Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Salary Cap MK IV

Bandwagon

If the NRL wanted transparency, all they would need to do is publish the numbers.

They aren't, so they don't.

yy_cheng

Yep there are nuffies who have played NSW origin for one game because of a brain snap by the coach. They would be allocated high points and could find themselves unemployable.

they could add in the last xxx years

So if they were a SOO last 2 year they are higher in points than one that was 3 years + ago.

I think it is a better system if they work out all the criteria properly but it doesnt stop payments be astronomical and prevent clubs from becoming broke.

woddy

they could add in the last xxx years

So if they were a SOO last 2 year they are higher in points than one that was 3 years + ago.

I think it is a better system if they work out all the criteria properly but it doesnt stop payments be astronomical and prevent clubs from becoming broke.

To even the playing field will they limit the number of points in a team? Like say the top 25 are worth 1k in points and that is the limit of the cap. Then we would see how much the QLD origin players get undervalued to stay in Brisvegas.

yy_cheng

To even the playing field will they limit the number of points in a team? Like say the top 25 are worth 1k in points and that is the limit of the cap. Then we would see how much the QLD origin players get undervalued to stay in Brisvegas.

Of course but we are talking about a soo player who represented 5 yrs ago should not be on the same points as a current soo player

While it sounds nice, a points system is just not workable. Can you imagine the furore when team X's star player is rated as being worth $200k less than the average bogan reckons he's (his) worth?

You are asking bureaucrats to determine what is effectively a market value of a player (whether you express that in $$ or points). The Soviets thought they could do it.....

How does the points system differentiate between the importance of positions? Or is Nate Myles going to be paid as much as Thurston and Smith?

I like the idea but a system that had the Broncos as the cheapest team, spending only one million out of a four million cap, probably needs a bit of tweaking.

Bigfella

How does the points system differentiate between the importance of positions? Or is Nate Myles going to be paid as much as Thurston and Smith?

I like the idea but a system that had the Broncos as the cheapest team, spending only one million out of a four million cap, probably needs a bit of tweaking.

Yep and what about the Lockyer / Milford type of player who can play two positions equally effectively?

Can a side move to the cheaper position? Can they be moved to the other without affecting their value?

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/nrl-salary-cap-doesnt-fit-any-more-says-former-auditor-ian-schubert-20160615-gpjqy6.html#ixzz4BgWr4ndu

Brisbane has long been viewed as one of the most stacked rosters in the game. But under Schubert's trial valuation system in 2010, the Gold Coast were the side valued the highest. The Broncos came in at 16th spot, at $3,003,619 under a then-cap of $4.1 million. This was primarily because of discounts built into his matrix for players who had remained at one club for a significant time.

LMFAO @ Schubert

Broncos most undervalued?? lol

Yep and what about the Lockyer / Milford type of player who can play two positions equally effectively?

Can a side move to the cheaper position? Can they be moved to the other without affecting their value?

And then the value of positions will change over time, like fullback has risen in recent times. It's just a minefield.

Bandwagon

If, by 'numbers', you mean players' salaries.....they'll need the PA to agree to that....so it's not entirely the NRL's fault.

To a point, numbers don't need to be allocated to individuals, so it could be a simple matter of a list of all TPA providers and the amounts they pay, and the salaries of the top twenty five, no names attached.

yy_cheng

The salary doesn't come into it nor TPA. As long as your points don't go over the Max. So Brisbane would need to shed alot of players unless the point system also rewards time at the club in which it should. You could pay 1M for a low point player if you wished but I don't think anyone would. The rich teams will attract the better of the high pointed players as they could give more but then they can't have that many high pointed players as it will push them over the points cap

could you imagine the player managers arguing about their client's grading? :lol:

Yep having the NRL (or even RLPA for that matter) pigeonholing players with a points system would be a nightmare. Best leave the market to determine a player's value.

oldmancraigy

We were cheating the cap and recording it in board minutes and spreadsheets
When things looked only a little bit suss, we brought in Schu to manage our cap
Schu couldn't figure out we were cheating

Might be all we need to say about him?

As much as I have little time for Schuey (Izzy #-o) how could he possibly know what happened unless he was given access to all areas ? After all the NRL stumbled across sound files stored randomly on a HD which records damning conversations about rorts.

Schuey's brief I reckon was: Here is our roster, TPAs and retention goals - how are we tracking ? ?

How do you expect your accountant to give you the all clear when you keep a shoe box under your bed with stuff you don't want him to see ?