Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons chase Jarryd Hayne

Coffs dragon

Kurt Mann has been screwed by Mary in trying to be Mr Jack of all Trades & yet master of none. In his case, versatility can be worthy to a team but also a weakness in establishing an individuals NRL career. He never seems to complain or rock the boat....surely a real team player.
As for Hayne, he's all about himself and f.ck the team!

Crush

Mann played in every game last year, was given the starting 5/8 role when Widdop was injured, had the privilege to start at 5/8 in a do or die semi final and failed... never impressed in his other games either and proved that he is an average first grader at the very best.

Yet for some reason all I hear about is how people can’t understand why he hasn’t asked for a realese and how bad the clubs treated him....

I’m lost
To explain it for you.
Those that defend and support kurt mann on this forum have very strong negative views of the coach. They feel that Kurt should have been given a fair go at a starting position such as fullback, centre or wing. But because Mary never gave him that starting spot he became a forum favourite. Like he was being picked on by the one they can't stand so they defend him regardless of his shortcomings. They will bring up him being top try scorer in 2017 at every turn. The same people will say however that Duftys 13 tries this season mean nothing because he can't defend or catch.
For me, Mann looked to be a decent winger and a pretty good utility. Not much more than that though. He was given plenty of opportunities this year through injury and never really lived up to the forum hype did he? But that's not Kurt's fault, its Mary's fault Kurt didn't play well. Its always Mary's fault.

BLM01

The thing that bothers me about Hayne coming here is that we are being treated as his absolute last resort . Fiji rugby has put a line through him , French Rugby has said he would only be used as a replacement now that there season has started , Aust / Nz rugby are not interested .
He has stated he wants to stay at Parra and is clearly stretching it out as long as possible for them to off load a player to keep him . No other NRL club seems to have any genuine interest .
It seems to say more about us than him what we have become .
If we are to make a play for him I would like Millward to come out and put a deadline on it and stick to it . If he signs all well and good . If he doesn't we need move on and chase a genuine replacement for McDonald . The equal or better should be the mission .
As CalmOne said...Hayne is not coming here despite what the journos say. He told the Dragons..while you have Mary at the club..I wont be..or simply he said nah. See you Jarryd enjoy....your next endeavour

barry

To explain it for you.
Those that defend and support kurt mann on this forum have very strong negative views of the coach. They feel that Kurt should have been given a fair go at a starting position such as fullback, centre or wing. But because Mary never gave him that starting spot he became a forum favourite. Like he was being picked on by the one they can't stand so they defend him regardless of his shortcomings. They will bring up him being top try scorer in 2017 at every turn. The same people will say however that Duftys 13 tries this season mean nothing because he can't defend or catch.
For me, Mann looked to be a decent winger and a pretty good utility. Not much more than that though. He was given plenty of opportunities this year through injury and never really lived up to the forum hype did he? But that's not Kurt's fault, its Mary's fault Kurt didn't play well. Its always Mary's fault.

Could not agree more.

I also love how people here are calling for Lafai to be axed and Mann start at centre.... thats a special .. its like our own supporters dont want us to score tries ?

cant keep em all.....bottom line is Hayne is a far better player than Mann

its an upgrade by heaps

think about it, a lot of points in this backline and pretty good defence too Id say, Pearson might eventually become an upgrade on Nene also if given a few games

Dufty
Pearson
Lomax/ Aitken/Lafia
Hayne
Periera/ Lomax
Widdop
Hunt

I am absolutely sure that at this stage in Dufty's career, SGI are buying a fullback in Hayne.

Frank Facer

I love how many people have turned on Dufty due to his defence or laziness or asking price. Because, y’know, Hayne is such an affordable, defensive workhorse :rolling_eyes:
Mate, I am one of Dufty's biggest fans and want us to keep him for at least another year or 2 to see how his game develops, but when he dogged the tackle or tackle's against Canterbury, I couldn't defend him. I am certainly not saying that Hayne is our fullback solution either. I still hold hopes for Dufty and I certainly wouldn't want to see him killing for another club. His lack of size is always going to be an issue.

As I have said numerous times, I would play Hayne centre if we signed him and he could play fullback, is Dufty is going well enough.

nrlnrl

Anyway as the Calm One says..Hayne wont be coming to the Dragons. I'll have a $2 bet on that.
Yep, I'll put $3 on it! As much as I'd like to see him join the Dragons, I'm with you - reckon it's not happening, mentioned it in another thread about a month ago. (happy to be proved wrong though)

goggles

To explain it for you.

You've certainly made a lot of assumptions about "Those that defend and support kurt mann on this forum"!

Yes, and as per usual, the assumptions are poorly conceived.

For instance, I think Kurt Mann is a good first grader. Solid defender. Good positional play. Would make a good winger. Reasonably fast. As a centre he is very similar to Lafai. Better positionally than Aitken. Has the odd mistake in him at critical moments.

Was he better than Flo last year? Yes.

Was he better than McDonald last year? No.

Was he better than Pereira last year? That is a tough question. I am not sure.

As for Dufty I am on record as saying he is an attacking weapon and will improve his deficiencies if given the chance.

Is Hayne the Messiah?

Depends which Hayne turns up.

All I know is that I wouldn't pay Hayne $700,000 per season to find out.

$500,000 per season for up to two seasons, yes.

Chasing a wanker that sees our club as his last resort leaves a bitter taste in my mouth.

To explain it for you.
You say Mann had plenty of opportunity to excel and put a claim in for selection well what position was he continually selected in to excel at?
He came as a FB and had 2 games in total so do you really think that is fair in light of Mc Crone, Lafai, Aitken’ continual selection despite poor form?
The notion that Kurt didn’t play well whilst selected out of position is all on his shoulders and not the coach’s is simply ridiculous.
FB or left centre is his stock & trade so tell me how many times he was selected in the run on side for 1st grade in either of those positions.
The supposition that Mann is a poor quality option because he didn’t excel as a stop gap everything from 1- 11 is just crazy as he was never given his opportunity due to pig headed and obstinate behaviour by the coach.
When given a home on the wing in 2017 he did adjust and did excel so why should that be discounted?