Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

DragonArmy moving forward.

AJ_82

100% agree, out of curiosity AJ where abouts do you live.

I am sorry dasupaherotrancepuppet, I have neglected to run this post by you to get the ok before posting.

Coffs Harbour - short 4 hour drive up the highway to come and say hi!

DRAGONZ_RULE

With point 5, I can tell you that I am the first to put my hand up and say I get involved in bad crowd behaviour whether it be in the past or even tonight at brooky. I can change and I have people come to me all the time and pull me aside and remind me of my responsibility not to give the dragon army a bad name etc.
Out of interest, were you the guy with the bandana around your head who tried to start something with the Manly supporter at the back, and then you came down a few metres and had words with that Manly-supporting scum f**ker who spent the whole game laughing at us and taunting us, but then shut up and ran off as soon as you started talking to him?

If so, regardless of those couple of Manly blokes who were incredibly annoying and amazingly ungracious in victory, your behaviour was really stupid.

If not, apologies for suggesting it was you .... and to whoever that was, presuming you read on here, it was really stupid.

We go to games to support our team ..... the fact of other club's supporters trying to get on our nerves does not give anyone the right to go up to that opposition fan and offer to go toe-to-toe with them ...

Good work to the blokes who pulled the person I am talking about back away from the confrontation, and it was good work by the security to get there quickly ...

I haven't been able to sit with the Dragon Army much over the last couple of years (mainly because I haven't been able to go to many games), but I would like to think that the supporter group is above responding with threats of violence to low-life opposition supporters who make it the primary aim of their night to get on the nerves of Dragons fans.

Dragon Dave

I think other fans taunting/abusing us shows nothing but respect for the Army (in a strange way.) Fans are well aware that the Army will be at every game, in good numbers and good voice, and the fact that they feel the need to stick it up us means that we are getting under their skin and having an effect on the crowd and therefore the game.

I like seeing other fans petty attempts at taunting us and I think the best way to react is to not even give them the time of day and continue to sing over the top of them.

DRAGONZ_RULE

I think other fans taunting/abusing us shows nothing but respect for the Army (in a strange way.) Fans are well aware that the Army will be at every game, in good numbers and good voice, and the fact that they feel the need to stick it up us means that we are getting under their skin and having an effect on the crowd and therefore the game.

I like seeing other fans petty attempts at taunting us and I think the best way to react is to not even give them the time of day and continue to sing over the top of them.
I agree with this --- and for 99% of the game that what the Army did, it was a brilliant atmosphere, especially considering our team was getting belted on the park!!

I would imagine that they would have heard our chants all around the ground, we were making a lot of noise!

Dragons23

I agree with this 100%
i was at the game and to see all the Many supporters the way they were
made me extremly angry but, if we can give it
then we must learn to take it.
at the moment we have had more good days then bad so it had been a while since we had this ugly feeling so there is no wonder why tempers were a little bit high.

it was good to see the majority of the army did not leave early and we stood strong.
If it was up to me when we were coppin it from the fans i would have preffered for all of us to sing together
"We are number 1, say we r number 1"

that way they know we support them more then ever.

i am a die heart liverpool fan and the best thing about them is that You'll never walk alone is sung even louder when Liverpool are losing cause the players need to know we still support them 100%

even when toress is injured they sing his song.
These things show how much they support there players and teams.

We need this Comitee,
We are the best supporters in a Australia and we take this very seriously.
It is only right to have a organisation like this.

I am fairly new to this forum(mainly because i didn't know it existed)
and because i only like to talk when i feel like i have something intresting and relevant to say but i go to the majority of games and love this team like i love my mother and Father and i would be happy to pay an annual fee.
an annual fee gives us the money needed to fund something like this.

i think we need more songs

scalves are a great idea

and a proper website is needed,

it would be great to get some sponsorship by a compnay that can organise banners, signs etc.

I love this team, i love the the supporters we have
its time to make our loyalty official

Cooper-Man

Out of interest, were you the guy with the bandana around your head who tried to start something with the Manly supporter at the back, and then you came down a few metres and had words with that Manly-supporting scum f**ker who spent the whole game laughing at us and taunting us, but then shut up and ran off as soon as you started talking to him?

If so, regardless of those couple of Manly blokes who were incredibly annoying and amazingly ungracious in victory, your behaviour was really stupid.

If not, apologies for suggesting it was you .... and to whoever that was, presuming you read on here, it was really stupid.

We go to games to support our team ..... the fact of other club's supporters trying to get on our nerves does not give anyone the right to go up to that opposition fan and offer to go toe-to-toe with them ...

Good work to the blokes who pulled the person I am talking about back away from the confrontation, and it was good work by the security to get there quickly ...

I haven't been able to sit with the Dragon Army much over the last couple of years (mainly because I haven't been able to go to many games), but I would like to think that the supporter group is above responding with threats of violence to low-life opposition supporters who make it the primary aim of their night to get on the nerves of Dragons fans.

I am indeed the guy with A flag wrapped around my head. HOWEVER, i am no the one who was taunting people from 300 metres away. I am the guy who was pulling the other guy away and also trying to stop security from taking him to the police.

One guard on sat night was an absolute dish and i have made complaints to the head guard from e group to sort him out. After we finally calmed Simon down and pulled him away, the security guard followed our boys and pushed one of out boys in the back. THis caused the whole situation to get out of hand and was not called for. The head guard knew me from Kogarah and informed me that this would be dealt with.

Anyway, thaks heaps for all the support guys. Hopefully we can get everyone on board and make something special out of this.

Stand Tall, Sing loud and FIRE UP.

The Major

There's getting on nerves and then there's complete and utter disrespect. I for one wont and dont tolerate dickhead behaviour. I'll be the first to give someone a clip over the ears if they be absolute tools to me, my family or my friends. But i certainly dont go looking for it and i try hard amongst the army to ensure others follow suit. The lad you mentioned is entitled to his own reaction if he took offence to what was said and done to him. While i dont condone any unruly behaviour amongst our ranks, but if some knob jockey thinks they can get a skin full of hero juice into them and behave themselves in a manner thats totally unacceptable, regardless if its at the footy or anywhere else in society, they deserve what comes to them. But all in all we do well in keeping everyone in check. Everyone gives a poo about everyone, which is good to see. From the older regulars, to the teeny bopper brigade, right down to the littluns like Leanne's bub Aiden, my two daughters, and even Scuba Steves 4 kids, its a great balance of personalities and life storys which aside from the footy, its the social aspect of going to the games and catching up wth a great bunch of people which make being part of our fantastic supporter base the best in the NRL.

DRAGONZ_RULE

I am indeed the guy with A flag wrapped around my head. HOWEVER, i am no the one who was taunting people from 300 metres away. I am the guy who was pulling the other guy away and also trying to stop security from taking him to the police.

One guard on sat night was an absolute dish and i have made complaints to the head guard from e group to sort him out. After we finally calmed Simon down and pulled him away, the security guard followed our boys and pushed one of out boys in the back. THis caused the whole situation to get out of hand and was not called for. The head guard knew me from Kogarah and informed me that this would be dealt with.

Anyway, thaks heaps for all the support guys. Hopefully we can get everyone on board and make something special out of this.

Stand Tall, Sing loud and FIRE UP.
Thanks for your response - I didn't know about what happened with the security after they came and stopped trouble brewing on the hill ... I therefore retract my comment about them.

Apart from those last couple of minutes, I was so proud to be standing in the Army on Saturday night .. we were getting comprehensively beaten on the field, but we sang and chanted all night, and I'm sure the whole ground heard us singing! There was a stigma associated with the Army in the mid-2000s that we would only sing when we were winning, but that clearly looks to have disappeared now, which is great to see.

@ The Major ... I don't know what happened with this guy (Cooper-man has named him Simon) and the Manly bloke on the fence which led to the first altercation, but the second one with the Manly scum wearing the black overcoat and jeans was less than 2 metres away from me, and the only reason for Simon's reaction was that the Manly supporter stood up and jeered us every time Manly did something good ... it was a dog act, but he never turned it into anything personal about any of us standing in the Army, and when it's just taunts about how Manly are better than St George or how St George are pretenders etc etc, we have to have thicker skin than to drop to that bloke's level and offer to fight him ... although I must admit it was funny watching the spineless f**ker pack up shop and run off as quick as he could ... was happy to dish it out but couldn't cop it.

My post on the Manly board discussing it:

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=6580691&postcount=36

Everyone gives a poo about everyone, which is good to see. From the older regulars, to the teeny bopper brigade, right down to the littluns like Leanne's bub Aiden, my two daughters, and even Scuba Steves 4 kids, its a great balance of personalities and life storys which aside from the footy, its the social aspect of going to the games and catching up wth a great bunch of people which make being part of our fantastic supporter base the best in the NRL.

I love this!!!

:)

Coffs Harbour - short 4 hour drive up the highway to come and say hi!

I am about 4 hours north, have to catch up for a beer @ Drongos game. I am not sure, however Pat will be able to help. Are you the guy I met at the leagues club last year ? It was the day of the trial game V canterbury @ the gong.

cleary89

I agree with the no violence, even if its warranted. Do we really want to be known like the bulldogs are? I'd hate for that. What happened to the old "sticks and stones....". f**k the merkins. Sing "we are number 1, say we are number 1" when losing.

Steel Dragon

1. Purchase tickets for away games together.
2. Have larger away game travellers with buses etc
3. Be able to encourage more members of the army to support the club financially by having a season ticket. (Many currently dont)
4. Easier to arrange our own seating at away games.
5. Be able to have an influence/control on bad crwod behaviour from our own supporters etc.
6. Scarfs for our group. (Macca and Amanda have had a sample made up and we think it would be awesome to have dragonarmy scarfs).

1. Makes sense that we all sit together, would be easy to bulk buy too i would imagine
2. Or flights even... (depends how much profit we make on scarves!)
3. I'd make it a thing that you cant join the 'army' if youre not a member perhaps. Would sort out the pretenders quick smart
4. See 1.
5. Definitely. Especially if some of the older heads among us (and beefier blokes) were able to pull clowns into line before sh!t escalates.
6. Scarves are a good idea. Will Mrs Macca be whipping out the knitting needles and red and white yarn, or will we opt for the lightweight printed type? Either way would be good to put a design to a vote.

ALSO
We could organise end of season BBQ's meet-ups etc. and have a small fee for sausage sangas, cans of drink etc to raise a bit o' coin. Maybe a raffle of signed something. I dunno - just throwing ideas out there.

But yeah - good idea Pete.
I'm in.

3. I'd make it a thing that you cant join the 'army' if youre not a member perhaps. Would sort out the pretenders quick smart
Not sure what this means. Member of the Red V?

I really don't think it's wise to start excluding people from joining in just because they don't belong to some club or mail group. Anyone should be allowed to walk up and feel welcomed.

By all means encourage people to register as an army member and buy season tickets as part of the Red V thing, but it shouldn't be mandatory. No more than it should be mandatory to be a Football Club or Leagues Club member to go and watch the team play.

the_one

I haven't been to a game since the semi at brookvale a few years back as i moved 4 hours west. But was an active member of the army before that. So maybe im not one to be asking questions

Just a few questions and points
1) As cooperman has pointed out no joining fee and it has to stay like this.

2)There is no need for any money to change hands except for things like bus trips or scarves. and tickets. To the guys suggesting fundraising what do they expect the money to be used towards. Need to remember not for profit.

3) How would out of towners be welcomed? Would it become an exclusive club? Does the DAF sound familiar? The best thing about the army is you can just rock up start singing and make some mates in the mean time.

4) How would buying bulk tickets work? Is it possible to buy say 300 tickets to parra stadium. If not who misses out?

5) Definatley cant be club involved have to stay independent.

Saying that from a distance it looks like you guys are doing some good things like organizing bus trips to away games

Think thats it for now

Nevan_

Having DragonArmy merch such as Scarves, T-Shirts and Flags will eliminate the need for fees.