Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Salary Cap Mk V

One of the statements form the original "Look at Tood" speech was that everyone in the NRL must speak up when they see something that breaches the code of conduct. To not do so is a breach of the code of conduct
and if they only job you really can get is in rugby league are you going to speak up and never get a job in rugby league again?

Bigfella

Todd couldn't have been expected to pick up on the similarity in seward's practices at the two clubs relying to the use of cash from merchandise sales.

Nothing to see here.

It all stinks to high heaven, Greenburg will prove to be a disaster of an appointment. All thanks to News Limited orchestrated campaign to get rid of David Smith.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...t-underthetable-payments-20160711-gq3et2.html

"Parramatta Eels officials Jason Irvine and Scott Seward admit under-the-table payments

In explosive testimony before NRL salary cap investigators, Jason Irvine and Scott Seward have admitted to what amounts to theft and fraud in an attempt to honour under-the-table deals for cash payments to Parramatta rugby league payers.

Seward, the former chief executive officer of the Eels, and Irvine, the former football manager, have admitted to the NRL that players were paid in cash, which was removed from the takings of club's merchandise sales.

"You know cash is king," Irvine told investigators of removing funds from merchandise sales before the proceeds were banked.

The pair also admitted to participating in a scheme in which two suppliers were told to inflate invoices to the club. When the club paid the invoices, one supplier returned the inflated amount by way of cash, which Irvine personally collected. Another supplier paid the money received from the inflated invoices into Irvine's credit union account.

Irvine then withdrew the cash and handed it to Scott Seward who paid cash to whichever player "was hammering him the most".

"I didn't think it was illegal," Irvine told NRL investigators in his interview with them on April 1. But he acknowledged the practice of inflating invoices to give cash payments to players was "shonky".

By the end of 2014, Irvine and Seward were desperate. Their predecessors had promised thousands and thousands of dollars in the under-the-table deals, which had been negotiated in cafés with nothing more than a shake of the hand.

"The players are like animals you know. They feed wherever they can," a frustrated Irvine complained to the NRL about players and their agents baying for their unwritten deals to be honoured.

According to his signed statement, Seward told investigators that by the end of 2014 he had to find $589,000 to honour these unwritten deals to players.

Seward's statement indicated that Peter Nolan, the then-recruitment manager, was aware of the details of most of the deals. He said that when he took over as CEO in mid 2013, he had expressed his concerns to Nolan as to how he was to find the money.

Under scrutiny: Peter Nolan.
Under scrutiny: Peter Nolan. Photo: Steve Lunam

In his statement, Seward said Nolan told him not to worry because "people will help us out".

Irvine said that Seward was "under the pump really severely once" and he phoned Tony Herman, a former under 20s' coach, whose company Green Options was doing groundwork for the club.

"Mate, we need 30 grand," Irvine claims Seward told Herman.

According to tax invoices obtained by Fairfax Media in early 2015, Green Options was asked to transfer three amounts – $40,000, $32,000 and $17,490 – into Irvine's credit union account.

However, Irvine was adamant that only two of the amounts were paid into his account which he then provided in cash to Seward.

He told investigators that a mysterious transfer of $37,000 from his account to Jarryd Hayne was personal and had nothing to do with the club. Irvine was not asked where the money for the $37,000 payment to Hayne had come from.

Irvine also told investigators that his close friend, Leba Zibara, whose company supplied clothing to the club, helped out with inflated invoices.

Irvine said he went to Mr Zibara's home on the Central Coast on several occasions where he collected envelopes containing wads of cash. According to the transcript of his evidence he collected an estimated $20,000 in cash from Mr Zibara which he provided to Seward.

Irvine said he only once gave cash directly to a player and that was to former Eels hooker Nathan Peats.

"It was diabolical," Irvine told investigators about the "six grand" he gave to Peats early last year. He claimed Peats had said, "Mate, I am not playing footy no more" unless the club honoured his arrangements.

Irvine told the NRL that it wasn't his job to "know every rule inside the NRL". His job was getting players on a bus, feeding them "and making sure no one got caught at strip club"."
I'm sure that Law.Com and a former regular poster who ran for the board, and who repeatedly suggested that we had to honour these old deals, will have a solution.

Napkins, toilet paper, cash in car parks, over inflated invoices the plumber used all expertise here that's for sure lol

Ouch. This is what I figured, and the responsibility of the Board was to monitor it's employees actions and that is where it seems things have failed.

Just to clarify, who was on the board post 2013. I remember Kenny Edwards was the CEO before that and he was CEO under Roy

I also remember Ken Edwards asking a group of us about the Boys performance against the Titans in Mudgee, I would say myself and others were democratic about the performance, Ken was not using some expletives to describe it.

Deregistered Parramatta Eels chairman Steve Sharp has spoken for the first time since the NRL banned him and four other club officials from the game.

The Eels Board met for more than three hours on Monday night to discuss the possibility of a final appeal over the club's salary cap breaches.

"It was a normal board meeting discussing what happened on the weekend and where to from now," Mr Sharp said.

When asked if they would appeal, Mr Sharp said: "I can't do a thing until the NRL hands down their determination from the breach notice. That hasn't happened yet."

On Saturday the Eels were formally stripped of 12 completion points and fined $1 million dollars by the NRL.

"They gave their determination but the reasons for dismissing the submissions are still waiting to come," Mr Sharp said.

Once that paperwork comes through the club has a week to decide if it wants to pursue one final avenue of appeal.

Mr Sharp said he was desperate to speak to the game's governing body.

"I've been trying to talk to the NRL for quite sometime but they haven't been returning the offer," he said.

He confirmed chief executive Todd Greenberg had called him before handing down a raft of penalties on Saturday, including his deregistration.

"Todd called me in the morning and [said] that they'd looked at my submission and thought it was strong and good however they were standing by their original decision," he said.

On Monday Mr Sharp was implicated in a report suggesting he allegedly used a coffee shop napkin to handwrite a third party agreement offer worth tens of thousands of dollars for a player.

He has strongly denied this, saying: "I don't deal with player managers, I don't negotiate contracts and I never have. That was all fallacy."

The NRL has been approached for comment.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-07-...sharp-speaks-for-first-time-since-ban/7588060

Didn't a Previous board member write an invoice on the back of a drink coaster, in relation to the Leagues Club staff Xmas party ?

I know that the media are just releasing excerpts of interviews or affidavits used in the evidence gathered by the NRL (however they are being published as BOOM news) but really after all these brown paper bag payments taking place over the years, 12 points is a pretty good result.

I agree with Sharp that we deserve a written verdict which must deal with our responses and why ultimately they were ineffective in having the punishment reduced.

The rogue employee stance has merit if it can shown that the board had knowledge of the shenanigans. Albiet hard to establish when the board are on record about arranging dodgy TPAs.

I'm in two minds about the appeal. Part of me wants to move on but also I see merit in trying to claw 2/4/6 points back as it would certainly mean the difference between playing finals or not.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/spo...s/news-story/01f5695aff20ef47c1f66a8847fd06df

NRL needs to take some blame for ignoring Eels warning signs
Parramatta director Andrew Cordwell told NRL investigators the game’s governing body must bear some responsibility for the Eels’ malaise and may have even been complicit in their salary cap flaws by ignoring warning signs emanating from the club.

Cordwell, one of four directors who avoided any sanctions as a result of the salary cap scandal which cost the club 12 premiership points and a $1 million fine, told investigators he believed that the officials who ultimately lost their registration had the Eels’ best interests at heart. His interview with the NRL integrity unit is among more than 700 pages of documents obtained by The Australian, which provide a window into the scandal that has dogged Parramatta for months.

“I think I’ve already explained to you that life’s not black and white, that those guys over three years who were directors all that time had a massive task to clear up the group,” Cordwell said. “I’m telling you they did it ... and they cleaned up the leagues club, they’ve fought tooth and nail trying to get the criminal elements out of the PDRL (Parramatta District Rugby League) ... and these guys have the club’s interests and the NRL interests at heart.

“I’m absolutely convinced of that otherwise I’d have left the board and I have never been involved in a discussion to set out to breach the salary cap rules at all.”

Cordwell questioned why NRL head of club services Tony Crawford didn’t raise concerns when Cordwell told him he had joined the board to “keep the crooks out”, describing it as a “mild form of self-reporting”.

He also claimed alarm bells should have rung at Rugby League Central when former NRL chief executive Dave Smith complained to ex-Eels chairman Steve Sharp about the number of calls he received from another former director, Peter Serrao.

Both Sharp and Serrao were deregistered by the NRL. “I also know Dave Smith rang Steve Sharp and complained about the number of times Pete Serrao wanted to talk to him,” Cordwell said.

“Now, I don’t know what they talked about. I’ve got no idea what they talked about but don’t you think that might have raised a bit of an alarm bell as well — why is this director continually wanting to get in the ear of (Smith)?”

Cordwell joined the board midway through last year along with Tanya Gadiel and Paul Garrard, and they were immediately handed a charter for change. The trio, along with Geoff Gerard, were the four board members to survive the NRL’s investigation into the club’s salary-cap dramas.

The quartet spent last night mulling over their next move, with the prospect of an appeal shaping as a last resort for the club as it attempts to reduce the NRL sanctions, which were largely based on the testimony of former chief executive Scott Seward and ex-football manager Jason Irvine.

Seward and Irvine provided the NRL with explicit details of the way the club circumvented the salary cap by paying players cash generated through false invoices. In their response to the NRL allegations, the Eels requested the evidence of both Seward and Irvine be passed onto the police.

“Yeah, well it just gets to the point where you know, we’re starting to sort of like look at ... suppliers and you know, Scott sort of said, you know, at the end of the day he said to me, you know mate, we can put — I can put 10 per cent on the back or something on the back of bills and we can get it back that way and, you know, at the end of the day we’re paying for it and we fix up the bills,” Irvine said. “And that’s ... where it happened.”

Irvine revealed he would pass on cash to Seward, which in turn would be given to players. “You know, cash is king,” Irvine said.

Cordwell wasn’t the only Eels official frustrated with what he perceived as a lack of action from the NRL. In his interview with NRL investigators, Sharp claimed he tried to contact Smith on a number of occasions to discuss the situation only to be rebuffed.

“I kept asking Dave for a meeting ... and he kept saying, ‘Oh, I’ll call you next week, I’II call you next week,” Sharp said. “I was quite frustrated with Dave’s lack of openness and communication.”

Deputy chairman Tom Issa questioned why the NRL didn’t allow the club to “trade out” of trouble. Issa said he discussed the issues at Newcastle and the Gold Coast — both clubs are now owned by the NRL — with Crawford.

“And my understanding was the NRL allowed those clubs to trade out of some serious sins of the past,” Issa said.

Kornstar

So Seward seems to be dodgy af yet his mate hasn't said a word about him.....helps to have Toddles in your corner I guess.