Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dugan rejects 3 year extension from Raiders

Fibroman

Won't it be a big surprise when he finishes up at the roosters...... all the marquee players in the world seem to fit under their cap for some reason. Bloody good accountants in Bondi I reckon.

Paullyboy

Just thought I'd add to what Gerg did when he completely dismantled Cogburns claims about the Roosters development by pointing out another one:

Rovelli - again do you really want to take credit for developing him?

Rovelli was player of the carnival at the Confraternity Shield for St Pats Mackay (I think that was his school) in 2000. He was contracted with the Cowboys at the time and is most certainly not a Roosters developed player.

No one said they were juniors, the words used were developed which is a fact. The roosters have an extremely small area of juniors to operate within which means they have to recruit players when they are young and develop them.

How is that fact? When you bring in someone who is already 19 or 20 they are developed. You just got Beetson to sign them from another club prior to them making their first grade debut.

Usually happens when you get clueless rimjobs like Gerg, Paullyboy and the like adding their ill informed 2c.

What have I said that's clueless? The only people who have been exposed in this thread are your fellow Rooster fans.

Coogee is in the Eastern Suburbs as is Randwick and Moore Park which means Braith Anasta, Craig Wing and countless others are actually Easts juniors and yet they are classified as Souths juniors, go figure and yet a town 100 or more kms away from Canberra is classified as a Canberra stronghold. In other words classified junior areas are a joke. If the system is ever going to be fair then all of the junior areas have to be redrawn otherwise it's totally unfair.

I've said it before and I'll say it again (because it was conveniently ignored by Rooster fans last time and I expect it will be again here) - if you are representing such a tiny population, with so few clubs, what purpose does your NRL club serve to the game of rugby league? Relocate out of the area, your team is clearly not necessary.

Every other club in the NRL could name a list twice as long of 'developed' players and juniors. I could name a list of Parra players off the top of my head twice as long who are still playing in the NRL. It's not the Roosters fault though, they have a very small catchment area which is well known. Yet it's still stupid for Cogburn Jr to accuse others of being naive in this case, when he's done the same thing.

You are missing the point. It was said that Easts don't develop players I was merely pointing out some of the players that Easts have indeed developed. Those players mentioned were just off the top of my head as I said there are many more.

gerg

You are missing the point. It was said that Easts don't develop players I was merely pointing out some of the players that Easts have indeed developed. Those players mentioned were just off the top of my head as I said there are many more.

Since when was buying players a year prior to them making their first grade debut development?

Chief_Chujo

Buying the best Matts and Ball players isn't development.

If you have no Junior areas then as Paullyboy said you should relocate.

Edit: Or campaign to get your stolen areas back. Why doesn't your club ever kick up a stink about this?

Paullyboy

Ah what a surprise from Cogburn telling someone they missed the point, yet completely ignoring my post

jack coburn

looking at the roosters team of players who i dont think played with other clubs,can someone tell me if any of these players played junior reps for other clubs before joining the roosters
Mini
aub x 2
frank paul
pae
friend
skd
cherrington
kennedy
jones
pearce
symmons

there is a few more on the site but i cant remember them playing this yr
by the way this topic has been done to death a 1000 times and it always ends in tears.check out all clubs and they all buy players.some clubs take in on the chin when they lose good youngsters,like parra with kelly and williams,others can't handle rejection like canberra is.All it comes down to is each player will go where they want,money isnt always the reason players leave clubs.

gerg

looking at the roosters team of players who i dont think played with other clubs,can someone tell me if any of these players played junior reps for other clubs before joining the roosters
Mini
aub x 2
frank paul
pae
friend
skd
cherrington
kennedy
jones
pearce
symmons

there is a few more on the site but i cant remember them playing this yr
by the way this topic has been done to death a 1000 times and it always ends in tears.check out all clubs and they all buy players.some clubs take in on the chin when they lose good youngsters,like parra with kelly and williams,others can't handle rejection like canberra is.All it comes down to is each player will go where they want,money isnt always the reason players leave clubs.

As I posted a few pages back. From the limited info I could find Mini's, Aub's, Paea's, and Symonds are local juniors. I wasn't certain of the other players but I listed what info I could find, which in all honesty probably didn't truly reflect whether the roosters developed them or not.

As for relocation re: Paullyboy I don't think its a good idea to ask or expect a foundation club to relocate.

As to your last paragraph its true to some degree - every club buys players, some develop them, some do either or both better than others. At the end of the day we have a fairly even competition with some great games and some crap but we all love the game.

NAS

It will all look like Dugan will sign with the roosters, then at the 11th hour, Russell Crowe will call him up, make him a HUGE offer, and give a captivating speech that will convince him to join souths.THEN Sheensy will call him with promises of the Australian fullback jersey and it'll be a done deal. AND THEN the cowboys will get Jonathan Thurston to call Dugan and tell him that he'd be a great fit to replace Matty Bowen, BUT THEN The panthers will get involved and give him the winnings from a row of pokies that they have at the big club out that way. BUT THEN, the dogs will weigh in by showing them how great they can protect him from his own indiscretions. BUT THEN, The warriors will make him a chief of some Maori tribe. But THEN! Paul Osbourne will tell him how much he'd like to see Haynsey back on the wing.

and so on and so on and so on......

In the end, he'll sign for Manly for a huge under the table over the salary cap deal, only to be tragically killed when he accidently gets in between Peter Peters and the last Donut at the press conference to celebrate his signing...........

You just never know in life....

mattyVOK

Just thought I'd add to what Gerg did when he completely dismantled Cogburns claims about the Roosters development by pointing out another one:

Rovelli was player of the carnival at the Confraternity Shield for St Pats Mackay (I think that was his school) in 2000. He was contracted with the Cowboys at the time and is most certainly not a Roosters developed player.

How is that fact? When you bring in someone who is already 19 or 20 they are developed. You just got Beetson to sign them from another club prior to them making their first grade debut.

What have I said that's clueless? The only people who have been exposed in this thread are your fellow Rooster fans.

I've said it before and I'll say it again (because it was conveniently ignored by Rooster fans last time and I expect it will be again here) - if you are representing such a tiny population, with so few clubs, what purpose does your NRL club serve to the game of rugby league? Relocate out of the area, your team is clearly not necessary.

Lol Paully Boy you make me laugh.

First of the roosters are a foundation club and serve a greater area then their allotted junior base indicates. You can’t tell me that Maroubra is not part of the eastern suburbs?

Secondly what purpose does your unprofessional club that may as well have “losers in perpetuity” as their slogan serve? You have this extremely large base to work with which covers more than the city your club is slated to represent yet you cannot hold on to a decent player. The reason for this is that your club is a bunch of losers who constantly accept mediocrity. I don’t care how successful they were in the late 80’s/early 90’s, my club has been in existence for over 100 years and have been successful at some point in nearly all of those decades yet your club has been in existence for 2 and a bit decades and can only claim to be successful for half that time.

How about you get off your high horse and except that this is now a professional sport and all players are up for grabs. Who cares where the players come from, seriously we are running a professional sport here and EVERY team buys quality players. If your crap club can’t hold onto Josh Dugan then that is your problem and he is open slather for every other club.

Lastly the raiders are just like every other club in respect to buying players. Their only test representative is David Shillington… oh hang on where did they buy him form again

mattyVOK

The fact that this topic has turned into a roosters bashing shows exactly why this competition is behind the other competitions in the world. The whole “my club develops these players whilst yours doesn’t” is so outdated and unprofessional it is not even funny any more. Look at any other successful competition in the world and tell me how many of them rely on juniors.

Take our own backyard for example, the AFL whether we like it or not is the best football competition in Australia which is a shame because I love my rugby league but it is fact. They have a draft where it does not matter where you are from you get drafted where you get drafted and that is the end of it and you get on with playing football. Of course they have feeder clubs but those players can be bought/traded as well.

Next example is the competition which averages the most fans per match, the NFL. Do you think they care for one second where their start players come from? The answer to that would be no, they have a draft just like the AFL.

My final example is the English premier league where buying/selling players is the cornerstone of a successful side NOT juniors. Granted the top 4 clubs have a monopoly in this comp which is not ideal but we have the salary cup to counter that in the NRL.

Everyone on this forum needs to get over the junior league debate and realise that the juniors of Australia as a whole should be seen as rugby league juniors rather than Parramatta juniors, Brisbane juniors, Canberra juniors etc. I will use the bulldogs as an example here (this is not a criticism of them in any way). They went from wooden spooners to 2nd place last year. How did they do this? By buying players. The cornerstone of their side at the moment is Kimmorley, Hannant, Morris, Ennis, Idris and Patten. One of those players is a bulldogs junior!

Take a look at the following list of players that were either bought or are not juniors

- Cowboys – Thurston, O’donnell, Bani, Webb, Rovelli, Manuokafoa, Southern, Mason
- Broncos – Winterstein, Wallace, Te’o, Sims, Setu
- Titans – Prince, Laffranchi, Bailey, Preston, Minichiello, Zillman
- Newcastle – Ciraldo, De Gois, Dureau, Taia
- Dragons – Soward, Weyman, Boyd, Costigan, Greenfield,
- Wests – Marshall, Cayless, Fifita, Galloway, Tuiaki, Tuquiri
- Penrith – Petero, Kingston, Puletua, Plum, Purtell, Walsh
- Parra – Mortimer, Poore, Fui Fui, Shackleton, Mateo, Reddy, Cayless
- Souths – Taylor, Asotasi, Taylor, Pettybourne, Luke, Wesser, Best, Crocker, Talanoa,
- Bulldogs – Ennis, Kimmorley, Morris, Hannant, Patten
- Warriors – Price, Tate, Henderson, McKinnon, Moon, Lillyman, Luck, Maloney
- Melbourne – Do I really need to name any players here?
- Cronulla – Smith, Tupou, Morris, Barrett, Cuthbertson
- Canberra – Shillington, Galea, Leoroyd-Lahrs,
- Manly – Foran, Gulavao, Hopoate, Kite, Stewart brothers, Perry, Matai, Lyon

Now that list was done with minimal effort (I am sure many more players than that would make the list) and I am not whinging about the teams buying players, I am merely pointing out that it is widespread. I recognise that some of those players have been at their clubs a number of years and/or were developed at those clubs but that isn’t good enough for omission from this list for some of the people on this forum. I left out the roosters on purpose as I was trying to make the point that all the other clubs do the same thing.

Paullyboy

Lol Paully Boy you make me laugh.

First of the roosters are a foundation club and serve a greater area then their allotted junior base indicates. You can’t tell me that Maroubra is not part of the eastern suburbs?

Actually I can tell you that Maroubra is not part of the eastern suburbs, it's well and truely South Sydney territory. I live in Coogee and can also tell you that it has more Rabbit fans than Roosters. The Roosters territory effectively stops at Clovelly Rd.

Secondly what purpose does your unprofessional club that may as well have “losers in perpetuity” as their slogan serve? You have this extremely large base to work with which covers more than the city your club is slated to represent yet you cannot hold on to a decent player. The reason for this is that your club is a bunch of losers who constantly accept mediocrity. I don’t care how successful they were in the late 80’s/early 90’s, my club has been in existence for over 100 years and have been successful at some point in nearly all of those decades yet your club has been in existence for 2 and a bit decades and can only claim to be successful for half that time.

Losers in perpetuity? Hang on a second, is this the same club that has won triple the premierships in the last 30 years of your club? Do you realise that a try is worth 4 points now? Probably not based on your argument.

Your club has been 'successful' (I use that word losely considering you didn't win any premierships in the 80's or 90's) due to poaching players. Your club is essentialy the equivalent to Rugby Union - but then again, representing the Eastern Suburbs you probably all support Union anyway.

How about you get off your high horse and except that this is now a professional sport and all players are up for grabs. Who cares where the players come from, seriously we are running a professional sport here and EVERY team buys quality players. If your crap club can’t hold onto Josh Dugan then that is your problem and he is open slather for every other club.

I care where the players come from because I'm proud of my club. I don't expect you to grasp this concept.

Lastly the raiders are just like every other club in respect to buying players. Their only test representative is David Shillington… oh hang on where did they buy him form again

Shillington was a reserve when he signed with us, forced out of your club to help buy some more Bulldogs forwards. We turned him into a test front-rower.

And also, I think you'll find we also have Bronson Harrison playing for us tonight.

So essentially, you're entire post was one massive, massive fail. Thanks for playing (having said that, at least you didn't run away like your mate Cogburn has done)

franklin2323

He will re-sign over the off season. He and and Coote both wont go no where just want a year of NRL 1st and go from there