Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Salary Cap Mk V

I tell you what: if toddy was going to order the deaths of 100,000 greyhounds, he would meet them personally to tell them (shortly after giving Ray Hadley the exclusive interview that these dogs had to die, and shortly before giving an exclusive telegraph interview about what a bad day he'd had).
Exactly. As shamefully as the club has acted in this affair, my greatest regret is the pain we've put that poor man through. He's basically just an oversized Care Bear. Get well soon, Todd. We're all thinking of you.

SMH.com.au said:
Explosive new documents allege Brisbane recruiter Peter Nolan gave star playmaker Corey Norman cash payments at Top Ryde car park during his time at Parramatta as part of the club's rorting of the salary cap.

Fairfax Media has obtained a sworn statement by former Eels chief executive Scott Seward and the transcripts from the interview the NRL integrity unit conducted with former football manager Jason Irvine. The accounts detail the illegal payments dished out to Parramatta players, including the third party and cash variety, that were guaranteed by the club in contravention to NRL rules.

The Seward and Irvine accounts outline how they worked together to fulfil a series of undisclosed payments promised to players before their appointments. Both officials admit to paying players in cash, in Seward's case from merchandise takings to hooker Nathan Peats.
Advertisement

But the biggest twist in the saga is the alleged involvement of Nolan, considered one of the best talent spotters in the game. Seward and Irvine describe Nolan – who discovered Semi Radradra at a rugby Sevens tournament – as one of the administrators fully aware of a secret payments scheme designed to circumvent the salary cap.
In his signed statement, Seward writes: "Corey Norman was promised additional payments of $36,000 which was to cover rental payments of approximately $3000 per month.

"I recall Nolan telling me that the payments of $3000 per month were for Norman's rent. On one occasion I recall Nolan telling me that he handed Norman a cash payment in the car park at Top Ryde. I recall Nolan saying words to the effect:

"Nolan: That's what this is for. I handed money over to Corey Norman in the Car Park at Top Ryde. I remember saying to him [Norman] 'mate, did you ever think it we'd get here and have to do this?'"

Nolan, who has a relationship with Norman from their time at the Broncos, has not received a breach notice from the NRL. Nolan has declined to comment.

"The NRL received substantial information during its investigation and made its determination based on the weight of evidence available," an NRL spokesperson said.

The club had made a register of promised player payments in 2013 that was not disclosed to the governing body. In his statement, Seward says: "It was clear to me that it was Nolan who was the person who was involved in doing the deals and knew every level of the deals reached with players and their agents."

Irvine and Seward say they were approached by players or their managers demanding money that was promised on top of their registered contracts. When asked which administrators knew about the illegally promised funds in his interview with the NRL, Irvine said: "[Nolan] was there when we did the breakdown of how much was owing."

rvine admitted he was the bagman in transactions such as alleged payments from Leba Zibara of Zibara Clothing, which he said he gave to Seward to pass on to players. When asked if he handed cash directly to players himself, Irvine said: "No, no. The only player I've ever given money to was Nathan Peats. It was diabolical … Nathan is so direct and so blunt. He was pretty much like, 'Mate, I'm not playing footy no more.' So you know, I got about six grand off, I think, off Scott early last year and then sort of gave him that to sort of settle him down, or I think it was actually late, late in, in '14."

Asked where the money came from, Irvine said: "... it'd come from the shop. It would come from the merchandise store."

Seward, who said he and Irvine inflated invoices, admitted to paying Peats in cash.

"I recall on one occasion, in about June or July 2014, Zibara came into my office and gave me an amount of cash," Seward says in his statement.

"My best recollection was that it was approximately $5000. I then added a further cash amount of, to the best of my recollection, $1000 (from cash receipts from merchandise sold) and handed the total of $6000 to Nathan Peats.

"This was the only occasion on which I physically handed cash to a player."

Fairfax Media contacted Peats, who said: "I don't know what you're talking about, I don't want to be involved in that." Zibara said he had previously made a statement to the media about his relationship with the Eels and did not want to add to it.

Seward adds that Irvine was one of the officials responsible for handing money to player managers. Seward, who declined to comment when contacted by Fairfax Media, also admits to signing statutory declarations knowing the information contained within them was false.

"At the time I signed the post 2014 season statutory declaration, I certainly knew about the additional undisclosed payments that the club was making to players and player agents and of the TPAs that were promised to players," Seward says in his statement.

"I did not want to sign it, the CFO signed it, the chairman signed but I sat on it for days. However, I ultimately did sign the post 2014 season statutory declaration.

"I also signed the pre-2015 season statutory declaration. I was aware of the additional undisclosed amounts being sourced from TPAs but knew that the club had stopped making additional cash payments. While I had some reservations about signing I ultimately signed the pre-2015 season statutory declaration."

By the NRL's calculations, the Eels had promised illegal player payments totalling more than $3 million since 2013. The transactions came via third-party arrangements, cash payments and inflated and fictitious invoices.

The club and those believed to be responsible are now being investigated by the Fraud and Cyber Squad at the NSW Police Force and the Australian Tax Office, while Liquor and Gaming NSW is investigating whether the Parramatta Leagues Club breached the Registered Clubs Act.

On Saturday, the NRL confirmed its provisional sanctions, which include a $1 million fine, the stripping of 12 competition points and the cancellation of registrations of five key officials.

Contacted on Saturday night, Norman said: "They've handed our 12 points [penalty] out, that's it."

"That's the end of the story … they have handed our sentence down and we've got to build on that.

"All I can tell you is we're just working every week to put pride in that jersey and put pride in our fans.

"Whatever story you want to come up with, we're just going to roll on through and have the belief of what we want to do in our system."

Attempts to contact the club were unsuccessful.
Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...n-car-park-20160709-gq252y.html#ixzz4DvgWzOBF
Follow us: @smh on Twitter | sydneymorningherald on Facebook

I jumped back and said, Can you believe this mother f**king shit.

SMH.com.au said:
The NRL will turn its attention to the role of player managers – and potentially players – in the next phase of its investigation into Parramatta's systematic rorting of the salary cap.

The governing body confirmed its provisional sanctions against the embattled club on Saturday, including the docking of 12 competition points, a $1 million fine and the stripping of the Auckland Nines title.

Eels officials had the opportunity to shave $250,000 off the sanction if they had undertaken appropriate governance reforms, but their antagonistic stance against head office resulted in the potential reduction being withdrawn from the table.

Five administrators, known as the "gang of five" – chairman Steve Sharp, deputy chairman Tom Issa, director Peter Serrao, chief executive John Boulous and football manager Daniel Anderson – have had their registrations cancelled for their roles in the scandal. The NRL suspected more officials were in on the rorts, but decided to only breach those it had a solid case against.

While Saturday officially marked the day the competition table was readjusted – the Eels now sit in 12th spot and need to win all of their remaining games to be a chance of playing finals football – the NRL's probe isn't over yet.

The next phase will look at the role of player managers, who could also face deregistration if it can be proven they were part of the illegal payments scheme.

"This part of the investigation closes today," NRL chief executive Todd Greenberg said on Saturday.

"But what we have been doing is continuing to look at other parts. I would expect in coming weeks there will be a file handed over to the agents accreditation committee, which will look at another range of material issues."

Asked if it was likely agents would be breached, Greenberg said: "That's not a decision for me. That's a decision for the agent's accreditation board, the way the rules are governed. We will pass the information over to them and it will ultimately be a decision for them."

When Sharp's regime came to power in 2013, it was bombarded by disgruntled player agents claiming they were left out of pocket from previous administrators. But instead of referring the matter to the NRL, officials instead tried to fulfil the dodgy promises and conceal their tracks. Fairfax Media understands the roles of at least four high-profile agents will be scrutinised in coming weeks.

While there have been previous salary cap scandals, this marked the first time in history that a club had been penalised for paying players in cash.

Asked if the focus could also shift to the players, Greenberg said: "What was important that we did today was finish this part of the investigation because it has an impact on the competition, an impact on every other club and the fans. We are very very conscious to get this part done. If there's more work that needs to be done, we will do that in time."

One of the main methods the Eels used to illegally overpay players was via third-party arrangements (TPAs). On several occasions, Parramatta guaranteed payments or did not disclose that they were not at arm's length from the club.

The drama has again thrown the spotlight on the TPA system, particularly given some clubs have greater access to corporate cash than others. The NRL will consider capping TPAs as part of its review into the system.

"That's something we're going to look at and will form part of the negotiation with the collective bargaining agreement with the players," Greenberg said.

Pressed on whether the system was in urgent need of review, he said: "The short answer is yes."

The NRL took about a month to consider the response of the Eels and five officials before upholding its provisional punishments.

"The overall impression that I got from the responses is that no one at the club has taken responsibility for the deliberate, systemic and blatant breaches of the salary cap," Greenberg said.

While some members of the "gang of five" will likely accept the NRL's decision, others are giving serious consideration to avail themselves of one last appeals process

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...next-focus-20160709-gq2647.html#ixzz4DvhJY5if

Even if we want to move on from this, Trust me it looks like the NRL is not done f**king with us yet.

The team has far exceeded my expectations this year. The shit we've been through and the performances on the field are just phenomenal!

I'm used to not playing finals so who cares, not winning and not playing finals hurts way more than winning and not playing finals imo.

+1 we should not worry about the finals and just enjoy having an eels team that is actually competitive
in the past they would have rolled over at 18-6 and let the roosters put 30 on us

p.s. either way if we make the semis or not look out next year!!

Toddy won't touch Nolan seeing he works for Brisbane
As if Brisbane would be doing anything wrong, the poor buggers have poor depth remember???? We are the only club who does this kind of thing.......... Toddles told us all the other clubs are not into these kind of things........

When Seaweed went to discuss TPA's with our now fearless leader i'd love to know what they talked about????

When Director Tanya referred to Sewards mentor in the quoted transcripts. Who was she referring to ?

ISSA: Two years ago everyone came in and hit me and Steve up, and Daniel, when Ricky Stuart left and we took over from Roy. The severity of those were so minimal compared to this that it’s absurd. We had people telling us that we owed blokes like (player’s name REDACTED) or (player’s name REDACTED) or whoever it was $10K or $20K or $30K. Minimal where we could turn around to them and say to a legitimate business do you want the IP address of this player and if you do, it’s going to cost you $30K and we’re going to do a registered TPA. And blokes turned around and said yep I’ve got a business, I’d love this kid to come to my kid’s birthday party, I’d love this guy to do dinner with us, I’ll register a third party, here’s 25K (player’s name REDACTED) you’re done, (player’s name REDACTED) you’re done. How Scott’s done $200K plus a four year deal is beyond belief. But it’s just astonishing and I just don’t know what, how we get out of it, and do (player’s name REDACTED) at $150. They came out in the papers yesterday and said Will Hopoate is owed $150,000 or whatever it is. There was fraudulent conduct conducted previously that we said no to. We said no to Eddie Obeid Junior, we said no to all the ones that were in that dirty laundry where you just turned around and said no. What possessed him to go behind our backs and do it …

GADIEL: Maybe it had something to do with his mentor.
http://www.foxsports.com.au/news/ex...l/news-story/32ca010bd77b4f15b5ee0d56d12e2847

Gronk we all know who Seaweeds mentor is, just makes who is handing down all our punishment's all the more laughable......

IFR33K

Gronk we all know who Seaweeds mentor is, just makes who is handing down all our punishment's all the more laughable......

The only reason I'd like the eels to appeal, is to get to the bottom of the rorting. No doubt other clubs are doing it to a larger scale.

But mate, Greenburg said they are happy that every other club is ok. Nothing to see here.

Some people are still crying about how hard we are done by the NRL. Some excuses "But other clubs have done it" but but Toddy used to manage the Bulldogs" but but the Broncos do it too" your just showing the same attitude as the moron Sharp and his cronies which is, all excuses and no responsibility taken.

I know you guys supported sharp and it's hard to admit that you got f**king disasterously wrong but to keep on blaming the NRL and Seward to keep on deflecting away from Sharp and his cronies whom still are sitting on the board mind you and are the architects of all this mess is f**king embarrasing. Let's not forget that Sharp and his cronies hired that moron Seward. The buck always stops with the dirty 5 shit heads and the rest of the management, No matter how you guys want to polish a turd.

More articles and evidence are coming out now about the club went about trying to cover up you would think a 2 year old with a crayon was chairman of the place, its f**king damning.

Oscarman

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...next-focus-20160709-gq2647.html#ixzz4DvhJY5if

Even if we want to move on from this, Trust me it looks like the NRL is not done f**king with us yet.
No, we still have several players other clubs want. Todd et al would like to see us as shit as Newcastle for at least 5 years, while still generating mega $$$$$ for the NRL. Not sure both can happen.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...s/news-story/a284a6bac579c513196d6adc92497167

Parramatta Eels to be investigated by Police Fraud Squad for alleged tampered documents

PARRAMATTA officials allegedly liquid-papered over dodgy invoices, while crucial tapes of Eels board meetings mysteriously disappeared during the NRL’s forensic investigation of the club, explosive documents reveal.

The Sunday Telegraph can reveal the liquid-papering allegations — contained in extraordinary diary notes by the NRL’s integrity unit boss Nick Weeks — have now attracted the interest of the state’s Police Fraud Squad and NSW Liquor and Gaming.

Further new documents attached to the NRL’s Breach Notice against the club also make the allegation that star player Corey Norman was handed cash in the car park of Top Ryde Shopping Square by former Eels recruiter Peter Nolan.

The fresh documents have emerged on a day Parramatta’s season was effectively ended, with the extraordinary deduction of 12 competition points, the cancellation of the registration of the Eels’ five most senior officials — led by chairman Steve Sharp — and a $1 million fine.

But the club’s difficulties are just beginning. Fraud Squad and NSW Liquor and Gaming investigations are in full swing, with both bodies making their presences felt at the club’s HQ in recent weeks, and the Tax Office also investigating. Meanwhile, three separate proposals to overthrow the entire Parramatta Leagues Club board are pending.

“Liquid Paper-Gate” is already under the microscope. Mr Weeks’ diary notes refer to a confidential conversation with the club’s lawyer, John de Mestre, about an apparently doctored invoice from Zibara Clothing.

The NRL alleges Zibara issued inflated invoices to Parramatta totalling hundreds of thousands of dollars, despite the fact that in some cases no goods and services were provided in exchange for the money. These inflated invoices allowed Eels players to receive third-party agreements.

In a diary entry from April 16 this year, Mr Weeks, who was gathering evidence for the NRL investigation, told of a conversation he had with Mr de Mestre where the latter talks of “a Zibara invoice that had been liquid papered”.

Mr Weeks’ diary entry also revealed Mr de Mestre had told him the recording of all but a minute of a crucial January 2014 board meeting — where, according to board minutes, plans to cheat the salary cap had been discussed at length — had been deleted: “JDM … told me that the recording of the January 2014 board meeting didn’t work and that only 1 minute had been recorded.”

Mr de Mestre was last night unable to comment.

Meanwhile, the new allegations on payments to players have emerged from a signed statement by former Eels CEO Scott Seward, obtained by the NRL as part of its investigation.

Mr Seward said in his statement the $3000 a month was to cover Norman’s rent, alleging that Mr Nolan, now a recruiter with the Broncos, made some of the payments in person. “On one occasion I recall Nolan telling me he handed Norman a cash payment in the car park at Top Ryde,” he said.

Norman’s manager Paul Sutton had no comment yesterday. Both Mr Nolan and Mr Seward did not return calls.

The extraordinary allegations and penalties against the Eels have turned also key Western Sydney advocates against the club’s board.

Western Sydney Leadership Dialogue chairman Chris Brown said: “This entire episode has been a stain on Western Sydney’s reputation. Everybody who’s been involved should have the decency to bugger off. That means the entire board has to go.”

lol crayons and Liquid paper these people are just hopeless f**king hopeless

Looks like we have started leaking this shit to the media .... good!!

First time i have heard Nolan mentioned ... why have the NRL never said anything about him? ... would hate to have anyone involved at the Broncos in the spotlight hey!

Irvine and Seward explicitly claim they both only gave cash payments once ... yet Irvine says He gave it to Seward to give to players numerous times ..... BUT their evidence is taken as gospel .... i would say their evidence proves it happened but maybe not entirely clear how cos they are too busy covering their own asses

What does Irvine do for a job now? Is he involved in league? .... Nolan is working at the Broncos right? .... how in the world can he not be included in people being deregistered IF the NRL are believing all this?

because he self reported and co-operated with Greenberg whereas our fab 5 didn't

Some people are still crying about how hard we are done by the NRL. Some excuses "But other clubs have done it" but but Toddy used to manage the Bulldogs" but but the Broncos do it too" your just showing the same attitude as the moron Sharp and his cronies which is, all excuses and no responsibility taken.

I know you guys supported sharp and it's hard to admit that you got f**king disasterously wrong but to keep on blaming the NRL and Seward to keep on deflecting away from Sharp and his cronies whom still are sitting on the board mind you and are the architects of all this mess is f**king embarrasing. Let's not forget that Sharp and his cronies hired that moron Seward. The buck always stops with the dirty 5 shit heads and the rest of the management, No matter how you guys want to polish a turd.

More articles and evidence are coming out now about the club went about trying to cover up you would think a 2 year old with a crayon was chairman of the place, its f**king damning.

I really don't see the point of this post. There is not one person on this entire forum that supports the GO5.

because he self reported and co-operated with Greenberg whereas our fab 5 didn't

Who self reported? ... no one mentioned from our club has said anything until dragged in and made to .... well except the merkins who first leaked it all