Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels in the media

My comment was a thinly-veiled jab at Moses, tbh - do not rate.

But a centre pairing of Jennings and Gutherson would be great, imo.

My backline would be:

1. French
2. Hayne
3. Gutherson
4. Jennings
5. Ferguson

Not a popular opinion, but it's what I'd like to see.
I don't rate Moses much either. But I'd probably get rid of French too and get another fullback, assuming someone decent was available.

Parramatta Eels set to blood young gun Jaeman Salmon against Gold Coast Titans
Paul Crawley, NRL, The Daily Telegraph
August 2, 2018 5:09pm

THIS is about the best news Brad Arthur can deliver Parramatta fans after a season even the coach admits has been tougher to deal with than the salary cap scandal of 2016.

With mounting speculation Corey Norman won’t be at the Eels next year, a ray of hope has emerged in the form of rookie five-eighth Jaeman Salmon.

The 19-year-old, who Arthur likens to captain Clint Gutherson because of his work ethic and desire to be near the ball, will make his NRL debut off the bench on Saturday when the Eels tackle Gold Coast.

Norman on Friday revealed that Arthur had given him his blessing to a potential release from the final year of his contract if another opportunity presents itself.

“He said, ‘Look after Corey Norman’. So there you go,” Norman told Sky Sports’ Big Sports Breakfast.

“We’ve had a discussion and (Arthur) said, ‘Do what’s best for you.”

But so far several clubs have baulked at Norman because of his off-field history as well as the fact he’s on massive money next year, believed to be $900,000 plus.

Arthur maintains Norman has a deal in place if he wants to stay.

Asked if he expected Norman to be at the club next year, Arthur said: “I have got no idea.

“He has a contract.

“He obviously has to do what is best for Corey Norman and that is where it is at.”

As for Salmon, the clash against Gold Coast on Saturday is a chance to showcase his skills.

As far as the coach is concerned, the teenager not only has talent but a top-shelf attitude to go with it.

“In pre-season training he was outstanding,” Arthur said.

“He reminds me a bit of Gutho.

He will push himself in the fitness trying to keep up with Normy and Gutho and testing himself.

“The boys like him and he is a likeable character.”

Salmon joined the Eels last season from Cronulla while still wearing a neck brace after taking part in a schoolboy carnival unaware he had a broken neck.

Salmon copped an accidental knee while playing at the Australian Schoolboys trials that had the potential to end in tragedy.

After being initially told the damage was muscular, Salmon backed up the next day before severe headaches led to further X-rays that revealed he had two complete fractures in his C1 vertebra.

Asked if he was ready for NRL after 12 games this year in NSW Cup, Arthur said: “I think so. Physically he has handled (NSW Cup) no worries.

“He is 93-94kg and he is still growing.

“I reckon he might end up playing at 98kg.

“And the way he plays, he always pushes up.

“He is going to be someone that lives on the ball.”

Salmon’s arrival provides much needed hope for Eels fans after a year Arthur concedes has been harder to deal with than 2016.

The Eels go into Saturday’s game fighting to avoid the wooden spoon, sitting dead last on the ladder with only four wins from 15 games.

“Yes, of course (it has been tougher than 2016) because the results are not what we wanted,” Arthur said.

“We haven’t played the footy we wanted to.

“We just have to learn from it and be better.”

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/s...s/news-story/2bc8d4ea0b10c4ce1d384f08036eca43

Parramatta Eels set to blood young gun Jaeman Salmon against Gold Coast Titans
Paul Crawley, NRL, The Daily Telegraph
August 2, 2018 5:09pm

THIS is about the best news Brad Arthur can deliver Parramatta fans after a season even the coach admits has been tougher to deal with than the salary cap scandal of 2016.

With mounting speculation Corey Norman won’t be at the Eels next year, a ray of hope has emerged in the form of rookie five-eighth Jaeman Salmon.

The 19-year-old, who Arthur likens to captain Clint Gutherson because of his work ethic and desire to be near the ball, will make his NRL debut off the bench on Saturday when the Eels tackle Gold Coast.

Norman on Friday revealed that Arthur had given him his blessing to a potential release from the final year of his contract if another opportunity presents itself.

“He said, ‘Look after Corey Norman’. So there you go,” Norman told Sky Sports’ Big Sports Breakfast.

“We’ve had a discussion and (Arthur) said, ‘Do what’s best for you.”

But so far several clubs have baulked at Norman because of his off-field history as well as the fact he’s on massive money next year, believed to be $900,000 plus.

Arthur maintains Norman has a deal in place if he wants to stay.

Asked if he expected Norman to be at the club next year, Arthur said: “I have got no idea.

“He has a contract.

“He obviously has to do what is best for Corey Norman and that is where it is at.”

As for Salmon, the clash against Gold Coast on Saturday is a chance to showcase his skills.

As far as the coach is concerned, the teenager not only has talent but a top-shelf attitude to go with it.

“In pre-season training he was outstanding,” Arthur said.

“He reminds me a bit of Gutho.

He will push himself in the fitness trying to keep up with Normy and Gutho and testing himself.

“The boys like him and he is a likeable character.”

Salmon joined the Eels last season from Cronulla while still wearing a neck brace after taking part in a schoolboy carnival unaware he had a broken neck.

Salmon copped an accidental knee while playing at the Australian Schoolboys trials that had the potential to end in tragedy.

After being initially told the damage was muscular, Salmon backed up the next day before severe headaches led to further X-rays that revealed he had two complete fractures in his C1 vertebra.

Asked if he was ready for NRL after 12 games this year in NSW Cup, Arthur said: “I think so. Physically he has handled (NSW Cup) no worries.

“He is 93-94kg and he is still growing.

“I reckon he might end up playing at 98kg.

“And the way he plays, he always pushes up.

“He is going to be someone that lives on the ball.”

Salmon’s arrival provides much needed hope for Eels fans after a year Arthur concedes has been harder to deal with than 2016.

The Eels go into Saturday’s game fighting to avoid the wooden spoon, sitting dead last on the ladder with only four wins from 15 games.

“Yes, of course (it has been tougher than 2016) because the results are not what we wanted,” Arthur said.

“We haven’t played the footy we wanted to.

“We just have to learn from it and be better.”

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/s...s/news-story/2bc8d4ea0b10c4ce1d384f08036eca43

Brad, you've been saying that all year, and things have not changed...

What a frustrating season we have had.

T.S Quint

2 things I observed from that Dragons game...

Firstly, the try you mention that French scored, a great individual effort where he dummied a couple of times inside and out and ended up going on his own.... Since that moment, it's the only move he seems to do. I've seen him do that same inside outside show and go them run himself a dozen plus times I reckon. Needless to say it hasn't worked even a 2nd time..

Secondly, Semi's 4th try that day... Came off a scrum feed in their 20 over towards the Eastern touchline (Semi's side). We set up for a sweeping backline move and then the ball was turned back inside to a rampaging Semi who had come from the other wing to crash over.... A lovely play but I don't recall seeing us do for the rest of the 2017 season....

We seem to either completely overdo some things or go right away from things that work.... Seems to be a lack of variation or subtlety ...

Remember that awesome play last year when Moses would throw the no look inside pass for Smith to score.? Happened in the semi against the Storm, plus one other time. It worked twice from two attempts last season.
I haven't seen it attempted once this year.

Obscene Assassin

Remember that awesome play last year when Moses would throw the no look inside pass for Smith to score.? Happened in the semi against the Storm, plus one other time. It worked twice from two attempts last season.

Nah I remember us trying to do it when Will Smith was fullback, so I think it was the 1st souths game? We definitely attempted it once though and it didn't work out.

forward pass

I guarantee every side is watching Moses for that close to our line. Unlikely to ever work again.

Obscene Assassin

I guarantee every side is watching Moses for that close to our line. Unlikely to ever work again.

I reckon it's a pretty good set-up with a few options, like a few of our set-plays. You can hit the second-rower on the unders which will keep the inside defence from sliding, but that isn't as exciting as the 1-hand no-look pass we did twice. The fullback goes from playing the sweep to a short inside ball so defensively it's hard to predict. But with our timing off on even simple stuff I can't see this working.

lingard

Amazing how quickly everyone turns on a player when they are out of form. Bevan French is a rare talent and would be a massive loss - although we should be used to piss poor roster management.

Two seasons ago we were all marvelling at Bevans feats on the field. He scored some of the most memorable tries we have seen in years. Absolutely amazing tries.

But now the team is losing - most players are out of form, some on here are happy for him to piss off. Ha. As usual, he will join another team, carve us up from fullback (where he should be) and we will all be lamenting losing such an amazing talent and bitching about it.

Form is temporary, class is permanent. He hasn't lost any ability, he is just not getting the opportunity to show it this year. I will be really, really disappointed if we let him go.

Well, you could also say that fans are very quick to idolise a player because he is flashy, but then as time goes on, when his deficits are more clearly seen in the cold light of day, they change their minds about him. And fair enough.