Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Farah and thoughts on him...

ucantseeme

Farah has been copping it from all sides without much justification. The Tallis conversation was over a year ago, if it happened at all. Last year it was "Benji is to blame". This year it is "Robbie is to blame". If you forced Robbie out of the club who would be next in line to be scapegoated?

Fordy20

What is it with these factions,seriously do they actually think that the old Magpies or Tigers clubs have a chance of being resurrected as a single entity back into the NRL at the WT expense,f**king dreaming and delusional if that is the case.

It's maddening isn't it? If it got to the point that the NRL allowed the JV to be dissolved, there would be a few more byes to go around until the Bombers, Pirates or Central Coast Bears came back in.

Fordy20

This is hardly going to end with The Footy Show interview on Thursday.

Almost two weeks already while Farah drags this on.

Farah and Mayer have been enormous for this club.

Keep a 30 year old Farah or a proven first class administrator......
Thinking someone has to go...

Not just someone, it's the whole board. It doesn't matter who the coach is or who the CEO is, while the club is saddled with these dinosaurs, crap like this will continue.

Leaguelegend20

Robbie Farah is a joke. The entire Rugby League community is laughing at him. Even those who do not support the game and merely reside in the Sydney metropolitan region perceive him to be a thing of ridicule. Robbie is a great player, he is set to become the most prolific try scoring hooker of all time in the coming weeks. However, the way he handles adversity leaves much to be desired. Plenty of players are vilified in the media. But when Robbie cops it, he turns on the histrionics for all to see.

Last nights "tweet" epitomises this. The man can not handle being attacked. Instead of sitting on his ass at home, surrounded by his wife (not) & laughing at these idiots creating a shit storm over nothing, he is forced to unnecessarily defend himself. Why does the bloke care what the media think of him? If he knows deep down he is in the right, then there is no need to react so defensively. Rob has made his bed, now he must be forced to lie in it. Here he is now acting like a victim on the Footy Show, when this whole circus could have been averted by simply coming out in the beginning and addressing it. Now the issue has snow balled, and Robbie is the joke of Sydney. He makes Clover Moore look like a revered statesman.

Robbies demise is paradoxical in nature. In an attempt to avoid scrutiny he said nothing. Now to get away from the scrutiny, he does not shut up. The guy is a laughing stock. He is bringing the club into disrepute, and he must go. No one man is bigger than the club. We have plenty of young kids coming through who would be disheartened by Farah's nonchalance towards the club, shown in both private & media circles. This is evidence by his threat to bombastic manager Sam Ayoub that he wants to "leave the club" & his public attack on Mayer & the management for not retaining Tedesco. No matter how bad the management are, this is not acceptable. The man should focus on playing footy, nothing else. He is a busy body, and now he is a joke. It is a shame for he was once of the games most respected players. No more. He is a loud mouth & a source of ridicule & entertainment, unless you are a Wests Tigers supporter.

Wizardman

Robbie Farah is a joke. The entire Rugby League community is laughing at him. Even those who do not support the game and merely reside in the Sydney metropolitan region perceive him to be a thing of ridicule. Robbie is a great player, he is set to become the most prolific try scoring hooker of all time in the coming weeks. However, the way he handles adversity leaves much to be desired. Plenty of players are vilified in the media. But when Robbie cops it, he turns on the histrionics for all to see.

Last nights "tweet" epitomises this. The man can not handle being attacked. Instead of sitting on his ass at home, surrounded by his wife (not) & laughing at these idiots creating a shit storm over nothing, he is forced to unnecessarily defend himself. Why does the bloke care what the media think of him? If he knows deep down he is in the right, then there is no need to react so defensively. Rob has made his bed, now he must be forced to lie in it. Here he is now acting like a victim on the Footy Show, when this whole circus could have been averted by simply coming out in the beginning and addressing it. Now the issue has snow balled, and Robbie is the joke of Sydney. He makes Clover Moore look like a revered statesman.

Robbies demise is paradoxical in nature. In an attempt to avoid scrutiny he said nothing. Now to get away from the scrutiny, he does not shut up. The guy is a laughing stock. He is bringing the club into disrepute, and he must go. No one man is bigger than the club. We have plenty of young kids coming through who would be disheartened by Farah's nonchalance towards the club, shown in both private & media circles. This is evidence by his threat to bombastic manager Sam Ayoub that he wants to "leave the club" & his public attack on Mayer & the management for not retaining Tedesco. No matter how bad the management are, this is not acceptable. The man should focus on playing footy, nothing else. He is a busy body, and now he is a joke. It is a shame for he was once of the games most respected players. No more. He is a loud mouth & a source of ridicule & entertainment, unless you are a Wests Tigers supporter.

Im amazed by the amount of Wests Tiger fans defending his actions. I was thrown out of two forums for saying pretty much what you said. He needs to be held partly accountable. If not, I won't spend a dollar on Wests Tigers stuff in 2015.

I don't see it anywhere near like what you are stating depending on what he says on the Footy show which I won't watch anyway.

To me Tallis has been a complete muppet and shown himself to have zero credibility.

Robbie hasn't handled himself well only because he gets too fired up when he should probably just ignore all this BS but he is a human being and makes mistakes. I bet he feels bad about his actions but I think it is overblown and taken out of context. So he told Tallis off - he should have. He didn't turn up to a press conference when it seems to me he was never intended too. He also missed one day of training to get his head right - again no big issue.

If you were coaching him what would you really state. Robbie you need to calm down and not take things so personally. Sometimes it is best to ignore stupid shit rather than get worked up.

I just don't see the big deal.

BalmainBoy_1969

The entire Rugby League community is laughing at him. Even those who do not support the game and merely reside in the Sydney metropolitan region perceive him to be a thing of ridicule

Stating your opinion as fact is a s#!t go champ. Surely it's arrogance to assume you know the thoughts of the entire sydney metro area ? Reminds me of TV adds saying stuff like "All of Australia is watching" knowing full well it's a complete lie". Rather small minded I must say.

If anything, it does at least show he is passionate.

Perhaps, but his handling of the situation has been poor. Everyone within the club involved in this whole sorry saga could have handled the situation better though, so Farah is no Robinson Crusoe there.

Ron's_Mate

Remember it was only last week that a lot of people on these forums were putting the boot into Farah, claiming that he was the one undermining Potter. It's now been established that he wasn't, but was the victim of a dirty tricks campaign from inside the club - most likely the board. Imagine that - the board trying to sack the coach and pin the blame on their captain. Robbie has every right to be upset & to come out and tell his side of the story. I fully support him.

Matchball

It's not that I don't support him, his attitude needs an adjustment.
His captaincy would be in jeopardy at any other club besides the sharks.

Great player but a very mediocre captain. Shows poor leadership and that's what captains are supposed to be about.
I'm sure if we did strip it off him he'd probably sook and pull up stumps.

Perhaps, but his handling of the situation has been poor. Everyone within the club involved in this whole sorry saga could have handled the situation better though, so Farah is no Robinson Crusoe there.
Not saying that Farah has handled this well.

I'm just confused as to why he is copping almost the entirety of the hatred considering his involvement in what started the fiasco was next to nil.

He and all the players distanced themselves from any decision on the coaching situation at the club a number of weeks ago.

The board refused to re-sign Potter.

At this stage, the board is the one who needs to show some leadership. During this time, Mayer was mostly silent, happy for the questions to be directed to Farah and Potter.

And that started the rumours.

Tallis revealed his now 16 month old story that directly implicated Farah in something he wasn't involved in. Farah refrained from talking about the matter very much at all publicly (the Tallis issue or the Potter issue).

I'm just having a hard time of understanding how so much of this mess can be pinned on Farah. He has no support from the board.

The board, including Mayer have shown no leadership ata ll.

Farah's refusal to face the media has forced the board into action. He's undoubtedly sick of dealing with their shit. He hasn't caused the issues with the board and he's not the reason for the issues with the board.

Mayer, for all the good he has done, has been completely and utterly pathetic during this entire saga. He has failed to show any leadership whatsoever.

Could Farah have handled himself better? Of course he could have. At times he has appeared childish even.

But no way in hell am I going to call for him to be punted, or stripped of the captaincy. Nor will I call him a sook, or arrogant or any of that other nonsense.

It's not that I don't support him, his attitude needs an adjustment.
His captaincy would be in jeopardy at any other club besides the sharks.

Great player but a very mediocre captain. Shows poor leadership and that's what captains are supposed to be about.
I'm sure if we did strip it off him he'd probably sook and pull up stumps.
Even if Farah was behaving himself, it doesn't change very much of this saga, which is the incompetent board and their inaction regarding Potter's contract.

Something that the players requested to be completely distanced from several weeks ago.

Mayer was happy to let Farah cop all the shit in the media though when the shit hit the fan. He sat back for over a week before doing anything, and when he did do something, he butchered it and inflamed the situation (Farah's video praising Potter).

Leadership starts at the top. If you don't set a good example as a CEO, then you have got buckleys f**king chance of anyone else in the organisation following suit.

It rots from the head.

Matchball

Robbie should just follow suit of everyone else at the club and shut his mouth and twitter account.
Media is only inflaming it further due to Robbie's actions.

Also, the footy show tell all is disgusting. What a circus.

Robbie should just follow suit of everyone else at the club and shut his mouth and twitter account.
Media is only inflaming it further due to Robbie's actions.

Also, the footy show tell all is disgusting. What a circus.

As i said earlier, a Strong CEO would keep that shit in check.

Look at Manly, full of disgruntled players, and a divided board, but their CEO manages to keep everyone in check without constantly bleating in the media.

Or CEO is always running his gob in the media but has no control over the board or the players.

http://m.dailytelegraph.com.au/spor...back-the-players/story-fni3gpz1-1227015838053

I'm backing Mayer on this.
One line really stands out to me and stopped reading the article at this point.

Mayer even doesn't understand why this is being dragged out.

I think its being dragged out, because the fox sports guys are protecting their own (Tallis), the SMH really didn't get involved at all until late in the game.

As for the line ?In hindsight, we should have put it to bed on the Saturday.? Isn't that what RF is up in arms about, the fact that they didn't.

Matchball

I think its being dragged out, because the fox sports guys are protecting their own (Tallis), the SMH really didn't get involved at all until late in the game.

As for the line ?In hindsight, we should have put it to bed on the Saturday.? Isn't that what RF is up in arms about, the fact that they didn't.

Farah could have put it all to bed at the Dragons presser yet he sulked about co workers not having his back for another fortnight.
He is supposed to be our leader but that isn't the actions of a good one.

Sometimes it's best to say nothing because really its all fuelled by gossip. Tallis said this Farah said that.
Again, great player but a shit captain and personality.

Farah is an emotional and passionate person who wears his heart on his sleeve.He may be terse and blunt with the media rather than articulate with his answers at times,but i have always found him to be honest.To some people,dramas or other peoples opinions of them are like water off a ducks back,Farah on the other hand takes it to heart and feels a need to defend himself,which is fair enough as we are all different,this was clearly evident when Matty Johns caught Farah off gaurd and ambushed him last year.Now that Tallis has done a dog act on him,his trust levels with the media will have sunken further.
Some people have bagged Farah for his actions and out burst,he himself probably would admit he could of handled it better, but in his defence,when the board made no effort in coming forward and making a statement,clearing the players of undermining the coach,what was Farah meant to do? say nothing,stay silent and just cop it for something he was not a part of or instigated.I wonder if the same people who are bagging him now would still be doing it if he took the other approach and remained silent,i believe doubters of Farah would then see his silence on the matter as an admission of guilt.

if Farah had've stayed quiet, it would have fuelled speculation that he was in on some plot to sack Potter.

So he speaks up and defends himself vigorously and is called a sook

As I've said before, he was in a lose-lose situation. It seems some Tigers fans have been looking for a reason to hate on the bloke and decided this would be it.

The problem with this club existed before Farah started his NRL career here.

And everyone knows that.

But some choose to ignore it so as to take pot shots at Farah.