Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Holden Cup Team and junior reps thread, Part II

One name suprisingly that was not in the squad was John Fomai. He is a absolute gun. Can anybody shed some light on his absence from the squad?

Hey mate. I know Fomai was on the bench for a lot of SG Ball games this year, so he might have been overlooked by the NYC recruiters.

Or he might have signed a big contract with another club through the year and so we've benched him.

Can you recognise most of the blokes in that photo? Who's the one between Alec Bush and Joey Lussick? Is that Hopa Edwards?

Jordy

I believe that's Hopa Edwards. Don't know much about him apart form the fact that he is from Keebra Park but he must go alright if the dragged him down from QLD. I do recognise most blokes in that picture. 2 that I see there that I know of that have not been named are Sione Tonga the shorter player standing next to Nathan Davis and its either Thomas Windeaat or Matthew Whitehouse but im not entirely sure. If its Whitehouse then they have chose very well there trust me

Jordy

Windeaat or Whitehouse is the one standing behind corey makelim pou. Unfortunate about fomai but sometimes sheer talent can only get you so far.

Obscene Assassin

I think we're in for a good year in the 20's next year, given our past in the competition.

We have a massive front-row that will see Pauli Pauli line-up in the second-row if he still plays NYC next year. Paula Kaufusi and Paea Pua look to be two good bookends who will get on top of most other packs, rotating with Tepai Tepu-Smith and Wayne Francis. Throw in the aggression of Tepai Moeroa out wide along with the skill of Pauli Pauli on the other side, with the talent of ZDC, Lussick leading our team and then speedy backs this will be our best side to come through yet.

There is also the unknown to play, Tui Kamicamica. He was okay in the few games he played last year but hopefully he's put on a bit more weight and grown in confidence to get his hands on the ball.

New photo gallery up: Under 20s Return to Training

Brady is still there (photo 10), Tepai Moeroa makes his first appearance after the schools rugby tour (photo 15). Raeili is in photo 8 and Sione Tonga is in photo 1.

Goodall and Tonga have profiles on the official site now, although Tonga's has since been removed: http://www.parraeels.com.au/nycplayerprofiles

Brady and Raeili still don't have player profiles.

Photo 9 looks like James Tuitahi, who is no longer eligible for NYC. I'm off to abuse the club on Twitter...

Maroubra Eel

Rip into them Poupou.

Do we have a digital media manager type person? If we do, I hope we aren't paying them much.

So 18 members of the squad turn 20 this year, four of them turn 18, and everyone else is born in '95. That means most of the squad are eligible again next year.

These are the ones who aren't:
Baissari
Brady
Daoud
Folau
Goodall
Grant
Green
Kamikamica
Latham
Lavaka
Makelim
Manuleleua
Matterson
Mauala
Newbigging
Pritchard
Tagilima
Windeatt

Plus Pauli and Tanginoa

Obscene Assassin

Interesting to see that French has been added to the squad, I think that he'll get a run later on in the season with the team but he should be playing fullback for all of the SG Ball season, it will be exciting to see how he goes.

For anyone interested, ball and Mathews are playing a trial on Friday arvo at Patrician brothers blacktown against the panthers...

Apparently Bevan French will be playing.

Can't believe he's only 18. He looks like a man playing against boys.

Actually, if he's 18 playing schoolboys footy then he is a man playing against boys. Some of the opposition must be 17 or younger.

But yeah, he looks the goods. I wish we could have seen more of him last year.

Would have been nice to see more of him last year but in saying that I hope we have kept him or in the process of keeping him for a couple more years. We will face some tough opposition in keeping him and probably as much from Union as other clubs. I have watched him for a few years an he has only gotten better.