Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Team vs Bulldogs - Round 9.

God knows what he teaches them, but defence wouldnt be high on the list don't you think.

He's coaching in the NRL, I'd suspect it's high on his list.
Why their defence is so shite atm, I'm not so sure.

And yes, you were right about those tickets. lol

Noise

So Kearney teaches them to do that?

Who is in charge of the defence at the moment?? Is it Kearney or one of the assistants? Whoever it is, they are doing a terrible job and if he's not telling them to rush out of the line then what he is communicating to players ain't working

I agree, it's not only "not working", it's appalling.
What's frustrating is that last year, we were tight in defence and our goal line defence was super. It was what kept us in so many games. I don't understand why it has changed so much for the worse.

Mr Pmatta

Like I said earlier in this thread, the club shit started with the punting of DA, the club shit is still amongst us and the club shit will not go away until we go back and clean up all the club shit and the club shit makers, this means at least half of the present board of directors (preferably they all resign immediately) have to go and Stephen Kearney must resign as head coach too. Pride is a most terrible brain state. If they are presently without reason and logic we fans, members and staff have to cause an overnight mutiny. It's up to us to stop the rot. It's obvious they can't!
Hey Casper remember the forumite, who suggested we boycott these useless bastards about a month ago?, and most of the guys went ape shit in here, for what its worth I agree with ur comments, though cant c it happening (mutiny) that is, though count me in if u choose to start one, wasted my cash purchasing a season ticket this year, regardless though have been to 1 game and that will be it, these pricks arent worth the petrol money, if anyone wants the ticket feel free to get in touch.

You bought a season ticket and 1 game is enough?

Wanker.

lingard

Statement 1,

and statement 2.

How does statement 2 support statement 1?

Statement 1 implies a tactical issue; statement 2 implies attitude. So which is it?

If players don`t have confidence in the coaches instructions or game plans or tactics, they are prone to panic on the field. Do you think Stephen Kearney is a good coach?

lingard

If it's both at once then how could you know if it was either?

Deductive reasoning mate. You can only prove one hypothesis by disproving or otherwise eliminating the other. And that's ignoring the potential influence of every other variable.

The fact is we don't know why, and the only thing that's useful is putting forward potential theories. Repeating the same one over and over makes this place boring, and only encourages hysteria in the monkeys that find it the simplest and most emotionally satisfying.

Do you think Stephen Kearney is a good coach?

lingard

He's coaching in the NRL, I'd suspect it's high on his list.
Why their defence is so shite atm, I'm not so sure.

And yes, you were right about those tickets. lol

You`re not sure, but you`re pretty sure it`s not the coach?

Do you think Stephen Kearney is a good coach?

I honestly still think it's too early to tell.
My comments may be misconstrued for support of Kearney. The only thing I support is that I think it's too early to sack him and it would be detrimental to what I believe COULD be longer term success.

You`re not sure, but you`re pretty sure it`s not the coach?

No, I said I'm not sure. In fact, I reckon you aren't either. But you've made up your mind, regardless of knowing what's actually happening behind the scene's.
I haven't made up my mind yet, because I don't know either. I probably never will.

not_sure_if_serious_pug.jpg

Ralphy

OK , Suitman , challenge these facts...
our team is 6 points behind towards the end of that grand final , but running hot ,
and Fui tries to play the ball but Smith gets his knee in and the ref calls a scrum with Melbourne feed.
They show a slow motion replay and the commentary panel just groan.
So , should have been a Parra penalty with 6 tackes in Melbourne`s end...instead , its a Melbourne
field goal and game over.
Less than a year later a new coach takes over and starts pissing off all of these grand finalists.
Seems that they are somehow contaminated.
Then he comes up with a give me 5 years to build a grand finalist team.
FFS , we had an excellent team . Most of them are doing real well at other clubs or being wasted at Wenty.
Are we supposed to all go to another planet or somewhere , and come back in 5 years?

lingard

My comments may be misconstrued for support of Kearney. The only thing I support is that I think it's too early to sack him and it would be detrimental to what I believe COULD be longer term success.

Okay. I respect that. Can`t see it myself, but I respect that opinion. I hope like hell you`re right, by the way.

Everyone knows benji and Farah crab sideways, looking for a runner. Why did we let them????? Our defensive structure should of been to give them no room, yet we gave them all the room in the world.

So if everyone knows they do it (and I agree, everyone knows), then how do they still manage to keep doing it and be successful?

The Tigers' defensive woes aside, Farah and Marshall are the two best playmakers in the world at their position. They're not exactly easy to stop just because teams know what they're going to do.

Next time you want to spout off about your conclusions, put some f**king rigour into your thought. Simple f**king logic, FFS.

I agree, it's not only "not working", it's appalling.
What's frustrating is that last year, we were tight in defence and our goal line defence was super. It was what kept us in so many games. I don't understand why it has changed so much for the worse.

Agreed.

If we had been this shit in defence last year I would have assumed it's because Kearney has no idea.

The fact is we have gotten worse which shows me tactics aren't the issue. There is something much deeper wrong with our club. That's the only logical explanation.

As for Kearney's role in that problem, or his ability to fix it in a short time frame, how would any of us know?