Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels in the media

Eels rookie Jaeman Salmon made to explain his suspension to teammates

The unique requirement has been determined by the Parramatta board after the 20-year-old was convicted of drink-driving on the morning of October 13 last year.

Salmon is lucky to have escaped serious injury after hitting three cars and flipping his own vehicle with a blood alcohol reading of 0.068.

The slide presentation to his teammates is part of the club’s punishment of Salmon, which also includes being banned from the season opener against Penrith, a suspended $10,000 fine, the completion of a safe-driving course and three visits to Cobham Juvenile Justice Centre.

He will also be required to pay any remaining expenses to the damaged vehicles.

Salmon is expected to front his teammates and head coach Brad Arthur this week after the NRL Integrity Unit approved the Eels’ disciplinary measures on Saturday.

Salmon, who was set to start at centre for the Eels in round one, must explain in detail to the entire playing group what he did to be convicted and what he has learned.

The former Australian Schoolboy will also share his story with detainees at Cobham Juvenile Justice Centre while listening to those from within the centre.

The Eels board believe the visits to the juvenile centre will be a confronting realisation for Salmon on the dangers of drink-driving, and hope the future NRL star can provide a positive influence on the young offenders.

https://www.outline.com/Br88GG

Parramatta Eels would have 'instant success' with Issac Luke, says Mark Geyer

"I love [the idea of poaching Luke]. I really do. I think it's an astute signing. He's [31], he's a Kiwi international," Geyer said on Triple M's The Rush Hour with MG.

"They've got a young bloke called Reed Mahoney coming through who's a fantastic young kid.

"But the experience of Issac Luke, you can have instant success. You have instant success."

Geyer is already expecting Parramatta to improve on their last-place finish in 2018 but says Luke will make them a far more dangerous side.

The radio personality thinks Luke's natural running game would thrive at the Eels, who boast a sizeable forward pack.

"If they signed him ... I'm going to put them up another two or three spots because of one recruitment," Geyer said.

"[Luke is] dynamite out of dummy-half. On the back of these big boppers they've got - Junior Paulo and Shaun Lane and Timmy Mannah and all these other forwards that go forward - they need some creativity out of dummy-half.

"And Issac Luke is that man."

The move to Australia likely wouldn't faze Luke, given he started his NRL career with the South Sydney Rabbitohs in 2007.

The nuggety rake seems to have been considering a move back across the ditch for some time, with Luke close to joining the Newcastle Knights at the end of last season.

However, the Knights withdrew their interest after Luke underwent shoulder surgery and he subsequently re-signed with the Warriors on a one-year deal.

https://www.nospam47.com/au/league/...ark-geyer-triple-m/11bcagkjpl9v21ehfyab36vbqf

I still can’t get over the fact that Isaac Luke was playing for $150k.

Astonishing if true. Brown paper bags of cash if you are a sceptic.

Noise

I'm hoping Luke will be announced tomorrow.

If it happens it appears curtains for Kaysa in first grade, thank f**k. For some reason the current coaching staff had always had big wraps on Kaysa.

Gazzamatta

If it happens it appears curtains for Kaysa in first grade, thank f**k. For some reason the current coaching staff had always had big wraps on Kaysa.
We have a new HOFM and 2 new assistants in Kidwell and Potter. Maybe they see things different to the previous group. Kaysa is all energy and aggression. He needed to learn (or be shown) how to balance his aggression to promote longevity in the game. If he could develop this element he could be a ripper. Unfortunately its unlikely it will happen at Parramatta

Noise

We have a new HOFM and 2 new assistants in Kidwell and Potter. Maybe they see things different to the previous group. Kaysa is all energy and aggression. He needed to learn (or be shown) how to balance his aggression to promote longevity in the game. If he could develop this element he could be a ripper. Unfortunately its unlikely it will happen at Parramatta

He also had the worst left to right pass from a 9 in first grade. He would probably do ok in the ESL

Hold on, if Kaysa wasn’t made of glass he’d be as good as that Souths merkin. I think they were entitled to see if he could overcome his issues because he had the talent and mindset to be a really, really good player.

I think that Kaysa should be viewed in the light of a really good player whose career never completely took off because of his injury issues. David Woods anyone ? (Yeah don’t flame me about potential comparisons thanks).

Kaysa 47 games in 6 seasons

Woods 120 games in 9 seasons

Noise

Hold on, if Kaysa wasn’t made of glass he’d be as good as that Souths merkin. I think they were entitled to see if he could overcome his issues because he had the talent and mindset to be a really, really good player.

I think that Kaysa should be viewed in the light of a really good player whose career never completely took off because of his injury issues. David Woods anyone ? (Yeah don’t flame me about potential comparisons thanks).

A really good player? At best an average one who's career never took off

No kicking game, average passing game, no playmaking and a high missed tackle count every game....they are not things you want from your 9.

Luke does all these things better than Kaysa

Gazzamatta

A really good player? At best an average one who's career never took off

No kicking game, average passing game, no playmaking and a high missed tackle count every game....they are not things you want from your 9.

Luke does all these things better than Kaysa
I reckon you are correct Noisy but possibly more career games would have allowed these shortcomings to develop. I like the old adage "hire for attitude and train for skill".
Imho Kaysa, like a number of others, have not developed as they should have under the current Eels systems. Until this improves, and maybe thats now finally happening, I fear many Eels wont reach their potential. Controversial I suppose but its my belief.

I reckon you are correct Noisy but possibly more career games would have allowed these shortcomings to develop. I like the old adage "hire for attitude and train for skill".
Imho Kaysa, like a number of others, have not developed as they should have under the current Eels systems. Until this improves, and maybe thats now finally happening, I fear many Eels wont reach their potential. Controversial I suppose but its my belief.
I agree, I don't think our younger players have had the right coaching coming through the grades for a fair few years. Thats why I think Potter and Rip are both good appointments and have the runs on the board with young players.

Kaysa's service is rubbish and hasn't improved in 5 years, and that has nothing to do with his body being made of glass.

Better than Cook @Gronk ???

Holy Hugging Batman!!!

Short memory merkin. I won’t embarrass you by posting all of your Kaysa accolades over the years, but to say that he is rubbish is untrue of the general sentiment by all of us over the years.

Yes we are all frustrated when injury plagued players never achieve the momentum and thus success that they and we all wish for, but call a spade a spade mate.

Scroll through your comments going back to 2013, you flip flop depending if we won or not. If we didn’t win you’d lay into him, if we won he becomes a “livewire”.

https://forums.leagueunlimited.com/search/14011735/?page=4&q=Kaysa&o=date&c[user][0]=12671

Short memory merkin. I won’t embarrass you by posting all of your Kaysa accolades over the years, but to say that he is rubbish is untrue of the general sentiment by all of us over the years.

Yes we are all frustrated when injury plagued players never achieve the momentum and thus success that they and we all wish for, but call a spade a spade mate.

Scroll through your comments going back to 2013, you flip flop depending if we won or not. If we didn’t win you’d lay into him, if we won he becomes a “livewire”.

https://forums.leagueunlimited.com/search/14011735/?page=4&q=Kaysa&o=date&c[user][0]=12671
he's melting lol

I couldn’t search your posts over years, bc you’re not here as a supporter. You don’t contribute to the football discussion in anyway.

Your version of a good result on a weekend is how many people ypu have trolled enough to get a reaction.

Don’t bother posting a response, I’ll put it below for you because you are as predictable AF.

upload_2019-2-24_12-16-4.jpeg

In 2013 he was a young talent coming through, and he hasn't improved in 6 years. not a year or 2 but 6 years???

I have never questioned his ticker or his desire, it's just a shame he wasn't built like his brother he would of made a great prop. You don't want to embarrass me but I'm not the one saying he could be better than someone like Cook lol.

I couldn’t search your posts over years, bc you’re not here as a supporter. You don’t contribute to the football discussion in anyway.

Your version of a good result on a weekend is how many people ypu have trolled enough to get a reaction.

Don’t bother posting a response, I’ll put it below for you because you are as predictable AF.

he's broken lol

Incorrect

Dunno what you huggers and riders are getting so worked up about.... Knowing our mob, they'll let Mahoney and Schneider walk before the season starts and we'll sign Kaysa to a 5 year extension to take over from Luke....