the players who can deliver an instructed game plan for 80 mins like that. Last time I looked Cooper Cronk played for Melbourne, not Parra.

You're taking the piss if you think the players Parra have currently in the organising roles can stick to a game plan like that.

I actually doubt that Sandow or Norman could actually read and fully comprehend what you've written just there, let alone being able to implement it all.

We're good at the moment at unstructured short side raids. We need to perfect this before we more onto simple stuff like you're suggesting.

tackling Pauli takes effort and tired out opposition - tackling guys like seph /mannah for example or degois is just going thru the motions.Teams get tired from guys who run hard and havng to stop them.

Speaking as someone who played the sport at prop, I don't agree.

Tackling blokes like Mannah was exhausting, because they're strong and just don't stop pumping the legs. It takes a lot of energy to stop them.

Tackling guys like Pauli Pauli is initially tiring, but then after a certain point, it becomes scary to tackle them because they're so big and strong, and you mentally don't want to commit to tackling such a beast.

But we definitely need stronger runners.

yy_cheng

Speaking as someone who played the sport at prop, I don't agree.

Tackling blokes like Mannah was exhausting, because they're strong and just don't stop pumping the legs. It takes a lot of energy to stop them.

Tackling guys like Pauli Pauli is initially tiring, but then after a certain point, it becomes scary to tackle them because they're so big and strong, and you mentally don't want to commit to tackling such a beast.

But we definitely need stronger runners.

That's why we have seffa,degois and peats on at the same time