Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dogs not bred winners after all

The Colonel said:
Burt - Newcastle Junior
Reddy - Sth Aust
Hindmarsh - Robertson
Hauraki - NZ
Smith - Runaway Bay.

They may have played in the lower grade system but it doesn't make them a local junior.

Also, IIRC Grothe is a Tigers junior....Hayne and Inu might be as well, being Campbelltown boys. Not sure where the club bases are though...

Timmah said:
Tonga was struggling to press for first grade at Parramatta, his best form was in his first couple of years in the Blue & White. Andrew Ryan's earned his name at the 'Dogs and never reached fantastic heights at Parra - he was like Tonga - struggling to push for FG.

like Thurston at the Dogs?

i bet you claim him as one of yours though

Karmawave said:
What a load of sh*t.

Danny Buderus signed with the Knights in his mid teens from Taree ( certainly close enough to Newcastle to call him a local ) and played his entire lower grades from SG Ball with the Knights. How can anyone say he isn't a local product?

Jarrod Mullen - St Francis Xavier ( Newcastle ) high school student since 16 , and Western Suburbs Newcastle junior since early teens after growing up in the Upper Hunter.

That's two glaring errors, and it brings into question just how accurate the rest of the article is when they can overlook two OBVIOUS locals.

Obvious? Taree isn't a Newcastle Junior area though. I agree on Mullen but Buderus is technically an import from outside the local junior area.

Hindmarsh and Luke Burt have played all their junior football at Parramatta, the same as Buderus, but aren't local juniors. Same for a lot of other clubs.

Bazal said:
Also, IIRC Grothe is a Tigers junior....Hayne and Inu might be as well, being Campbelltown boys. Not sure where the club bases are though...

Hayne and Inu have played all their junior football with Cabramatta. Grothe is a Wests junior - played in Campbelltown.

Karmawave

The Colonel said:
Obvious? Taree isn't a Newcastle Junior area though. I agree on Mullen but Buderus is technically an import from outside the local junior area.

Buderus would call himself a Novocastrian! If Taree isn't technically a Newcastle Junior area, its closer to Newcastle than it is to any other team. Its just up the bloody road :lol:

He moved to Newcastle when he was young, and in doing so played for Wests Newcastle before making the Harold Matts/SG Ball for the Knights.

It's pretty harsh to say he isn't a local product.

Mullen couldn't be more Novocastrian if he tried. His family has owned a business here for years!

If they get Mullen wrong? How many others have been overlooked?

The Yeti

mattyg said:
between the Bulldogs side named this week, 276 collective first grade appearances have been made for another club (this includes 99 for Sullivan with heaps of them playing in Warrington). For the Roosters the total of games played for other teams is 598, double that of the Bulldogs.

That to me says it all.

:? that doesn't tell anything about how many players were brought in from other clubs. The Dogs could sign someone at 24 who's played 50 FG games while the Roosters bring in someone who's played 100... regardless of the number of games played elsewhere, that is still just 1 "foreign" player each.

This bred not bought crap is just as bad as Souffs "pride of the league" nonsense.

El Diablo said:
like Thurston at the Dogs?

i bet you claim him as one of yours though
'

No - he became who he is and played his best footy in the navy, yellow and grey and noone can deny that. Nice try though.

Colonel... would you like to explain how Hazem El Masri is considered an import?

He has only ever played for the Bulldogs and his youth club was the Enfield Federals... surely that's part of our junior area?

Farq me talk about grasping at straws.

Karmawave said:
Buderus would call himself a Novocastrian! If Taree isn't technically a Newcastle Junior area, its closer to Newcastle than it is to any other team. Its just up the bloody road :lol:

He moved to Newcastle when he was young, and in doing so played for Wests Newcastle before making the Harold Matts/SG Ball for the Knights.

It's pretty harsh to say he isn't a local product.

Mullen couldn't be more Novocastrian if he tried. His family has owned a business here for years!

If they get Mullen wrong? How many others have been overlooked?

His junior clubs are Chatham Cundle, Red Rovers and Taree United. While it is close it make it a Newcastle junior area.

Going through the list of players I thionk they are pretty much spot on. Tsoulos and Mullen are the only two really obvious ones.....

Timmah said:
Colonel... would you like to explain how Hazem El Masri is considered an import?

He has only ever played for the Bulldogs and his youth club was the Enfield Federals... surely that's part of our junior area?

Farq me talk about grasping at straws.

I'm only going off the Review but I am assuming they are taking the Enfield Federals as being a Western Suburbs Junior Club. It was up until 1986 when it the WSDRLFC was split between Balmain and Canterbury Bankstown.

sooperdooper

The Colonel said:
Burt - Newcastle Junior
Reddy - Sth Aust
Hindmarsh - Robertson
Hauraki - NZ
Smith - Runaway Bay.

They may have played in the lower grade system but it doesn't make them a local junior.

whilst technically they are not parra jnrs. I consider them as parra jnrs, much to the same the dogs would consider SBW etc as there jnrs.

We found those talents and nurtchered them and produced them...same as any other club who finds them when young b4 other clubs

Dogaholic

The Colonel said:
I'm only going off the Review but I am assuming they are taking the Enfield Federals as being a Western Suburbs Junior Club. It was up until 1986 when it the WSDRLFC was split between Balmain and Canterbury Bankstown.

According to Hazems book Enfield Feds had ties with the Bunnies back in those days. Hazem went along and tried out with the bunnies but ended up leaving before the trials.

Game_Breaker

Also, why is this thread still going on.

The name "transit lounge" in linked to the Roosters for a reason.

Beetson even said their recruitment policies are bad:

And the cult Kangaroo, inducted as the seventh Immortal four years ago, said he was not surprised to learn the Tricolours had released Williams.
"Because nothing surprises me with the Chooks any more," he conceded.
"Four years ago I approached (chief executive) Brian Canavan and said our recruitment was stuffed.
"And since then nothing has changed.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,22835079-23214,00.html

He also said this in RLW:

Beetson's frustration at the Roosters' recruitment reached its peak in the off-season with the signing of O'Meley and Mason and the failure to retain promising 21-year-old Danny Williams, who has been nurtured for years, only to be snapped up by the Bulldogs. "They've gone back to the bad old days of looking for a quick fix," he says. "I'd rather pay $100,000 for Danny Williams than $350,000 for the other bloke (O'Meley)."

Dogaholic

Game_Breaker said:
The Enfield Feds played in the Canterbury Junior comp

Doesn't change the fact that Enfield Feds sent him over to Refern to trial with the bunnies.

Game_Breaker

Dogaholic said:
Doesn't change the fact that Enfield Feds sent him over to Refern to trial with the bunnies.

Yeah, but he's still a Canterbury local junior because he played in the Canterbury junior comp.

melon....

sooperdooper said:
whilst technically they are not parra jnrs. I consider them as parra jnrs, much to the same the dogs would consider SBW etc as there jnrs.

We found those talents and nurtchered them and produced them...same as any other club who finds them when young b4 other clubs
In that case, Minichiello is a Roosters Junior, as is SKD (he actually is), The Aubbs brothers (Both are roosters Juniors), Lopini Paea, even Shillo who came from Redcliffe as a 16-17 year old all these guys were playing kiddie Roosters teams hence following your logic are Roosters Juniors. found and developed into first graders by Easts.

ozzie

Game_Breaker said:
Also, why is this thread still going on.

The name "transit lounge" in linked to the Roosters for a reason.

Beetson even said their recruitment policies are bad:

And the cult Kangaroo, inducted as the seventh Immortal four years ago, said he was not surprised to learn the Tricolours had released Williams.
"Because nothing surprises me with the Chooks any more," he conceded.
"Four years ago I approached (chief executive) Brian Canavan and said our recruitment was stuffed.
"And since then nothing has changed.
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,22835079-23214,00.html

He also said this in RLW:

Beetson's frustration at the Roosters' recruitment reached its peak in the off-season with the signing of O'Meley and Mason and the failure to retain promising 21-year-old Danny Williams, who has been nurtured for years, only to be snapped up by the Bulldogs. "They've gone back to the bad old days of looking for a quick fix," he says. "I'd rather pay $100,000 for Danny Williams than $350,000 for the other bloke (O'Meley)."
wouldn't have anything to do with the fact we recruited a better recruitment officer. After all he needed to find a good paddock. I still love the guy but those quotes were from anger

Game_Breaker

ozzie said:
wouldn't have anything to do with the fact we recruited a better recruitment officer. After all he needed to find a good paddock. I still love the guy but those quotes were from anger

Maybe he's angry for a reason

Angry at the Roosters recruitment policies