Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Finals Week 2 vs Souths

getsmarty

Dragons 2018: Mann out to haunt old mentor in finals blockbuster
AFL
r0_0_4705_3137_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

INTO THE FIRE: Dragons utility Kurt Mann will step into the No. 6 jumper on Saturday. Picture: Adam McLean

DRAGONS utility Kurt Mann wouldn't have made his NRL debut without Anthony Seibold – but the Rabbitohs coach shouldn't expect any favours from his former protege this week.

Mann was on Tuesday named in the No. 6 jumper for Saturday's semi-final showdown with Souths after captain Gareth Widdop suffered a season-ending shoulder injury last week.

It will pit him directly against Cody Walker in the halves, with the pair having played in lower grades with Melbourne under Seibold, who's at almost un-backable odds to claim Coach of the Year honours in his debut season as a head coach.

It comes to no surprise to Mann who credits his former NYC coach with getting him NRL-ready after he shifted from Newcastle ahead of the 2013 season.

“I always thought at some stage he would be an NRL coach and look at him now, he's got his opportunity and grabbed it with both hands,” Mann said.

“He was always a cool, calm head around the place. He coached me in the 20s and I spent a lot of time with him playing reserve grade.

“He looked after the boys who weren’t playing first grade to push them through. He pushed me along to make my debut and I’ll be forever thankful for that.

“I spent a bit of time with Cody in Melbourne for a couple of years there as well. He's a competitor, that's one thing remember.

“He hates losing and I'm sure he'll be ripping and tearing come game day.”

It promises to be a pressure-cooker for Mann, though he's no stranger to big games having reached the preliminary final with Melbourne in 2014.

“It’ll be massive, any finals game is big,” Mann said.

“There were 50,000 people there last week [at Suncorp] in an elimination final so there was a lot on the line there.

“I played in some big finals games in Melbourne, I played in a preliminary final where we fell a game short of a grand final.

“Just another game of footy is probably the best way to treat it. All finals games are different, there's a always a different scenario so we’ll just take it step by step.

“Footy's a pretty simple game so keeping it simple is the best way to do things. Gaz plays differently to me but Benny [Hunt] has played with me before and knows what to expect.”

Hunt has been caught in a firestorm of criticism post-Origin as the Dragons limped toward to finals, but re-found his groove against his former club last week.

Widdop's absence is enough for many to put a line through the Dragons this week, but Hunt found a silver lining in the way he and Mann closed the show in a 48-18 win.

“Once Gaz went out I knew I'd have to take on a bit more of a [dominant] role,” Hunt said.

“It was a good feeling to know we could score some points once he was gone.

“We went on with it and that was the satisfying thing. It gives us a bit of confidence we can do the job without [Widdop].

“Kurt's a quality player and he'll do his job I know we didn't play the best footy or win all those games [we've played together] but I thought he did a great job in his role.

"We all know Kurt's a great runner of the ball and we just want to keep encouraging him this week that, if he sees an opportunity or sees something, we want him to take it on.”

Returning to Suncorp Stadium for the first time in rival colours, in an elimination final no less, would have been daunting for some, but Hunt said the familiar surrounds put him at ease.

“It wasn't too bad to be honest,” Hunt said.

“I've played some really big games up there with massive crowds. I know the crowd wasn't on my side this time but it didn't really feel that different being out there to playing with the Broncos.

“It's something I've always enjoyed and to go back and play there again was a nice feeling. It was probably a good thing for me in a way.

“I've played so much football there and definitely felt the same. I only really heard the crowd having a crack at me whenever the kickoff came but, other than that, it just felt exactly the same.”

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au...unt-old-mentor-in-finals-blockbuster/?cs=2375

getsmarty

Nene Macdonald prepared for Greg Inglis in NRL finals fixture
AFL
r0_148_3672_2494_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Prepared for South Sydney: Nene Macdonald is looking forward to taking on his childhood idol Greg Inglis on Satruday night. Picture: NRL Imagery/Scott Davis.

Growing up in Queensland in the late 2000s was tough for rugby league fans.

With so many superstars representing the Maroons, it was difficult for many kids to pick a favourite.

Such was the case for Papua New Guinean-born and Cairns-raised Nene Macdonald, with the winger unable to split his allegiance for Matt Bowen and Greg Inglis.

Now 24 and playing for St George Illawarra, Macdonald is faced with the surreal experience of lining up against his teenage idol in a sudden-death NRL final.

While fully aware of what Inglis can produce, Macdonald is looking forward to the challenge ahead.

“I’ve always looked up to him, he’s been one of my idols growing up,” Macdonald said. “I loved watching him when I was growing up, especially playing for Queensland and me growing up in Cairns. He was one of my idols, him and Matt Bowen were two people I loved watching play.

“When Inglis is on, he’s tough to stop. It’ll be a good challenge though. I think at finals time everyone steps up, so it will be exciting to see what happens.”

Having had his first taste of finals football in enemy territory, Macdonald is looking forward to taking on the Rabbitohs in front of the St George Illawarra faithful at ANZ Stadium.

“It was a packed stadium full of Broncos fans, we just had a little patch of Dragons fans. It was good to see them all come up, and to get the win.

“It’s going to be a good turnout on Saturday. It’s going to be a crazy stadium with all the Souths and Dragons fans there, it’s going to be exciting.”

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/5642603/macdonald-set-to-face-idol/?cs=2375

blacksafake

Any chance you guys could just concede this one and let us through to the GF qualifier?

It would really help our chances of beating the Roosters next week if you give us this week off to rest and recuperate.

Really... As long as the Roosters don't make the GF, you guys will be happy right?
Nice try Rabbit but the answers no :grinning:

getsmarty

When Hunt knew the Dragons were back on track
Author
Brad Walter Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Wed 12 Sep 2018, 06:24 PM

St George Illawarra halfback Ben Hunt said he allowed himself a moment of on-field reflection after Luciano Leilua's 68th-minute try in last Sunday's 48-18 finals defeat of Brisbane at Suncorp Stadium.

After being so worn down by criticism in the previous eight weeks that he had begun consulting a psychologist, Hunt felt levels of triumph and relief he hadn't experienced since a round six defeat of Cronulla.

Not only had the Dragons stunned their detractors, they'd overcome the loss of five-eighth Gareth Widdop with a dislocated shoulder in the 57th minute. The way the team responded has given Hunt confidence heading into Saturday night's semi-final against South Sydney.

"I got a bit of a scare when they scored a try and Gareth got injured. I got a bit nervous then and thought, 'here we go', but when Luciano scored, that was probably the moment for me," Hunt said.

"I just remember walking back for the kick-off thinking, 'we've done it here, we're onto the next game'.

"It was a really happy feeling. I think it was a mix of relief and happiness that we'd got the job done. I think we had a good win down here [at WIN Stadium] against the Sharks, that was probably the last time I had the feeling of 'that's a pretty good win'."

Rabbitohs v Dragons - Semi-Final

Without Widdop for the last 23 minutes against Brisbane, Hunt had to take greater responsibility for directing the team around the field. St George Illawarra managed to increase their lead after their captain was taken from the field.

"It was a good feeling to know we could score some points once he was gone," Hunt said.

"We went on with it and that was the satisfying thing. It definitely makes you feel a lot more confident that you can do it. Everyone is happy and bouncing around at training."

Utility Kurt Mann, who has played all 25 matches for the Dragons this season, will wear the No.6 jersey against the Rabbitohs as he had done in the previous three matches after Widdop initially dislocated his shoulder in the round 22 loss to Parramatta.

Since then, the Dragons have won three of their past four matches, and Hunt and Mann said they had developed a good combination.

"I know we didn't play the best footy or win all those games but I thought he did a great job in his role," Hunt said.

"We all know Kurt's a great runner of the ball and we just want to keep encouraging him this week that, if he sees an opportunity or sees something, we want him to take it on."

Mann said he wasn't going to try to emulate Widdop but would play his own game, which evolved since he joined Melbourne in 2013 as a replacement for the English star.

The Players' 13

During his four seasons with the Storm, Mann played centre, fullback and hooker for the NRL team or their Easts Tigers feeder team in Queensland's Intrust Super Cup, where he played alongside Rabbitohs five-eighth Cody Walker.

"Every chance I get to play in the halves I think it's a good audition for me," Mann said. "You can't pin it down to one game. If you want to play in the halves you have to be consistent.

"It's my most preferred position. Getting that opportunity is always good. Playing there is something I feel comfortable doing. Nothing has changed compared to the last few weeks where I've played there. I thought I played pretty well and I’ve performed pretty well overall."

https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/09/12...-george-illawarra-dragons-were-back-on-track/

getsmarty

lomaxz-180513nh01.jpg

DRAGONS

Lomax and Sergis in doubt for varying reasons
Author
Brad Walter Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Wed 12 Sep 2018, 06:01 PM

Jess Sergis is set to be cleared to play for St George Illawarra in Saturday’s Holden NRL Women’s Premiership match at ANZ Stadium but her partner Zac Lomax is unsure whether he will retain his NRL berth.

Sergis was heavily concussed in last Sunday’s historic women’s match against Brisbane at Suncorp Stadium but has passed the first part of a staged concussion testing process.

Lomax, who has impressed in his three NRL games, is awaiting a decision on whether he or Aitken will play opposite Rabbitohs superstar Greg Inglis in the line-up for the men's semi-final against South Sydney if the more experienced Dragons centre is fit.

"That is entirely up to Mary," Lomax said on Wednesday. "If Euan plays he showed what he can do against GI earlier in the season but I can do the job if I do get the nod."

Lomax has already played against Inglis after being given his first taste of NRL action in the 75th minute of the round 10 clash at ANZ Stadium, won 24-10 by Souths.

Inglis had been Lomax’s idol while playing junior for Temora Dragons and Thirroul Butchers but he received an unwanted welcome to first grade when the Queensland captain forced his way over for a 78th-minute try.

sergis-lomax_20180912.jpg

"It was just right at the end, there was a bit of an overlap down the edge and what I clearly remember is trying to push GI over in the corner but he ended up getting the try," Lomax said.

"He is big and powerful and I guess watching footy he is someone I looked up to, especially because I play centre and fullback so he is someone to base your game on."

Dragons coach Paul McGregor had intended for the 18-year-old to get a further taste of NRL during the Origin period but he broke his wrist sparring with teammate Steven Marsters during a boxing session at training.

After being sidelined for eight weeks, Lomax didn’t get another opportunity until Aitken tore his hamstring against Canterbury two weeks ago and he started in St George Illawarra’s round-25 defeat of Newcastle and last Sunday’s 48-18 elimination final triumph against Brisbane.

"I was thankful to be given the opportunity to go up to Suncorp and play in front of a big crowd. It was a good feeling and one I won’t forget," Lomax said. "I still don’t know whether I will play or not, but the team is going to take a lot of confidence into this weekend’s game."

With Sergis also playing in the centres for the Dragons, Lomax has been able to pass on some tips to her as she is better known for her try scoring feats on the wing for NSW and Cronulla-Caringbah Sharks.

Lomax and Sergis are believed to be the first couple to play for NRL men’s and women’s teams and he was in the unique position of being able to watch his girlfriend play before taking the field in last Sunday’s elimination final at Suncorp Stadium.

Sergis and Robinson collide

Unfortunately, Sergis was knocked out in a head clash with Broncos winger Julia Robinson and taken from the field but Lomax could visit her in the dressing room and he said she was set to play against the Warriors on Saturday.

"Jess is all good at the moment, she is at home resting up, she has got a big game coming up this week and she is looking forward to that," Lomax said.

"She is just 100 miles an hour, she just flew in and got her foot caught wrong and ended up having a head clash. It was a pretty good collision. She was knocked out cold before she hit the ground."

https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/09/12...-jessica-sergis-in-doubt-for-varying-reasons/

Blood Shot Eyes

Any chance you guys could just concede this one and let us through to the GF qualifier?

It would really help our chances of beating the Roosters next week if you give us this week off to rest and recuperate.

Really... As long as the Roosters don't make the GF, you guys will be happy right?
Sorry mate its Rabbit stew then big rooster...lol

Blood Shot Eyes

Where’s the button to unlike this?
I think Lomax should fill the centre pairing with Lafai....both are reasonably solid in defence and besides Aitkens had a lot of hammy trouble this year and form as been ordinary when he has played...its bad enough relying on JDB injury to get him through without having the possibility of two going down....and the kid can kick goals

Lovemedragons

Is there any word on a possible rib injury to Tariq? I noticed watching the replay of the game he clutched at his ribs after a tackle early on in the second half and he was pretty quiet after that...god I hope not, he was awesome in that first half.

Mickthedragon

Finals wins like ours can bring momentum and confidence, where is losses can add pressure, especially since they are already big favorites given our injuries. We are in a great position as underdogs where it will seem like there's nothing to lose.
It could go either way but we are in with a chance providing we turn up like last week.

giboz71

Finals wins like ours can bring momentum and confidence, where is losses can add pressure, especially since they are already big favorites given our injuries. We are in a great position as underdogs where it will seem like there's nothing to lose.
It could go either way but we are in with a chance providing we turn up like last week.

100%.

I’d rather be approaching week 2 of the finals off the back of confidence boosting win against all odds, than a heartbreaking loss. It’s the only situation where finshing in the top 4 could almost be a disadvantage if you lose week 1, then having to face a side that’s just won a big semi.

Having said that, Souths still deserve to be big favourites given Widdop and Vaughan are missing.

It would be equivalent to them losing Reynolds and one of the Burgess twins.

Slippery Morris

Reynolds, Crichton and Inglis won't be 100%. Chrichton came off early and I just read Reynolds is getting needled up in the shoulder. He was clutching at it alot against the Storm. Inglis also did not look 100%. You never know they may succumb to some injuries. With them 3 struggling Saints have a big chance especially Reynolds. His kicking game is awesome and if he is gone they will struggle. Cody Walker's kicking game is not that good.

ALSGI

Just saw next week’s Sunday Telegraph.

Great pic of Luciano’s first try on the front page, especially with the Burgess boys scattered around him. Classic.

I thought the press were a bit hard on Souffs though, thought they matched it with us for the first 20.

The brawl just before half time didn’t get a lot of coverage except they think Dufty knocking Sam Burgess out was in self defence. They don’t think Graham, Sims and JDB will be in any strife for their involvement as it was provoked by Cook’s dummy spit which back fired big time when McInnes decked him.

They still think we’re no chance against the Chooks which is baffling but good for us.

Belta

Reynolds, Crichton and Inglis won't be 100%. Chrichton came off early and I just read Reynolds is getting needled up in the shoulder. He was clutching at it alot against the Storm. Inglis also did not look 100%. You never know they may succumb to some injuries. With them 3 struggling Saints have a big chance especially Reynolds. His kicking game is awesome and if he is gone they will struggle. Cody Walker's kicking game is not that good.

I hope inglis, Reynolds and Crichton are all off this week, but I doubt it.

They’ve had an extra 2 days recovery. Inglis has been monumentous of late and he won’t be any different this week. Reynolds bombs are second to none and will give Dufty nightmares, and despite the criticism of Sam, himself and his two behemoth bros are gunna bring it big time. The Dragons need to be better than last week imo to win this one.

getsmarty

finals-wk2_bel_landscape.png

TEAM LISTS

Behind enemy lines: Finals week 2
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Thu 13 Sep 2018, 10:54 AM

South Sydney Rabbitohs have named their mandatory 21-man squad to line up against Dragons in Saturday night's semi-final at ANZ Stadium.

Venue:ANZ Stadium

Team Lists
Backs
  • Fullback for Rabbitohs is number 1 Alex Johnston

Fullback for Dragons is number 1 Matthew Dufty
  • Winger for Rabbitohs is number 2 Campbell Graham

Winger for Dragons is number 2 Nene Macdonald
  • Centre for Rabbitohs is number 3 Greg Inglis

Centre for Dragons is number 3 Zac Lomax
  • Centre for Rabbitohs is number 4 Dane Gagai

Centre for Dragons is number 4 Timoteo Lafai
  • Winger for Rabbitohs is number 5 Robert Jennings

Winger for Dragons is number 5 Jordan Pereira
  • Five-Eighth for Rabbitohs is number 6 Cody Walker

Five-Eighth for Dragons is number 6 Kurt Mann
  • Halfback for Rabbitohs is number 7 Adam Reynolds

Halfback for Dragons is number 7 Ben Hunt
Forwards
  • Prop for Rabbitohs is number 8 Thomas Burgess

Prop for Dragons is number 8 James Graham
  • Hooker for Rabbitohs is number 9 Damien Cook

Hooker for Dragons is number 9 Cameron McInnes
  • Prop for Rabbitohs is number 10 George Burgess

Prop for Dragons is number 10 Leeson Ah Mau
  • 2nd Row for Rabbitohs is number 11 John Sutton

2nd Row for Dragons is number 11 Tyson Frizell
  • 2nd Row for Rabbitohs is number 12 Angus Crichton

2nd Row for Dragons is number 12 Tariq Sims
  • Lock for Rabbitohs is number 13 Sam Burgess

Lock for Dragons is number 13 Jack de Belin
Interchange
  • Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 14 Hymel Hunt

Interchange for Dragons is number 14 Jeremy Latimore
  • Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 15 Cameron Murray

Interchange for Dragons is number 15 Hame Sele
  • Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 16 Jason Clark

Interchange for Dragons is number 16 Blake Lawrie
  • Interchange for Rabbitohs is number 17 Dean Britt

Interchange for Dragons is number 17 Luciano Leilua
Reserves
  • Reserve for Rabbitohs is number 18 Braidon Burns

Reserve for Dragons is number 18 Jason Nightingale
  • Reserve for Rabbitohs is number 19 Mark Nicholls

Reserve for Dragons is number 19 Jai Field
  • Reserve for Rabbitohs is number 20 Tevita Tatola

Reserve for Dragons is number 20 Euan Aitken
  • Reserve for Rabbitohs is number 21 Connor Tracey

Reserve for Dragons is number 21 Jacob Host
Rabbitohs Ins
  • Braidon Burns
  • Connor Tracey
  • Mark Nicholls
  • Tevita Tatola
Ins
Dragons Ins
  • Euan Aitken
  • Hame Sele
  • Jacob Host
  • Jai Field
  • Jason Nightingale
Rabbitohs Outs

Outs
Dragons Ins
  • Gareth Widdop

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/09/13/behind-enemy-lines-finals-week-2/

Pablooo

100%.

I’d rather be approaching week 2 of the finals off the back of confidence boosting win against all odds, than a heartbreaking loss. It’s the only situation where finshing in the top 4 could almost be a disadvantage if you lose week 1, then having to face a side that’s just won a big semi.

Having said that, Souths still deserve to be big favourites given Widdop and Vaughan are missing.

It would be equivalent to them losing Reynolds and one of the Burgess twins.

I don’t think Souths’s loss to the Storm would deflate them. If anything they played a strong game in Melbourne against a strong Storm outfit and should of won. I think they will be pumped just like Saints will be and both teams will be desperate which means they will come out breathing fire and setup up a bell ringer of a game.

2010Dragons

We are the Saints, we are not charity. Salvation Army is that way ========>>>>>>

TruSaint

Now before I get shot down, I am very proud and surprised that we got to this game after such a capitulation over 2 months. However rest assured, Souths will be up for this big time.

Listening to Seibold on the radio today talking us up, watching some of the press starting to back us, one would think that one game has suddenly changed the whole dynamic of the finals series. Therein lies the danger. I really dislike all the hype, all the press from players, etc etc ... Keep it low key and humble. Like Graham did last week, where he basically told people to go put $$$ on Brisbane.

Im not saying we cant jag another win, but comments from Mary in the post game presser , i.e " are we now the form team of the comp", and players talking the team up etc could backfire. Im not saying they should be banned from comments, but it seems we are falling into a trap here. Damien Cook was very generous of his assessment of our chances. Suddenly, Mitchell Pearce thinks we are a good shot, as does Matty Elliot.

Its 48 hours from game day, and we seem to be the talk of the town.

I would much prefer that the media, other team players, pundits, all back the Bunnies, and our team remain very low key.