Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels in the media

TheRam

*Hindmarsh and Kent both ex Eels ffs.

Hindy is hardly someone that anyone takes seriously as a commentator and is rarely ever on during games or discussion panels of games where all the bias wank fest happens by these ex-players.

And as for Kenty, he barely if at all stands out as someone that is a Parra supporter. He maybe, but he isn't obvious at all really and just because he is giving us a smidgen of love now, means FA over his lifetime as a journalist. He could and will turn at the first sign of trouble and downturn, of that you can be sure of. He hasn't any skin in the game and swings accordingly. He doesn't bleed Blue and Gold like all the other panellists bleed for their clubs that we have to watch and listen to on the TV.

We need some merkins that are blatant supporters and know their shit, like an Anasta, Ennis or Alexander. That way they can pretend to be non bias, but always have the tone and judgment of a hater. I would love to see that. In fact I crave it. I would for example love to see a game where the commentators deny seeing a knock on or a forward pass by Parra or trivialise the misfortunes of our opposition and exaggerate ours and our accomplishments. It would make watching our games so much more enjoyable. It wold also make the referees our bitches to an extent for fear of our Parra supporting commentators wrath. We need to get smarter people playing for us.

I had hope for Moses, who is good looking and well spoken and did some work at FOX earlier on in his career when he was still playing for the Tiger, but alas he has stopped his media stuff. I don't understand why. If I were a player and had the ability to string a few words together, I would be chomping at the bit to be a TV Sports presenter/footy analyst. Life after footy would then just be a dream that just keeps going.

Anyway, who knows he may pick it up again a little down the track. What I would do is try and get a gig cohosting the lower grades like Ennis did for example when he was still playing. Then if he is successful, by the time he retires playing he hits the ground running as an panellist. Our club should be actively pushing our players, the ones that have the talent for it of course, to pursue this type of career after footy. It is of great benefit to both the club and the player for obvious reasons. Win, win scenario.

Our club should be actively pushing our players, the ones that have the talent for it of course, to pursue this type of career after footy. It is of great benefit to both the club and the player for obvious reasons. Win, win scenario.
How many media gigs are there per year you reckon for our squad of 30 ?

TheRam

How many media gigs are there per year you reckon for our squad of 30 ?

Well I think I have mentioned this previously, but I think our club should setup a weekly Parramatta Show that they air on the Parra website during the season. And maybe one or two episodes during the off season to keep all us fans up to speed and excited about the up coming season ahead.

It should be like a panel show led by our very own players. It should be taken seriously and maybe start off with a segment on the last game and what went well and what didn't. Highlight a current Parra NRL player and interview him and discuss his game. Interview the coaches. Ask them what they are up to and what they are focusing on at any given time. Who they see as someone to point out and why and so forth. There are endless questions they could ask the coaching staff. Interview the CEO at least once a year with an update on all things Parra and what is on the horizon for the club and its strategy going forward and where are the developments up to and projections for the future.

Also should include interviews with rookies that haven't played NRL yet. They can do a full on who are you kind of segment, age, size, speed, position, where do you come from and so forth.

The panel should consist of any player that wants to better themselves in front of the camera and maybe pursue a media career at the end of their football career. From the little we know and have seen of who has "television" talent I would guess that Moses, Mahoney and Gutho would be the leading contenders to front it, maybe Dylbags too. The show could start off in the first segment with all three discussing and highlighting moments in the previous game. Things that worked and things that didn't and why. Break down what the goal was etcetera.

Then the interview segments. Then training highlights or outings that the players may have had like visits to hospitals and so forth. There could be a former player where are they now and what are they up to segment too. It would be a great way to introduce our current players to our former legends and teach them some history of the club along the way and what it meant to be a Parra player to these older former players.

There could also be a fans question segment. I think this could be very popular indeed. Fans will finally feel that they have some real access to the team and players. It should end each week with a discussion on the upcoming game maybe.

The players need to take this opportunity seriously though and the show should be tight and professional. Not half arsed stuff or it will quickly be panned, ignored and cancelled. I'm not talking big budget stuff here, but professionally presented and seriously done. Not a bunch of players standing around with a guy holding a microphone and everyone just mumbling and giggling amongst themselves kind of stuff.

They could also get TCT mob involved if they wanted or those lovely girls that do interviews of the players from time to time. The options are endless and can be constantly changing to keep it relevant and interesting. Also if initially it is to hard a task for our current players to front a footy discussion panel looking and sounding professional enough to do it justice, then we could ask a semi professional Parra person from any of the online semi professional sites to be the main facilitator until if or when one of our players is comfortable enough to pull it off and run the panel as the leader of the discussion. Or Sterlo as an initial panel member to get it off the ground the right way. He is a free agent now and has time to burn. Who knows a small input from him for his beloved Eels maybe something that he would be interested in right now. Kenny too is comfortable in front of the camera, so initially he could be an option too. But eventually it should be a show driven and run by the players.

With cameras and equipment being so cheap now it wouldn't cost an arm or a leg to set this up either. In fact when our COE is up and running I'm sure there will be a media room setup so regardless it would be very easy and almost effortless to get it going. The only hard bit is finding the players that can do it justice and can see the big picture for themselves and the club and it supporters. But if our club took it as an opportunity to highlight not just the whole organisation and players in a positive light, but that the sponsors would be getting major extra bang for their buck as well. It potentially has massive benefits for everyone involved down the line.

I know that I would love tuning in each week for my one hour well presented and professional Parramatta Eels Show. No other team or wanker being discussed, but all about Parra and nothing else. This would be ground breaking for the club and the NRL and if we were to do it and do it well, it wouldn't be long before we started seeing other clubs try to emulate it for fear of being left behind and miss out on the opportunities it would present to their club. We shouldn't fear this type of innovation, but seek it and embrace it with enthusiasm and passion.

Also we should also not worry about the head coaches objections, which I am sure he will have some due to how all coaches love living in the shadows and don't like it when their methods and systems are being exposed. They love to be a mystery, but I say tough. Learn to be a coach that embraces change and being the favourite if that is the case. All this lets not say anything that may offend our opposition or expose what we are going to do bullshit. I see this type of attitude as a major problem in our game. We don't talk up our game anywhere near enough. The coaches have a tight leash on the players and what they can and can't say. It stifles their natural personalities and true promotion of the game. If we did this right, we would be changing that forever. Also we could talk up not only our own home games, but our oppositions home games too. This is something that is long over due. Everyone associated in the game should be talking up every game no matter whether it is a home game or not. We are all in it together ffs!

Once players got used to the fact that it doesn't really matter what you say before a game about your opposition, but how you trained and prepared all week and then your mindset on game day that was the real deciding factor then all this cloak and dagger stuff would be a thing of the past. We have allowed the coaches way to much influence on the games fortunes both on and off the field and I believe the sooner this changes the better the game will be.

Anyway, just my thoughts. But I would really love to see us try something like this. It could end up being something special for the players and the game as a whole. But of course it won't happen. The NRL and the clubs that play in it are way to myopic to think like this and make it happen. They wouldn't know how to promote themselves properly even with a gun to their head.

TheRam

Don't get me wrong, I would watch every episode, but how?
The club would as a whole be a leader and attract more sponsors and attention from even other club players and their managers as a destination club that can add to a players portfolio and life after footy. The organisation would be seen as a leader and innovator by everyone. If a player from anywhere else in the NRL was considering a life after footy in the media would and could be an option, then Parra would be like a light on the hill.

If a player fancied himself as a future TV whatever, think of Beau Ryan types that never get the opportunity. Well if we had this setup then they may think that Parra is the place that they can see if they can cut it. In other words, if players are smart and can think, speak and have character, why wouldn't they want to be part of an organisation that can give them an opportunity that they can't get anywhere else, with very little pressure compared to the real thing and doing it with your mates and learning and stuffing up along the way?

We could all be surprised how every now and then we could unearth a new Sterlo or Hindy. But it would at least initially be unique and unprecedented and an attraction to player, managers and sponsors alike. Therefore it would attract quality to our club both on the field(players) and off the field(sponsor money). That can only help us get stronger as a club and therefore increase our chances at a premiership. Win, win.

Oh and see, you kind of answered the question by saying that you would watch every episode. You wouldn't be alone there mate. I'm sure tens of thousands at least would too, which means sponsors(money) would come a knocking knowing that they have a specific type of person they can market to. Again win, win.

Well I think I have mentioned this previously, but I think our club should setup a weekly Parramatta Show that they air on the Parra website during the season. And maybe one or two episodes during the off season to keep all us fans up to speed and excited about the up coming season ahead.

It should be like a panel show led by our very own players. It should be taken seriously and maybe start off with a segment on the last game and what went well and what didn't. Highlight a current Parra NRL player and interview him and discuss his game. Interview the coaches. Ask them what they are up to and what they are focusing on at any given time. Who they see as someone to point out and why and so forth. There are endless questions they could ask the coaching staff. Interview the CEO at least once a year with an update on all things Parra and what is on the horizon for the club and its strategy going forward and where are the developments up to and projections for the future.

Also should include interviews with rookies that haven't played NRL yet. They can do a full on who are you kind of segment, age, size, speed, position, where do you come from and so forth.

The panel should consist of any player that wants to better themselves in front of the camera and maybe pursue a media career at the end of their football career. From the little we know and have seen of who has "television" talent I would guess that Moses, Mahoney and Gutho would be the leading contenders to front it, maybe Dylbags too. The show could start off in the first segment with all three discussing and highlighting moments in the previous game. Things that worked and things that didn't and why. Break down what the goal was etcetera.

Then the interview segments. Then training highlights or outings that the players may have had like visits to hospitals and so forth. There could be a former player where are they now and what are they up to segment too. It would be a great way to introduce our current players to our former legends and teach them some history of the club along the way and what it meant to be a Parra player to these older former players.

There could also be a fans question segment. I think this could be very popular indeed. Fans will finally feel that they have some real access to the team and players. It should end each week with a discussion on the upcoming game maybe.

The players need to take this opportunity seriously though and the show should be tight and professional. Not half arsed stuff or it will quickly be panned, ignored and cancelled. I'm not talking big budget stuff here, but professionally presented and seriously done. Not a bunch of players standing around with a guy holding a microphone and everyone just mumbling and giggling amongst themselves kind of stuff.

They could also get TCT mob involved if they wanted or those lovely girls that do interviews of the players from time to time. The options are endless and can be constantly changing to keep it relevant and interesting. Also if initially it is to hard a task for our current players to front a footy discussion panel looking and sounding professional enough to do it justice, then we could ask a semi professional Parra person from any of the online semi professional sites to be the main facilitator until if or when one of our players is comfortable enough to pull it off and run the panel as the leader of the discussion. Or Sterlo as an initial panel member to get it off the ground the right way. He is a free agent now and has time to burn. Who knows a small input from him for his beloved Eels maybe something that he would be interested in right now. Kenny too is comfortable in front of the camera, so initially he could be an option too. But eventually it should be a show driven and run by the players.

With cameras and equipment being so cheap now it wouldn't cost an arm or a leg to set this up either. In fact when our COE is up and running I'm sure there will be a media room setup so regardless it would be very easy and almost effortless to get it going. The only hard bit is finding the players that can do it justice and can see the big picture for themselves and the club and it supporters. But if our club took it as an opportunity to highlight not just the whole organisation and players in a positive light, but that the sponsors would be getting major extra bang for their buck as well. It potentially has massive benefits for everyone involved down the line.

I know that I would love tuning in each week for my one hour well presented and professional Parramatta Eels Show. No other team or wanker being discussed, but all about Parra and nothing else. This would be ground breaking for the club and the NRL and if we were to do it and do it well, it wouldn't be long before we started seeing other clubs try to emulate it for fear of being left behind and miss out on the opportunities it would present to their club. We shouldn't fear this type of innovation, but seek it and embrace it with enthusiasm and passion.

Also we should also not worry about the head coaches objections, which I am sure he will have some due to how all coaches love living in the shadows and don't like it when their methods and systems are being exposed. They love to be a mystery, but I say tough. Learn to be a coach that embraces change and being the favourite if that is the case. All this lets not say anything that may offend our opposition or expose what we are going to do bullshit. I see this type of attitude as a major problem in our game. We don't talk up our game anywhere near enough. The coaches have a tight leash on the players and what they can and can't say. It stifles their natural personalities and true promotion of the game. If we did this right, we would be changing that forever. Also we could talk up not only our own home games, but our oppositions home games too. This is something that is long over due. Everyone associated in the game should be talking up every game no matter whether it is a home game or not. We are all in it together ffs!

Once players got used to the fact that it doesn't really matter what you say before a game about your opposition, but how you trained and prepared all week and then your mindset on game day that was the real deciding factor then all this cloak and dagger stuff would be a thing of the past. We have allowed the coaches way to much influence on the games fortunes both on and off the field and I believe the sooner this changes the better the game will be.

Anyway, just my thoughts. But I would really love to see us try something like this. It could end up being something special for the players and the game as a whole. But of course it won't happen. The NRL and the clubs that play in it are way to myopic to think like this and make it happen. They wouldn't know how to promote themselves properly even with a gun to their head.
Well I think they do that already however the covid thing has paused so many activities. You might recall that they started a podcast called Parradise (?) and chatted to a player each week in a very relaxed manner for a good 45 mins. IIRC they chatted to Rheed, Dylan etc.

TheRam

Also this could be used to promote new products or paraphernalia that the club may want to highlight to members and get the buzz going for better response and sales. But it needs to be done wisely when doing this side of things. They can't just turn the show into a vehicle for infomercials. if promoting products it needs to be tight and no more the 15-20 seconds on the run.

There would also be the opportunity to create competitions and prizes and so on and so forth. Like I said, the opportunities and promotional options and crossover are endless. But all with a Parramatta slant and flavour. If we do it right, supporters are more then willing to part with their money and buy stuff that is Parra related if they know that it is going to help our club in the long run. I know I would and I do.

We just need it to be front and centre and reminded more often. Out of sight and out of mind. Advertising works, If it didn't hundreds of billions of dollars wouldn't be spent each year on it. This would be like a weekly one hour show that is promoting nothing else but the Eels and their sponsors plastered everywhere and mentions here and there.

Like I said, do it smart and well and it will be a winner on many levels.

TheRam

Well I think they do that already however the covid thing has paused so many activities. You might recall that they started a podcast called Parradise (?) and chatted to a player each week in a very relaxed manner for a good 45 mins. IIRC they chatted to Rheed, Dylan etc.

Are you referring to the one that I posted here and not many people knew about?

Sure, that was good as a one off interview, but I am referring to a weekly one hour show, say on a Wednesday or Thursday, that has a whole bunch of different segments and people either being interviewed or discussing different parts of our game. Weekly like a panel of experts. We don't do anything like it and neither does any other club. The players are to host and drive it.

This would be a first.

Angry_eel

Our club should be actively pushing our players, the ones that have the talent for it of course, to pursue this type of career after footy. It is of great benefit to both the club and the player for obvious reasons. Win, win scenario.
I agree. I've been thinking lately that a solid team capable of winning big games is only tick 1 of dominating the NRL. We need off air support like Gould, Ennis, Gallen, etc.

TheRam

I agree. I've been thinking lately that a solid team capable of winning big games is only tick 1 of dominating the NRL. We need off air support like Gould, Ennis, Gallen, etc.

Oaf. That is the way you win on and off the field. Media opinions matter and influence many including officials no matter what anyone says otherwise.