Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dykes will rejoin the Sharks.

carinashark said:
Excellent coverage for Kimmorly? Are u joking.I would have Kent , Bird , or Sullivan any day!I dont think I will renew my season tickets next year , seriously thats it for 2005 we wont figure in the top eight with Dykes. Very depressing.
Carinashark

Good luck to you.

Nuffs

i think more good memories

he will be kicking at least 50% less than what he used to

he will be outside kimmorley who will pass it to him more than campbell used to

his defence is pretty solid

adds an extra dimension to go to on last tackle plays etc.

time will only tell i guess

In-a-rage

carinashark said:
Excellent coverage for Kimmorly? Are u joking.I would have Kent , Bird , or Sullivan any day!I dont think I will renew my season tickets next year , seriously thats it for 2005 we wont figure in the top eight with Dykes. Very depressing.
Carinashark

neither of those 3 you have mentioned can provide what Dykes will to the sharks.

pogo

with the imminent return of dykes i believe the ground staff have now installed goal posts in front of both the peter burns and et stand!

sladden road

seriously...dykes and noody will kill it...i wonder if i can get a refund for the season ticket i bought last year and used once....the first game when that old hag in the et stand said at half time against the storm....'ITS OUR YEAR THIS YEAR".....f**k me if we didnt know that we were rooted then and there #-o

wittyfan

sladden road said:
seriously...dykes and noody will kill it...i wonder if i can get a refund for the season ticket i bought last year and used once....the first game when that old hag in the et stand said at half time against the storm....'ITS OUR YEAR THIS YEAR".....f**k me if we didnt know that we were rooted then and there #-o

Yikes! Yep, 2003 was pretty much over after that infamous first game. :(

shadowboxer

dykes deserves a fair go but so did my dog trying to learn to bring me my slippers. Pernoally i think hes had it - I just hope dykes proves the link to bringing cronulla its first premiership.

beekershark

I hope he signs today and goes bloody well next season...

But all this talk of him being the messiah is bloody unbelievable.

everyone here applauded when we finally saw the rear of him to brian smith, infact we laughed in the way a bloke who has just offloaded a leyland big boot model to the guy down the street !

He could not provide any semi final direction for us with guys outside to reap the benefits of good half play like.....Rogers, Peachey, Ettingshausen, Howland, Mellor etc so I'd be keen to know what everyone believes he is going too provide when 3 years older and with a far less talented backline outside him...????????

as for kicking game, we have a quarter mil signing on board this year who can't be arsed kcik chasing, so even if dykes kicks like joey johns it aint gunna win footy games with vagana loafing after them......

The ONE thing, and I say ONE thing that will be in favour of Adam dykes being an asset next season, and why I am prepared to at least give the experiement a chance, is BRett Kimmorley.

Dykes has always played outside solide, yet un-inspired halfbacks, where adam has had the weight of our attack on his shoulders.

I reckon with that playmaking pressure on noddys side of the field, dykesy may just slot it on the right plays and prove very valuable.

It just worries me.....with our current star half......that when we lose, it will be dykes fault, but every win, number 7 will be lining up to thank channel 9 for the ball cap and cheque......

Shark

Very insightful Beeks...

I think, more importantly than his playing structure around Noddy's game, is the relationship he strikes up with Stuart Raper.

Stu has already proven, in a very short time, that he can build up the natural strengths in a players game (ie, Sullivan's spark and inventive play) without unduly exposing his weaknesses (Sullivan's penchant for rash play, rushed kicks and pressure passes).

Basically, Stu doesn't seem to stifle natural play, which I think a bloke like Dykes will thrive off. What worries me, is that Kimmorley DOES sometimes stifle natural play, over-ruling calls of other playmakers. We saw this with Nick Graham - Having said that, Graham wasn't half the play maker that Dykes can potentially be.

What the future may bring? Probally plenty of good and bad memories

Probably right...inconsistant at the Sharks and Parra..

BUT when he's on fire he's a champion!!

I'm for having him back now after a bit of thought and reading some of these posts.

Go Dyksey!!

Booyah

I think, more importantly than his playing structure around Noddy's game, is the relationship he strikes up with Stuart Raper.
That's very true. Stu knows Dykes playing style better then Langy or Smith did, and he knows exactly how to utilize it.
He could not provide any semi final direction for us with guys outside to reap the benefits of good half play like.....Rogers, Peachey, Ettingshausen, Howland, Mellor etc
Not in First grade, no. He did it twice in the lower grades though, with Matty and Peach.

Tell me who their coach was when that happened please would you Beeks. ;-)

Think positive!

beekershark said:
everyone here applauded when we finally saw the rear of him to brian smith, infact we laughed in the way a bloke who has just offloaded a leyland big boot model to the guy down the street !

I didn't applaud when he left. I thought his performance to even get on the field in the Broncos semi final was a credit to him. And then he set up most of the tries with his short kicking game. He was great for the Sharks in 2001. He hasn't shown that sort of form since. No he's not the messiah, but he might be a solid experienced 5/8 who has previously flourished under John Lang and Stuart Raper.

imasharkie

Shark said:
Basically, Stu doesn't seem to stifle natural play, which I think a bloke like Dykes will thrive off. What worries me, is that Kimmorley DOES sometimes stifle natural play, over-ruling calls of other playmakers. We saw this with Nick Graham - Having said that, Graham wasn't half the play maker that Dykes can potentially be.

The thing here is Ando's not the coach anymore, so I would imagine Noddy has to toe the line to what the coach(raper) wants with a secound play maker around.
Anyway we desperatly need a decent 5/8 and providing he stays fit, Dykes will provide that and hopefully a premi along with it.
I want him back in the sharks colours, I was bitterly disappointed he left in the first place.

Cometshark

Yeah I think that was more Andersons Halfback, Two props and gravy. Besides we didnt have another playmaker of dykes' ability like you said.

I'd like to see him back aswell, I was also disappointed he left I think he was probably the glue holding our 2001 one team together.

ali

The big question with Dykes is whether he stays injury free. In 2001 he was sensational. In the years leading up to 2001, he was very unpopular. I still think he's very much an individual, and his long term future probably will be back up hooker to Sully. He will start at 5/8 next year, but I'd be willing to bet he wont be our permanent 5/8 by the time he starts the 3rd year of his contract.