Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons Coach 2021 and Beyond

Who do you want to see as Dragons coach?

Mjab

Can anyone recall in the past say 10 years of a coach being employed initially on a one year deal?

Not a "take-over" coach after a sacking mid season. A new coach.

Even 20 years will do.
Fair point

maybe not in NRL I will accept that
but I’m sure lower level eg CC are not uncommonly on 1 year deals or even some assistants

My soccer mate would take an A league top job for 1 year just to get another shot
He’s currently on on a year to year contract with Soccer Australia junior Australian teams

What scares me is that the rumour I am hearing is that Saints will appoint someone in the next week or 2 on a 3 YEAR deal? Why 3 years? Looks like they have not learnt a thing. 2 years is ample. If anything I would go for 1 year and wait for 2022 has Flanno, Bennett, Bellamy, Fitzgibbon etc coming off contract. Wait for them. If the coach goes well in 2021 and gets Saints top 4 then give them extension.

They better at least put in performance criteria for each year.
If it’s Wane, the term could make sense.

getsmarty

huntb-200717_gt_099.jpg

DRAGONS

Hunt sets sights on Origin as he celebrates 250-game milestone
Author
Brad Walter NRL.com Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Tue 1 Sep 2020, 07:01 PM
walterbrad-head.png

Ben Hunt still prefers to play halfback but the St George Illawarra star is proud to be considered good enough in another position to earn selection for Queensland and Australia.

It's an achievement few other playmakers can claim.

Like Andrew Johns early in his career, Hunt has played most of his representative career at hooker and as he prepares for his 250th NRL appearance this weekend the Dragons playmaker admitted he was glad his versatility had been rewarded at the highest level.

"I am just proud that I have been able to represent Queensland," Hunt said. "That was always a massive goal or dream of mine as a kid and obviously to have done it in a couple of positions is pretty special as well.

"I'd like to keep doing it at halfback if I can, that is my ideal spot but at the same time I am happy to play anywhere."

With the Dragons out of finals reckoning, Hunt is hoping to convince the Maroons selectors over the remaining four weeks of the regular season to remain loyal to him after playing all three Origins last year at hooker.

huntb-190605702-sd.jpg

Maroons hooker Ben Hunt. :copyright:Scott Davis/NRL Photos
Sydney Roosters veteran Jake Friend and Parramatta's Reed Mahoney are likely to be Hunt's main rivals for the Queensland No.9 jersey unless Melbourne captain Cameron Smith decides to come out of representative retirement for the series.

"It's definitely something in the back of my mind now," Hunt said.

"I've had a bit of a think about that over the last week and I've got to keep playing some good footy over the back end of the year because it's probably going to be a bit harder for players who aren't in the finals to get into those sides.

"I'm just going to put my head down and do the best I can for the Dragons and that should be enough."

After debuting with Brisbane in 2009, 30-year-old Hunt is one of the youngest players to achieve the 250-game milestone and he believes his best football is still ahead of him.

With four more years remaining on his contract with St George Illawarra, he is aiming to celebrate his 350th appearance at the club.

"It's been an up-and-down sort of career, I guess," Hunt said. "I've enjoyed some great times throughout it, there's been some lows in it as well but overall I feel pretty lucky to play the game for so long.

"The body's still traveling pretty well, I've been lucky with injuries. I think there's still some really good footy ahead of me so hopefully I can play some of that and get up around 350.

"That's definitely the goal, there's no thoughts of wanting to leave or go anywhere else. I'm just looking forward to getting a new coach and getting stuck in next year."

St George Illawarra officials are set to interview Dean Young, Anthony Griffin and David Furner on Thursday before making a decision on the club's next coach.

Furner, who coached Canberra and has been an assistant at the Cowboys, Rabbitohs and Knights, was so highly regarded at South Sydney that the club only turned to Wayne Bennett after Anthony Seibold left for Brisbane because Furner already had a job with Leeds.

Hunt said he had been impressed with Young, who was appointed interim coach after Paul McGregor's departure three weeks ago, while he was coached by Griffin at the Broncos.

"I enjoyed playing under Anthony Griffin, I had him at the Broncos for a few years and in the under-20s as well," Hunt said. "I really enjoyed being coached by him so if he is the coach here I'd be pretty happy with that.

"I've also really enjoyed having Deano as assistant coach the few years I've been here. The few weeks he's had here with us he's really tried to put his stamp on and do things the way he wants to do it.

"I think that's been really good from Deano and, even though we lost on the weekend, he's had a fair response from us the last couple of weeks."

Second-rower Jacob Host will also celebrate his 50th NRL appearance against North Queensland on Sunday and the off-contract forward admitted he was playing for his future.

"I feel especially the last couple of weeks I have been playing some of the best football of my career but the challenge is to string those performances together over a long period," Host said.

"I have got to try and end the year well and end it on a high so that I can put my case forward for next year. I am playing for a deal pretty much."

https://www.nrl.com/news/2020/09/01/hunt-sets-sights-on-origin-as-he-celebrates-250-game-milestone/

redVinme

huntb-200717_gt_099.jpg

DRAGONS

Hunt sets sights on Origin as he celebrates 250-game milestone
Author
Brad Walter NRL.com Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Tue 1 Sep 2020, 07:01 PM
walterbrad-head.png

Ben Hunt still prefers to play halfback but the St George Illawarra star is proud to be considered good enough in another position to earn selection for Queensland and Australia.

It's an achievement few other playmakers can claim.

Like Andrew Johns early in his career, Hunt has played most of his representative career at hooker and as he prepares for his 250th NRL appearance this weekend the Dragons playmaker admitted he was glad his versatility had been rewarded at the highest level.

"I am just proud that I have been able to represent Queensland," Hunt said. "That was always a massive goal or dream of mine as a kid and obviously to have done it in a couple of positions is pretty special as well.

"I'd like to keep doing it at halfback if I can, that is my ideal spot but at the same time I am happy to play anywhere."

With the Dragons out of finals reckoning, Hunt is hoping to convince the Maroons selectors over the remaining four weeks of the regular season to remain loyal to him after playing all three Origins last year at hooker.

huntb-190605702-sd.jpg

Maroons hooker Ben Hunt. :copyright:Scott Davis/NRL Photos
Sydney Roosters veteran Jake Friend and Parramatta's Reed Mahoney are likely to be Hunt's main rivals for the Queensland No.9 jersey unless Melbourne captain Cameron Smith decides to come out of representative retirement for the series.

"It's definitely something in the back of my mind now," Hunt said.

"I've had a bit of a think about that over the last week and I've got to keep playing some good footy over the back end of the year because it's probably going to be a bit harder for players who aren't in the finals to get into those sides.

"I'm just going to put my head down and do the best I can for the Dragons and that should be enough."

After debuting with Brisbane in 2009, 30-year-old Hunt is one of the youngest players to achieve the 250-game milestone and he believes his best football is still ahead of him.

With four more years remaining on his contract with St George Illawarra, he is aiming to celebrate his 350th appearance at the club.

"It's been an up-and-down sort of career, I guess," Hunt said. "I've enjoyed some great times throughout it, there's been some lows in it as well but overall I feel pretty lucky to play the game for so long.

"The body's still traveling pretty well, I've been lucky with injuries. I think there's still some really good footy ahead of me so hopefully I can play some of that and get up around 350.

"That's definitely the goal, there's no thoughts of wanting to leave or go anywhere else. I'm just looking forward to getting a new coach and getting stuck in next year."

St George Illawarra officials are set to interview Dean Young, Anthony Griffin and David Furner on Thursday before making a decision on the club's next coach.

Furner, who coached Canberra and has been an assistant at the Cowboys, Rabbitohs and Knights, was so highly regarded at South Sydney that the club only turned to Wayne Bennett after Anthony Seibold left for Brisbane because Furner already had a job with Leeds.

Hunt said he had been impressed with Young, who was appointed interim coach after Paul McGregor's departure three weeks ago, while he was coached by Griffin at the Broncos.

"I enjoyed playing under Anthony Griffin, I had him at the Broncos for a few years and in the under-20s as well," Hunt said. "I really enjoyed being coached by him so if he is the coach here I'd be pretty happy with that.

"I've also really enjoyed having Deano as assistant coach the few years I've been here. The few weeks he's had here with us he's really tried to put his stamp on and do things the way he wants to do it.

"I think that's been really good from Deano and, even though we lost on the weekend, he's had a fair response from us the last couple of weeks."

Second-rower Jacob Host will also celebrate his 50th NRL appearance against North Queensland on Sunday and the off-contract forward admitted he was playing for his future.

"I feel especially the last couple of weeks I have been playing some of the best football of my career but the challenge is to string those performances together over a long period," Host said.

"I have got to try and end the year well and end it on a high so that I can put my case forward for next year. I am playing for a deal pretty much."

https://www.nrl.com/news/2020/09/01/hunt-sets-sights-on-origin-as-he-celebrates-250-game-milestone/

Don't forget to bold this gem too!

With four more years remaining on his contract with St George Illawarra, he is aiming to celebrate his 350th appearance at the club

redVinme

So do I just tune out until 2026?

That's my plan!

Though truthfully I think the wanting to play half back will come to a head soon enough especially if the incoming coach sees him as a hooker.

We can only hope he spits the dummy and wants out eventually. Though that fat pay cheque won't cash at any other club.

That's my plan!

Though truthfully I think the wanting to play half back will come to a head soon enough especially if the incoming coach sees him as a hooker.

We can only hope he spits the dummy and wants out eventually. Though that fat pay cheque won't cash at any other club.
A 30 year old shell shock with 4 years to go wow what a deal that is for the future.

Dragsters

That hack Brent Read at it again on 360, doing his best to death ride the Dragons into the ground at every opportunity.

Today he's pushing Youngs barrow saying he'd be "very surprised if Young didn't get the job."

Then he went on to suggest that Young should consider bringing Griffin onto his coaching staff as an assistant!

Really?

This bloke is a joke.

Having said that I reckon the likeliest outcome is Griffin as head, with Young as assistant and while I still believe Wane would be the best option, it seems the board have some kind of issue seeing what the majority of us see as the right way to go...

Mjab

Yes mate I hear you , but regardless of how one looks at Flanagans situation it is one of his own doing . He made his bed , so he has no option but to lie in it .

The sad thing is of course , is that the man would had been the best solution to the Dragons problem .

He will prob do a 1 year assistant gig again

on reflection though I’m not convinced we got that much out of Flanno

I think Dufty improved in attack a bit
I think wingers improved a bit

we are a fraction higher ladder but not much

he may not have been allowed much say control or input who knows but certainly not an outstanding result having him added , but we had the peanut

Mjab

That's my plan!

I’m not sure what is going to end up happening here

hunt wants to play 7
McInnes wants 9

sure hunt can do a few games a year at hooker like SOO or SOO 14 but I can’t see Hunt physically being able to do 80 mins week in week out hooker

hunts passing last week was shit a hell of a lot , not helpful trying to build some attacking momentum

I’ve heard rumours that McInnes wants 9 back or wants to look elsewhere
I’m sure he doesn’t want to do 13 long term

redVinme

hunt wants to play 7
McInnes wants 9

sure hunt can do a few games a year at hooker like SOO or SOO 14 but I can’t see Hunt physically being able to do 80 mins week in week out hooker

hunts passing last week was shit a hell of a lot , not helpful trying to build some attacking momentum

If it means keeping cam I'd rather him at 9. Surely we can bring in a specialist coach to help him work on some stuff. Does a lot well but needs to take a few steps not plant when giving service so we can get a roll on.

Inisai Toga

M

hunt wants to play 7
McInnes wants 9

Maybe that’s the reason Young picked Brittain and see how he performs .? Not his fault he got knocked out last week.
He can always put Hunt back to seven next year in case Clunes not the answer long term . Personally, not sold on McInnes at 13; rather a bigger body at lock.

A 3 year deal has
He will prob do a 1 year assistant gig again

on reflection though I’m not convinced we got that much out of Flanno

I think Dufty improved in attack a bit
I think wingers improved a bit

we are a fraction higher ladder but not much

he may not have been allowed much say control or input who knows but certainly not an outstanding result having him added , but we had the peanut

Mate the Dragons were never going to get too much out of Flanagan due to the restrictions placed upon his return to the NRL purely and entirely as an assistant coach and nothing more than that .

However as you have mentioned there was a marked improvement by a number of our young bucks , namely Duffy , Lomax and the new Dragons pin-up boy - Hulk Ravawala .

The man , regardless of what club he may be at will be in exactly the same situation . The NRL ban will be enforced in his case , there was just too much bad publicity associated with his wrongdoing and it gave the game of rugby league a big black eye for quite some time , not to mention the lost revenue .

However although I have all but placed the mans head in the hangman’s noose , I will say that if unshackled by the ban he , IMO would be just the coach that would pull our beloved Dragons from the mud heap that has bogged the team down for the last 7 seasons .

matPORTS

If anyone is feeling underwhelmed with the coaching options available to us (particularly after reading the Andrew Webster article and the mere fact that their is no solid word on whether we are interviewing Shaun Wane)... go listen to the latest Red V Podcast.

Jack & Johnny actually made a fair point. If we are going to get ourselves out of the rut, unfortunately it's probably going to be a case of throwing the chequebook at Robinson or Bellamy. Contracts don't mean anything. Money talks.

Robbo - well, if he gets the three-peat at the Roosters maybe he might be open to breaking ranks?

Bellyache - well, the last of the golden children (C Smith) will be out at the end of the year. I know he's said he's not interested in coaching elsewhere, but again, money talks.

There is no doubt, the decision that lies ahead of Ryan Webb and the Board will have long lasting affects (be it positive or negative) on the club for years to come. They have got to get this right (but not sure they are capable of doing so).

Mjab

McInnes is a fantastic player and a great hooker.

He just does not have that kicking game out of dummy half - I wish he did ....
He puts in ,is great in defence ,reasonable service , plays 80 but I don’t think he adds enough in attack
He is probably so buggered from all tackling TBH
Maybe if JDB comes back in the middle it will ease his workload and he can work on attacking options

The Gordon family and WIN Entertainment proudly announce that Dean Young is auditioning for the lead role in that box office blockbuster "The Power Game aka Dragons Footy"

Producers are happy to announce that the rest of original cast and the original script have remained unaltered

I did suggest a few weeks back that the fact that Craig Young had trumpeted that he would be excusing himself from the appointment was perhaps an indication that there maybe some skulduggery afoot .