Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels in the media

Joshuatheeel

To fair to Kearney, he has taken up the head role in two basket cases of clubs.

I am sure he would have preferred to have taken the same career path as Paul green or Trent Robinson!!

Joshuatheeel

Additionally it shows what a great job BA has done, we won the wooden for the two years prior to his start and within 4 years has got us to the top 4 (and really had us in the finals in year 3). This is on top on all the back room shit that has gone on!!

Look at Brown at the Knights and how much credit he has been given, BA probably has had a bigger job to do!!

Happy MEel

Our team at the end of last year wasn't even as remotely shit as it was during the Chris Walker-Carl Webb-Paul FattyMcFatFat Years.

Plus they way that everyone had conspired against us brought about a unique set of circumstances which arguably increased the chances of a coach 'cutting through'.

Anyway, I still don't think Kearney is fit to lick Arthur's date. Just trying to put things into context.
Whilst you're probably right in saying that the team towards the end of last year was still better than the squad big face assembled, I don't think there's as much of a gap as you're suggesating between these two teams:
IMG_3272.PNG
And
IMG_3273.PNG

Attachments

• IMG_3273.PNG
    IMG_3273.PNG
    152.9 KB · Views: 1

Whilst you're probably right in saying that the team towards the end of last year was still better than the squad big face assembled, I don't think there's as much of a gap as you're suggesating between these two teams:
View attachment 15722
And
View attachment 15723
True, but I wasn't suggesting there is a big gap between the average Kearney squad and THE WORST BA squad. I was suggesting there is a big gap between the average Kearney squad and the AVERAGE BA squad.

BA has made something out of Brown an Gutho our two best players
He sat back and waited for a half he liked, Moses ... rather than jump at crap

BA is miles ahead of big face .... no possible argument

The warriors are scary ... but they have talent there ... a decent coach would at least help them move forward ... do you think BA would have the warriors going backwards this year? .... f**k no. He'd sort those merkins out

Agreed. I think I said:

"Anyway, I still don't think Kearney is fit to lick Arthur's date. Just trying to put things into context."

OMG stop. Get help. Call 000. Tell the ambo that you have COCKS. Chronic Obsessive Compulsive Kearney Syndrome.
I'm not a fan of scapegoating, so when someone else mentions Kearney I will correct the record. Likewise Hagan and Stuart.

But Arthur is probably a great coach. He might've won the comp with the Broncos or Roosters this year. To say that he is better than Kearney is no slight on Kearney.

Happy MEel

No arguments here on that point. I was just making the point that the team towards the end of last year was ordinary and BA still managed to get them to compete and win games. Something big face struggled to do with a similar squad.

Noise

I sat next to one of the fox sports league guys on the flight home from Melbourne and we talked footy (we have a mutual mate so got chatting). Talked Parra, BA and the game. He reckoned our semi final was the best game of the year. Eventually I brought up how shit Kearney is going and he confirmed he has no idea and the total wrong temperament to coach. Could not believe he got the head coach role at the Warriors.

Same way he got the job at Parra I'd say - lack of anyone better.
No he got the Parra role on the back of our imbecile "uneducated footy fan" board we had at the time - fools who just decided he'd be great cos "he worked with bellamy" ... and to compound it they gave him total control of doing everything despite zero experience being that person

And I would say he got the Warriors job cos of poor judgement of those in charge of that club also .... they don't need a buddy for the lads, they need a head kicker ... if you can then assemble players who respect the head kicker and become close to them, then thats when you have succeeded

I'd say he got the warriors job because the idiots in charge thought the place needed someone of the same culture... And I don't just mean NZ or Polynesian culture, I think they see SK as someone who had success with the brand of footy the national side played and thought that the warriors culture is the same as that, which is patently untrue

No he got the Parra role on the back of our imbecile "uneducated footy fan" board we had at the time - fools who just decided he'd be great cos "he worked with bellamy" ... and to compound it they gave him total control of doing everything despite zero experience being that person
How else were they supposed to judge a rookie coach? None of them have experience either. But I'd rather someone with extensive experience in a professional organisation than someone without it. He also had some success with a Kiwi rep team that had for decades been absolutely smashed by Australia.

just saying - I don't think Max and Bernie would have gone there

Well Max and Bernie aren't desperate. At the end of 2010 we were sliding off a cliff. We had ageing stars on huge money (plus Hayne on the hugest money) and no succession planning. We needed a substantial rebuild and the coaches able to do it were all working for much more professional organisations. In mid 2016 we had a strong club from the neck down.

We are very f**king lucky Arthur appeared. And we are still lucky he has his roots in Western Sydney. Expect the Bulldogs to attempt to poach him at some stage, especially if our off field shenanigans restart when administration is switched off.