Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Early tip: Sandow won't see out his contract

Someone has to call/decide which side has the numbers, unless you have 13 mindreaders on the field. This player, or multiple players are still the organiser.

No he's just a decision maker, and it's probably better off being the dummy half.

The player you describe as Taylor could also be seen in players like as a Trent Hodkinson, Luke Walsh, Jeff Robson, even to a certain extent Mitchell Pearce and Cooper Cronk.

How do you know it's these guys and not others? It looks like you've just named all the halfbacks with average running games.

Is that how you judge an organising halfback? One who doesn't take the line on?

Funny that they are all half-backs in top 8 teams and up until last week we have had a rodeo clown running the show and are stone motherless F%^&ing last.

Do you think we have trouble scoring points because we're disorganised?

If so, how would you feel about a team that scored more points than every other team over a three year period? Would you say that team must have been pretty organised in attack?

i don't know why anyone even tries to have a logical argument with pou .... it makes no difference if what you say is right/wrong or has any merit - it'll always get thrown back at you :lol:

EelsFan05

So assuming you do need an organiser, you reckon it doesn't have to be the 7?

Therefore Sandow's only problem is his defence.

You don't think he adds anything? He has among the best kicking and running games in the NRL.

Hence why he played 100 first grade games before the age of 24.

It will all play out in time I suppose. I'll dig this thread up in 3-4 years time so I can tell you you were wrong then.

Chipmunk

No he's just a decision maker, and it's probably better off being the dummy half.

How do you know it's these guys and not others? It looks like you've just named all the halfbacks with average running games.

Is that how you judge an organising halfback? One who doesn't take the line on?

Do you think we have trouble scoring points because we're disorganised?

If so, how would you feel about a team that scored more points than every other team over a three year period? Would you say that team must have been pretty organised in attack?

The players I mentioned I compared to the skills you were talking about that Taylor had.

Perhaps Parramatta currently doesnt have one organiser player in the club and this contributes to the way we play each week, so yes, part of the reason we cannot score points is because we are disorganised and have no player in the 6, 7 or 9 who can make effective organised decisions.

How do you know that Isaac Luke is not the most naturally gifted organiser in the game and this compensated for Sandow's lack of organisation. After all, you say that you cannot see organistion.

How do you know that John Sutton wasnt a natural organiser and did this part of the game for Sandow instead? After all, you say that you cannot see organistion.

My argument is not about Sandows ability, it is him not fitting into the current team. Until we find an organiser we are dead in the water.

Because Jeff Robson isnt partnering Carney to stand around and not direct troops around. That is why players with little flair are playing so much first grade pou, they dont have the natural talent so much as they have the brains and composure.

Actually, Robson is one of the best defensive halfbacks in the game. He can kick, pass and tackle, which is why he plays first grade.

But how can you say Robson is organising when Carney generally touches the ball 50% more often than him? Is Robson just standing around gobbing off? Maybe he's just there to tell the dummy half "Pass it to Carney, pass it to Carney!"

Why can't Carney decide he wants the ball instead of Robson? Surely he can tell the dummy half himself.

And who is Robson organising? Why don't the other players know what they should be doing that they need some merkin out there telling them?

It isnt rocket science. You need atleast one, in most cases both halves to direct and organize other players on the field. Without that leadership on the field, you get a disaster. That is what makes them playmakers and not just ball runners.

Actually mate, a playmaker is someone who creates tries or linebreaks. An organiser is something different. Robson is hardly a quality playmaker, whereas Sandow is.

It is much harder however to tell if they are poor organizers or not, as compared to whether they are or not. maybe that should be your line of attack, unless you have already tried and butchered that avenue?

I agree it would be hard to tell, hence why I'm asking you to explain how you know who's an organiser and who isn't.

Maroubra Eel

i don't know why anyone even tries to have a logical argument with pou .... it makes no difference if what you say is right/wrong or has any merit - it'll always get thrown back at you :lol:

It's pointless. I'd really like to punch him in the head.

EelsFan05

It's pointless. I'd really like to punch him in the head.

He will be at the Manly game. Shouldn't be hard to find. Look for the bloke sitting by himself because people are clambering to change seats to get away from him.

It will all play out in time I suppose. I'll dig this thread up in 3-4 years time so I can tell you you were wrong then.

Just like Mortimer, Sandow has had more success at other clubs. Just because someone sucks at the Eels doesn't mean he's no good.

Someone

Actually mate, a playmaker is someone who creates tries or linebreaks. An organiser is something different. Robson is hardly a quality playmaker, whereas Sandow is.

I agree it would be hard to tell, hence why I'm asking you to explain how you know who's an organiser and who isn't.

A playmaker, either/both a 5/8 or halfback, plans, sets up and carries out certain plays on the field. This could be as as simple as yelling out 'Alpha India' and playing an inside ball back inside to fifita close to the line. Every player would train these little plays at training, but the playmaker has to decide when to use it.

These little things are what make them organizers. Like i said, every playmaker is an organiser, because like the name SUGGESTS, they are play-makers (creators of play, makers of movement, what more do you need). Most halfs, to a extent, are organizers. they have to know when to kick, when to pass, when to spread it etc.

Some are good at it, some aren't. Its as simple as that.

However, that is just my view. Im sure you will reply with your point of view, and question me how could i possibly know who the organizers are on the footy field.

Someone

by your definition of a playmaker, a good centre like Hodges or Lyon are playmakers because they create trys and linebreaks.

They are just very good ball runners.

The players I mentioned I compared to the skills you were talking about that Taylor had.

Perhaps Parramatta currently doesnt have one organiser player in the club and this contributes to the way we play each week, so yes, part of the reason we cannot score points is because we are disorganised and have no player in the 6, 7 or 9 who can make effective organised decisions.

It's possible.

How do you know that Isaac Luke is not the most naturally gifted organiser in the game and this compensated for Sandow's lack of organisation. After all, you say that you cannot see organistion.

Well you're the one who reckons you can, so tell us. Is Isaac Luke a good organiser?

How do you know that John Sutton wasnt a natural organiser and did this part of the game for Sandow instead? After all, you say that you cannot see organistion.

Yeah that's right I can't. So why don't you tell us?

My argument is not about Sandows ability, it is him not fitting into the current team. Until we find an organiser we are dead in the water.

So why is Sandow the one who doesn't fit? Surely none of them do if they're not organisers.

Whether Sandow is here next year or not you can guarantee we will be paying for him. In that case he should stay. Therefore we should have replaced any of the the spine players off contract with someone who can organise. Maybe that's Norman, maybe it's Peats.

Or maybe it doesn't matter. But do you reckon Sticky gave it some thought? He was an organiser himself, after all.

Joey Johns... still thinks the game is played like it was 10 years ago.

Sandow was picked at halfback by Jason Taylor - a bloke who himself was a noted organiser. Taylor was well aware that the game doesn't need organisers the way it used to.

Seems Joey is stuck in a drug-induced haze where it's 2001 and he's still the king of rugby league.

Bollocks. Joey is well and truly up to date with how the game is played and has become a good commentator in my opinion.

A playmaker, either/both a 5/8 or halfback, plans, sets up and carries out certain plays on the field. This could be as as simple as yelling out 'Alpha India' and playing an inside ball back inside to fifita close to the line. Every player would train these little plays at training, but the playmaker has to decide when to use it.

These little things are what make them organizers. Like i said, every playmaker is an organiser, because like the name SUGGESTS, they are play-makers (creators of play, makers of movement, what more do you need). Most halfs, to a extent, are organizers. they have to know when to kick, when to pass, when to spread it etc.

Some are good at it, some aren't. Its as simple as that.

However, that is just my view. Im sure you will reply with your point of view, and question me how could i possibly know who the organizers are on the footy field.

Thanks for your description of what an organiser does. I actually played in the halves myself, and that part of the game is easy to learn. The only hard bit is to have the balls to keep talking if you're not playing well (which happened to me fairly often).

My question to you is how you know which players in the NRL are the organisers, given you're not on the field and can't hear what they're saying.

4th on th ladder is such an under achievement.

So its all about winning now is it? I'm sure its was you who said the other day that a team can't be measured on wins and losses. "You can't have it both ways" Pou.

Well said.

You only have to listen to the way Foran and DCE talk about Joey. You can tell they respect his opinion and don't feel like they are going backwards.

Just look at DCE now in the QLD Origin side and Foran is very consistent for Manly. They are the brightest young halves going around and only getting better. Only someone desperately trying to prove a point would begrudge Johns' role in helping them.

Someone

Thanks for your description of what an organiser does. I actually played in the halves myself, and that part of the game is easy to learn. The only hard bit is to have the balls to keep talking if you're not playing well (which happened to me fairly often).

My question to you is how you know which players in the NRL are the organisers, given you're not on the field and can't hear what they're saying.

Joe Williams, is that you?

Ive actually already said, most, if not all, of the halfs in the game are organizers to an extent. Some are just the dominate 'playmaker' in the partnership. And some are just very poor decision makers, and dont execute well under pressure.

Chipmunk

It's possible.

Well you're the one who reckons you can, so tell us. Is Isaac Luke a good organiser?

Yeah that's right I can't. So why don't you tell us?

So why is Sandow the one who doesn't fit? Surely none of them do if they're not organisers.

Whether Sandow is here next year or not you can guarantee we will be paying for him. In that case he should stay. Therefore we should have replaced any of the the spine players off contract with someone who can organise. Maybe that's Norman, maybe it's Peats.

Or maybe it doesn't matter. But do you reckon Sticky gave it some thought? He was an organiser himself, after all.

Ive got no idea if Luke and Sutton can organise. I dont really care. I was just suggesting it was possible.

Perhaps Sticky has given it some thought and decided Sandow cannot organise and he needs an organiser. He couldve dumped Sandow to Wenty anytime in the last two months on his performances, he didnt really elaborate on why he has done it now.

EelsFan05

Well said.

You only have to listen to the way Foran and DCE talk about Joey. You can tell they respect his opinion and don't feel like they are going backwards.

Just look at DCE now in the QLD Origin side and Foran is very consistent for Manly. They are the brightest young halves going around and only getting better. Only someone desperately trying to prove a point would begrudge Johns' role in helping them.

Gazza, if you ask Pou being named in the emerging Qld team and playing 100 games before you're whatever age is more impressive. DCE actually playing for Qld and Foran captaining his country is going backwards apparently.