Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dugan rejects 3 year extension from Raiders

The Brain

:crazy: the pillow - One of only a few players that the Roosters bother to develop who they didn't want in the end. IIRC the Roosters signed half the Bulldogs forward pack relegating "the player the roosters actually developed" to a fringe bench player. Why wouldn't he go elsewhere.

No I was there He was wanted Canberra priced him out of our cap and off he went -its called Payback and you can put on your rumours section Dugan> roosters and have your glory day....lol
By the way where would you wanto live ? That Shiitehole Canberra or Bondi Beach-its a life style change plus teaming up with his buddy but my self as a fan-Im dissapointed because we have a super player in developement now called Hugie stanley.

edabomb

Don Furner is a bloody moron. If he was anymore up Gallops ass he would be poking out his mouth. The sh*t he went on with on the footy show last week and continued to go on with this week about not raising the cap. Quotes like "no matter what option we take it will cost the clubs money" what about relieving 3rd party agreements you moron, it isn't your money....

You think a club like canberra would be bang up for ideas like junior concessions, they would be in the top 8 every year.

He is so far off what a CEO should be it isn't funny now he will cry poor and bitch about why he can keep players like Dugan. Where if he supported an overhaul of the cap and things like junior concessions, he could keep Dugan but now the loss of him will cost more to the club than the extra money he complains the club would fork out. Players like Dugan keep the turnstiles moving.

You can't have it both ways you trackhead.

Canberra would never support 3rd party payments cos that'd be an extra $xxxxxx amount of dollars that other clubs had that they wouldn't be able to raise. Imagine the value of Sydney/Brisbane sides 3rd party deals compared to the Raiders and the Warriors.

I think it should be more like the NBA, where a players current team can offer them something like 20% more than a side signing them in free agency. How you achieve this without a structured pay system is the problem though.

The Brain

Canberra would never support 3rd party payments cos that'd be an extra $xxxxxx amount of dollars that other clubs had that they wouldn't be able to raise. Imagine the value of Sydney/Brisbane sides 3rd party deals compared to the Raiders and the Warriors.

I think it should be more like the NBA, where a players current team can offer them something like 20% more than a side signing them in free agency. How you achieve this without a structured pay system is the problem though.

LOL......in the nineties they were over by 500 grand plus and only copped fines the same laws now existed but the ARL didnt apply them to their full potential but money grabbing NRL has
They won two comps by been over the cap
These clubs make fun of the Chooks but in reality they are deflecting from what they are really doing.

Hush hush News has nothing to do with it eh!

edabomb

LOL......in the nineties they were over by 500 grand plus and only copped fines the same laws now existed but the ARL didnt apply them to their full potential but money grabbing NRL has
These clubs make fun of the Chooks but in reality they are deflecting from what they are really doing.

From what I understand the Raiders breaches were from rep bonuses they didn't account for. I've always heard they were fairly minor, I'm not sure where you pulled $500k + from. A source would be good.

I'm not making fun of the Rorters. Good on them if they sign Dugan. The reality is though that teams like Canberra are going to quit investing in developing juniors if they can never retain them, I personally don't think that is healthy for the NRL.

Chief_Chujo

bullsh*t.
We accidentally went over about $100k for rep payments in the first ever year of the salary cap.

Chief_Chujo

And LOL at this revised history re: Shillo.

You couldn't offer him sh*t cause you bought the Dogs pack, your fans referred to him as the pillow and were happy to see him go.
That's teh diffrence between the 2 clubs. We develop. That's why we could turn your "pillow" into a Roos prop within a season.

And LOL at this revised history re: Shillo.

You couldn't offer him sh*t cause you bought the Dogs pack, your fans referred to him as the pillow and were happy to see him go.
That's teh diffrence between the 2 clubs. We develop. That's why we could turn your "pillow" into a Roos prop within a season.

You are what is called a spin doctor.

Ulysseus

He has promise and balls.
I wouldn't mind seeing him in the red and white, BUT there really aint anywhere for him to go, he wont be replacing Darius and the other centre spot when Cooper retires will be probably taken by Morris #2 when he returns from the bulldogs.

In short, Dugan to Easts or Dogs.

Paullyboy

You are what is called a spin doctor.

How about you point out what he said that was incorrect. Or is it just Roosters fans who are allowed to make up unsubstantiated claims? 500k over :lol:, clown!

Another naive comment. The Roosters have developed heaps of players who have gone on to represent but have also gone to other clubs because they can. THE ROOSTERS DON'T OWN THEM. Crocker, the Miniciello brothers, Cross, Flannery, Kenny-Dowell, Jones, FPN, Tom Symonds, Jake Friend, Lopini Paea, Perret, The Aubusson brothers, watts, Rovelli, Kirk, Winterstein, Lam, Logan, Shillington, Cherrington, Fletcher, Ricketson etc, etc, etc. I could go on and on.

All I'm seeing is a list full of Queenslanders and New Zealanders, I'd be shocked if any of them had ever seen the eastern suburbs of Sydney before the age of 18. You are fair dinkum kidding if you are trying to claim them as being developed by the Roosters. Signing someone from another clubs junior age team before they play first grade doesn't mean you developed them.

skeepe

Obviously it will be absolutely devastating if Dugan leaves, for the club and fans, but we're all missing an important point here.

Josh Dugan is a human being. He is not some sort of footballing machine that automatically accepts the highest offer. Canberra is a great place to live, but for the young sometimes it's not enough. I certainly couldn't blame him if one of his overriding desires was to live in "the big smoke"... I love Canberra but I moved to Sydney for a few years and did my time, it's all a part of life.

If Dugan really wants to live in Sydney, for reasons outside football, there's really nothing anybody can do about that. If Dugan wants to live in Canberra, be near his family, again that's up to him.

I dearly hope that he stays. But I recognise that, no matter what the club does, if he really, really has his heart set on living in Sydney, which is one of the rumours doing the rounds, then there is nothing the club can do to keep him. He's one of those players who will be offered top dollar at whatever club he plays for, and I'm sure he knows that, so money won't necessarily be the overriding factor in his decision.

Obviously it will be absolutely devastating if Dugan leaves, for the club and fans, but we're all missing an important point here.

Josh Dugan is a human being. He is not some sort of footballing machine that automatically accepts the highest offer. Canberra is a great place to live, but for the young sometimes it's not enough. I certainly couldn't blame him if one of his overriding desires was to live in "the big smoke"... I love Canberra but I moved to Sydney for a few years and did my time, it's all a part of life.

If Dugan really wants to live in Sydney, for reasons outside football, there's really nothing anybody can do about that. If Dugan wants to live in Canberra, be near his family, again that's up to him.

I dearly hope that he stays. But I recognise that, no matter what the club does, if he really, really has his heart set on living in Sydney, which is one of the rumours doing the rounds, then there is nothing the club can do to keep him. He's one of those players who will be offered top dollar at whatever club he plays for, and I'm sure he knows that, so money won't necessarily be the overriding factor in his decision.

100% spot on
some members of our fan base would do well to accept this

Personally whilst not optimistic, i still hold hopes that in time, he'll realise this club is building toward something and he can be a big part in it, along with his mates, and he'll stay

its all very todd carney esque and although rumours had him going everywhere bar in canberra, we still got the job done and got him on the dotted line

I am hoping the same happens but im certain regardless the club will offer absolute premium dollar, but if he's got his heart set on sydney, then there is little we can do.

Wants to stay so much that he's rejecting huge money from Canberra

TBF, he's a rough chance to play SOO footy this year imo, he rejected the deal before being named for CvC, and who knows, with a 4 nations squad at the end of the year, Dugan is probably an injury to Slater or Hayne away from a spot on that tour if he keeps up his current form

in short, he'd be f**king insane to sign anything right now, because his value is only going to go up from this point.

PS i love a club's fan base using Shillington as an example of how poorly done by they are. For christ sakes, most you celebrated when he signed for us, your club signed a string of over the hill nuffies and put them infront of him in the pecking order, and all this from a team and a fan base who nicked named him the Pillow and bagged him every chance they got. Spare me the sob story, your club and your fans didnt want him, which could not be futher removed from the Dugan situation. I of course exclude Tommy Smith from this group, his post earlier summed up the situation perfectly.

All I'm seeing is a list full of Queenslanders and New Zealanders, I'd be shocked if any of them had ever seen the eastern suburbs of Sydney before the age of 18. You are fair dinkum kidding if you are trying to claim them as being developed by the Roosters. Signing someone from another clubs junior age team before they play first grade doesn't mean you developed them.

Which part of developed didn't you understand? Not as far fetched as you claiming someone from Goulburn as a Canberra junior.

Greenbits

They also class Coogee as a South Sydney Junior area. :roll:
How far is Goulburn from Canberra? 100kms?

I'm not quite sure exactly what those two points have to do with the current discussion. Goulburn is a Canberra juniors area. Their junior and senior clubs play in the Canberrra competition - how can that be any more clear? 100km in rural speak is SFA distance.

As for your point as to Coogee being a Sth Sydney junior area, I'm not sure what point you are trying to make. I don't know the reason for that, you may know, perhaps you neglected the area so it was removed from you. Regardless, what does it have to do with Todd and the Raiders? Are you suggesting he is a Sth Sydney junior now he is living in the eastern subrubs?