Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels plan to re-ignite Hayne

I'm still very concerned about our pack more so if Feleti is switched to 6.
Our pack looks thin if you take Feleti out.

I'm hoping someone (Hayne?) takes Feleti out for lots of Maccas, so he doesn't get below the 100kgs and stays in the 13.

How's our back row look without Feleti?

11. Hindy
12. Lowrie
13. ????
15. ????

without Feleti?

13 Brod Wright
12 Weller Hauraki
11 Nathan Hindmarsh
10 Nathan Cayless
09 Matt Keating
08 Fuifui Moimoi

14 Kris Keating
15 Junior Paulo
16 Jeremy latimore
17 Tim Mannah

if we're going to field a forward pack like the one I've listed than we need to make up for it in size off the bench. Brod Wright has played a number of games at lock last season I think he can make a real fist of it...but it's still scary.

Parraren

hmmm...still think Feleti is the answer at 5/8.

Halfback and front row are still our real problems.

At least Jarryd sounds like he's got his head in the right place though.

Parraren

without Feleti?

13 Brod Wright
12 Weller Hauraki
11 Nathan Hindmarsh
10 Nathan Cayless
09 Matt Keating
08 Fuifui Moimoi

14 Kris Keating
15 Junior Paulo
16 Jeremy latimore
17 Tim Mannah

if we're going to field a forward pack like the one I've listed than we need to make up for it in size off the bench. Brod Wright has played a number of games at lock last season I think he can make a real fist of it...but it's still scary.

...hmm on second thoughts our whole forward pack is a worry.

DA will really earn his money this year.

Very scary imo... Try as they might, guys like Wellar and Brod I reckon have a year of bench work ahead of them, before they are up to starting NRL standard?

Wellar was one of the disappointments of 2008 for mine. Feleti is a great asset in the 13, because he can hold his own in the forwards, without it stifling his creative play. He'll be the best lock in the competition this season, if he's picked there and continues his form and development.

^b0ss^

i was thinking ...about this and thought why it might be a good idea is.....

i think he will play a more running 5/8 role, and from 5/8 he can be in support alot more he can be sniffing around for the offload he is great in open field,

thinnk it might work well. he is also a very good defender.

might just work ....eels ...might just work

woddy

more Hayne at 5/8 less finch at 7 lets see how he goes in the trials .......Mateo to stay at 13.........Reddy to fullback Burt to wenty Etu to wing

yy_cheng

It's all up to DA.

It's all up to his game plan and strategy.

Each member of the pack needs to be given a very precise and specific role and show enough heart and honour to take responsibility of what DA gives him.

Then play to our strength in the backs with an expansive game.

If you think about this team:

1. Reddy
2. TT
3. INU
4. Smith
5. Grothe
6. Hayne

That's probably the biggest backline in the comp. It's probably bigger than our pack.

That's why DA's game plan and strategy is very critical with such an inexperienced/unproven pack.

If he can get the best out of Grothe, then we have metre eaters in TT and Grothe which will reduce the dependency of the forwards rucking it out so much.

ParraAds

Hello again for 2009, good to be back.

What a strange story...

I like the idea of experimenting with players in different positions, especially when they are trial games, but I would have thought Hayne was a guy with more than one position up his sleeve.

I always thought the best way to handle this situation in 09 was to have Hayne at fullback in defence, but playing as a 5/8 in attack, much like he was for Fiji during the WC.

Hayne is the best defensive fullback we have, in terms of one on tackles, bomb defusing, and general cleaning up.

It also sees that situation where Burt is back in the running for fullback. Not great, not great at all.

Personally I'd prefer....

1. Hayne
2. Etu
3. Smith
4. Inu
5. Grothe
6. Mateo
7. Finch

or if Hayne is going to have a crack at 6.....

1. Inu
2. Etu
3. Smith
4. Reddy
5. Grothe
6. Hayne
7. Finch

spiderdan

i don't see the size of our pack as an issue if they are coached and encouraged to play before the line and offload. i also think (and i've said it a few times) that we shouldn't be carrying a specialist hooker on the bench but have four forwards (at least two props). ben smith hopefully starts belting the ball up hard so that he and grothe can act as extra forwards. while i think ben is a good player he hasn't used his size to great effect yet. i remember one day him walking past me and i was thinking he is just about the hugest mofo i've ever seen.

Ben Smith is big put just hasn't got the strength. He is very easily dominated. He'll never be a forward. He's best posy is 3/4 but even then he isn't that great. Junior Sau is a player that I would love at Parra.

yy_cheng

Ben doesn't have leg drive nor the speed.

However, as I have mentioned a while back, he should learn how to stand in tackles and get his arms free to offload to grothe and co.

He used to use grothe quite well.

I suggested before that he should learn from how the old crow played. Stand in tackles and try to offload to the likes of the zip zip man. In our case, Hayne, Grothe, Burt

yy_cheng

Hello again for 2009, good to be back.

What a strange story...

I like the idea of experimenting with players in different positions, especially when they are trial games, but I would have thought Hayne was a guy with more than one position up his sleeve.

I always thought the best way to handle this situation in 09 was to have Hayne at fullback in defence, but playing as a 5/8 in attack, much like he was for Fiji during the WC.

Hayne is the best defensive fullback we have, in terms of one on tackles, bomb defusing, and general cleaning up.

It also sees that situation where Burt is back in the running for fullback. Not great, not great at all.

Personally I'd prefer....

1. Hayne
2. Etu
3. Smith
4. Inu
5. Grothe
6. Mateo
7. Finch

or if Hayne is going to have a crack at 6.....

1. Inu
2. Etu
3. Smith
4. Reddy
5. Grothe
6. Hayne
7. Finch

I'm not sold on Inu at fullback.

His games for the kiwis were safe but not spectacular nor were the games for Parra.

I still think Reddy would be my choice for FB if hayne was to play 6.

ROGUE

i heard an interesting interview today with dean halatau on the bsb.Obviously just completed a trial vs souths and it was asked of him about the 2nd ref.His opinion was the play the balls and the ruck were alot quicker due to the extra policing of it.Which in his opinion will help the teams with smaller packs, due to the speed factor.

i have a feeling ben might have a good season .... i think his injuries f'ed his head up a bit and he became quite tentative and didn't back himself .... I reckon a big layoff like he had might help put some of that behind him - and hopefully a new coach can put a bit of rocket up him to get back to his best

spiderdan

i heard an interesting interview today with dean halatau on the bsb.Obviously just completed a trial vs souths and it was asked of him about the 2nd ref.His opinion was the play the balls and the ruck were alot quicker due to the extra policing of it.Which in his opinion will help the teams with smaller packs, due to the speed factor.
that's a fair call. i guess in the not too distant future we'll find out if it's right.

Pazza

http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/new...r-of-the-rabbit/2009/02/03/1233423221197.html

i think faster men will be in fashion this season, i guess that is why Hayne is going to see the ball alot more and burt will also be intergral to the success of the team!

spiderdan

http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/new...r-of-the-rabbit/2009/02/03/1233423221197.html

i think faster men will be in fashion this season, i guess that is why Hayne is going to see the ball alot more and burt will also be intergral to the success of the team!
i just hope the refs can get the balance right. would be a shame if the game started being played like it was in the early days of super league.

i think it was dogs v panthers i watched just to see if super league was all it was cracked up to be. the score ended up around 45-30 and resembled a game of touch footy with one out runners and dummy half bursts running at constantly retreating defences.

In attack he's definitely the best fullback we have.

For mine, I'm not sure if he's close to Burt in those areas you've mentioned?