Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Finals Week One

getsmarty

Gifted one Lomax ready to shine for Dragons in NRL finals
Dragons Den
r0_438_5472_3648_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

PURE TALENT: Dragons young-gun Zac Lomax. Picture: Sylvia Liber

IT’S a fortress in its own right, but Gibson Park Thirroul doesn’t quite compare to Suncorp Stadium.

No doubt a few Butchers old boys would disagree, but Dragons young-gun Zac Lomax showed enough at the former two years ago to suggest he’ll handle the latter on Sunday.

That’s according to his former Steelers SG Ball coach Shane Millard, who was also Thirroul president when Lomax made his Illawarra League first grade debut against Wests in 2016, still 40 days shy of his 17th birthday.

Millard had to pull a few strings to get him on the park but it was certainly worth it, with Lomax laying on two tries and nailing a couple of sideline conversions in the second half to very nearly overhaul a 26-6 deficit.

The Butchers ultimately went down 26-22 but most, including Millard, left the ground knowing Lomax’s in days in park footy were numbered.

“It was his first game of first grade and he said ‘let me kickoff, let me kick goals’, he just wanted to be that person and that player,” Millard said.

“It takes a special kid to do that in his first game against men but gives you an idea of the type of kid he is and his belief in himself.

“That’s what makes him better than most. Most kids would just try and do what they needed to but he wanted to be in that game, he wanted to kick that goal, he wanted the ball at critical times of the game.

“You can’t coach that. It’s in you or it’s not and, at 16 years old, to do that in a first grade game for Thirroul, it stuck out and let you know he’s going to be something special.”

Not that you’d doubt anyone current NSW coach Brad Fittler has dubbed “the gifted one,” but Millard said it’s not the physical gifts that set the Temora product apart.

“He’s got every attribute, size, strength, but he competes as hard as any kid I’ve ever seen,” Millard said.

“He’s got that competitive nature, he’s a kid that on his day off will go and kick a thousand goals. He’s got the ability to go with it, but it’s that attitude to train and compete hard on everything that stood out for me.”

They were qualities that also struck Thirroul coach Jarrod Costello, then in his rookie year, who’ll coach the Butchers against Wests in this Sundays’ Illawarra League grand final.

“We had to get some approvals from the CRL to let him play,” Costello said.

“He played in the centres, he was up against Junior Vaivai who was one of the best centres in the comp.

“We were down a couple of tries and all of a sudden he was kicking for touch, putting mid-field bombs up, we were scoring tries, he was converting them from the sideline. He was outstanding.”

It’s days like that gusty afternoon at Gibbo that leave Millard confident Lomax can bounce back from a mixed afternoon in his 80-minute debut against Newcastle last week.

Called in for the injured Euan Aitken, who tweaked a hamstring against the Bulldogs a week earlier, Lomax spilled a ball over the try-line and put an attempted penalty goal into the upright in the first half.

He bounced back in the second, finding Matt Dufty for his second-half try and nailing some crucial conversions to put a gritty 10-point win to bed down the stretch and retain the No. 3 jumper for Sunday’s elimination final against Brisbane at Suncorp.

Aitken was named on an extended bench, and could be a late inclusion, but Millard is confident Lomax can stand up to the finals heat if required to make just his third NRL appearance on the finals stage.

“Zac’s the type of kid that’ll thrive on it,” Millard said.

“You’ve got Internationals who’d be nervous and excited all at the same time but he’s the type of kid that will love it and embrace it.

“There were a couple of things that didn’t go his way last week but he’s got a great ability to dump it and move on to his next job.

“He still wanted the footy, he still wanted the sideline conversion, he wanted the ball. He’ll just want the ball in his hands as much as possible.”

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/5628645/gifted-one-lomax-ready-to-shine/?cs=3713

Red V for life

Greg Alexander is a dead set d*ck.

NRL 360...going through the games. Broncos v Dragons...Ikin, Kent and Moore making comments. Low expectations and the team being primed illicited to 2 smart a$$ comments so full of contempt.

God I hope the Warriors flog the Panthers and the Dragons win. I don’t think he’d be able to stomach it.

Mickthedragon

NRL 360...going through the games. Broncos v Dragons...Ikin, Kent and Moore making comments. Low expectations and the team being primed illicited to 2 smart a$$ comments so full of contempt.

God I hope the Warriors flog the Panthers and the Dragons win. I don’t think he’d be able to stomach it.
Yeh, just watched a replay of nrl 360 and saw that smug p**ck Alexanders little comments. I really hope they can cause an upset Sunday to wipe the smile off his face and even better if Panthers were to go out as well.
See what happens though as it will be very tough.

rednwhites

Can't help but find myself agreeing with the critics of the Dragons. I know Alexander has his own personal vendetta against the Dragons (for whatever reason) but really, we are not deserving of much respect. The club allows itself to be dragged through the dirt with an amateur of a coach. That is where my anger is directed. Even when we were winning the media were just waiting for us to fall - because that is what we do. Most of us were waiting for it too.

Frank Facer

I think we are a definite chance against Brisbane. If our forwards turn up and take it to their's and we control the ball, we can beat Brisbane. Brisbane are one of the form teams of the comp right now, but I also think they are due for a loss. I don't rate them that highly.

ouryears

I think we are a definite chance against Brisbane. If our forwards turn up and take it to their's and we control the ball, we can beat Brisbane. Brisbane are one of the form teams of the comp right now, but I also think they are due for a loss. I don't rate them that highly.
If only, I would give anything to win up there frank, but it’s highly unlikely with our recent form. Can’t get the thrashing’s from eels and grubs out of my mind, but while there is life there is hope.

Upsets happen, that’s what I am depending on, it ain’t much, but that’s what I got.

getsmarty

renouf_20180906.jpg

PEARLS OF WISDOM

Renouf: The eight finals X-factors
Author
Steve Renouf
Timestamp
Thu 6 Sep 2018, 12:01 PM

The 2018 NRL finals series looms as the hardest to predict in many a year but in the pressure cooker of September the big games are decided by players with a proven record of standing up in the moments that count.

In naming the player from each team I believe will be crucial to their respective premiership hopes I have taken that into account.

There are several standout, proven finals performers among them but also players who have shown this year they are ready to take the next step and lead their clubs to grand final success.

Roosters – It took Cooper Cronk a while to settle into the way the Roosters play but he is coming into his own now. He's been there and done that in finals football so many times that you know he will deliver when the pressure is on. It's almost like he blots out the occasion and concentrates on the process. He gets in that zone, and everything is just so precise. Cooper can control the way a game is played and is a calming influence on the entire side. Most importantly, he thrives in September football and nothing ahead of the Roosters will daunt him.

Melbourne – It is all comes back to Cameron Smith. Without him they are rudderless. The great advantage they have is the best player in the finals series is lining up for them. He calls the shots, leads them around and the little things he does that a lot of people don't notice are just amazing. He'll create a three on two, make a dart himself where it looks like he's got spiders on him or throw that inch-perfect pass to create a line break. Cameron is the master of controlling the tempo of the game and there is not much the opposition can do about it. The Storm have a future Immortal in their team and that is priceless.

Why will your team be the premiers?

South Sydney – hooker Damien Cook has had a great year. He was brought into State of Origin series and was dominant and I don't expect anything different in this finals. When the Burgess brothers get a roll-on, Cook gives them that spark out of dummy half that lights up the whole side. He has got so much speed around the middle but doesn't overplay his hand. Cook presses the button when it is needed. There is more to his game than just pace and he has the game smarts to feed his halves when he needs to. One thing sure about Cook is that the opposition will always be guessing.

Cronulla – With the Sharks you know what you are going to get out of their experienced pack, but Valentine Holmes can be the difference for Cronulla in the close games because of his ability to create something out of nothing and his finishing ability. You don't have to give him an opportunity and he will take it, but he makes opportunities just with his running, his support and his awareness. When a try needs to be scored, Val always seems to be there and he can create them for others. He's a smart footy player and he can play anywhere too.

Penrith – Just the presence of James Maloney makes his teammates feel 10-foot tall. He is dominant and he directs the team in that wily way. It is no coincidence most teams where Maloney plays are successful and that is due to his class and that sense of confidence and belief he projects. He's won grand finals with the Roosters and the Sharks and reached another one with the Warriors, he's a proven big-game performer. He can control a game from start to finish and when he is playing well, so are Penrith.

Maloney: Making the finals isn't a win for us

Brisbane – Anthony Milford is playing better than he did in 2015 and when his is on song the Broncos are at the top of their game. His kicking game has been brilliant lately. He's also running the ball and making good decisions. What I like about Anthony is he can control a game on his own and break it wide open. His forwards are also playing well but Anthony has built the confidence in his own game to make a difference even when they aren't on song.

St George Illawarra – When the Dragons are at their best they work together as an aggressive pack and the leader is Tyson Frizell. Every run and every tackle he makes is full of energy and intent and that is going to be crucial to getting the Dragons on the front foot. We know his defence is willing but he is even aggressive in his attack, where he breaks through just by running straight over blokes. It often happens out of the blue. It is all about strength with Frizell but he has it mentally as well. We've seen that in the Origin and Test arena.

WarriorsShaun Johnson is a freakish talent and he has real flair, but what is often overlooked is he also knows how to direct the team now. We've seen a maturity in his game in that regard this year and I'm sure Blake Green has helped him. He keeps the opposition guessing each time he touches the ball and we've seen this season how he can win games when they are on the line. He can be the difference in a tight game just with his individual brilliance. It can be through a smart kick or attacking the line on his own. Give him the ball 30 metres out and he could so anything. Any team that comes up against Johnson knows they have to stop him, but doing it is another story.

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/09/07/renouf-the-eight-finals-x-factors/

getsmarty

widdopg-180721701.jpg

DRAGONS

Widdop prepares for Tevita test
Author
Brad Walter Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Thu 6 Sep 2018, 06:01 PM

St George Illawarra captain Gareth Widdop has dispelled any doubts about his injured right shoulder after setting a new mark in the gym before his return in Sunday’s elimination final against Brisbane at Suncorp Stadium.

Widdop is expected to be targeted in defence by Broncos forward Tevita Pangai jnr but the Dragons five-eighth is confident the shoulder he dislocated three weeks ago will survive any test after bench-pressing a personal best weight.

The return of Widdop is a major boost to St George Illawarra’s hopes of winning their first playoff since the 2010 grand final and in another positive sign, lock Jack de Belin was off his crutches and shooting hoops at WIN Stadium on Thursday.

De Belin did not train with the team but he appeared to be moving freely while playing basketball and looked confident after a discussion with coach Paul McGregor about his injured ankle.

McGregor will wait until Sunday to make a final decision on de Belin but the NSW Origin star is a key member of the pack and he is expected to play with the aid of pain-killing injections if necessary.

The inclusion of de Belin would enable St George Illawarra to field the familiar left-edge combination of Widdop, second-rower Tariq Sims, centre Tim Lafai and winger Nene Macdonald against Pangai, James Roberts and Jamayne Isaako.

Graham hits back at Dragons doubters

However, if de Belin doesn’t play, McGregor would have little option other than to move Test forward Tyson Frizell into the middle and switch Sims to the right edge to accommodate Luciano Leilua as left second-rower.

"They definitely have that dangerous right edge so we have got to do our homework," Lafai said. "Jimmy the Jet is really quick, I am pretty sure that one stage he almost went to the Olympic Games to represent Australia so I will have to do my best.

"They have also got Tevita, a big back-rower who is mobile and strong, so we have definitely got to expect a lot of traffic coming our way."

Widdop is a top-line organiser, who possesses one of the best tactical kicking games in the Telstra Premiership and can play the role of ball runner or as a creative half, but he is not renowned for his strength in the gym.

However, in his bid to recover from the shoulder injury which forced him from the field in the round-22 loss to Parramatta he has had little choice.

"He is not real fit at the best of times, he is a bit of a slug in conditioning drills so nothing has changed there. He actually said his shoulder is stronger that it was," fellow Englishman James Graham said.

Boyd expects Hunt to rise

"He is benching more than he was before so maybe three weeks of training hard has done him the world of good."

The return of Widdop is expected to ease the pressure of halfback Ben Hunt, whose kicking game improved on recent efforts in last weekend’s 20-12 defeat of Newcastle.

"He’s a class act, he is one of the best sixes in this competition. you see how silky he can be," Graham said. "He is such a highly influential player in this group."

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/09/07/widdop-prepares-for-tevita-test/

Overseas dragon

IF MARY INSTALL AITKEN OR NIGHTINGALE AT THE 11TH HOUR OUR HOPES OF BEATING THE DONKEYS ARE SEVERLY DIMINISHED .............IF IS A BIG WORD

SEAT 1A

I just booked my flights and purchased my tickets.
I hope we dig deep and have a red hot go that's all I ask.
Never been to a game up there before.

Pretty much, I'll be happy if we have go however, putting ourselves in the position of the ladder is for another time.

Hope you enjoy the game ST Tangles 01.

SEAT 1A

lol we are going to get f**ked hard. The first 20 minutes will be #penaltybroncos until they are up by at least 20 points. The Broncos will spend must of the time inside the 10 without any penalty. Then the stupid nothing square up penalties will happen when our forwards are completely spent to make it not look as biased.

I would love to see how the game turns out with an even playing field.

Hope you are wrong This Year.

Knowing our luck with the ref's it will go to scrip and after we are out it will revert to SOO type of style for the rest of the finals.

SEAT 1A

Panthers Warriors
Cecchin / Perenara

Poor Cecchin in the dog house for his comments.

Would have liked both for our game. He is the best referee and Henry don't allow the crap to carry on, o well.

Saint_JimmyG

You’d probably have a permanent disliking for a certain club that once fielded a player who tried to scrape your eye out with his finger.

Do you remember Steve Linnane?

Blood Shot Eyes

Dragons haven’t won in BrisVegas since 2009???

Surely the law of averages will start to balance out.
Hope your right bud, but unfortunately the law of averages didnt balance out for NSW in Origin in Bris Vegas....hope Im wrong but just cant see it...having said that nothing would please me more than beating the 7 & 8 day turn around kings in their own backyard

Red V for life

You’d probably have a permanent disliking for a certain club that once fielded a player who tried to scrape your eye out with his finger.

Do you remember Steve Linnane?
Yeah JimmyG I do remember. Still...hate the man, not the club. Or better still...build a bridge and get over it...it was over 30 years ago!

Alexander never use to bother me, but for some reason this year he is. Last night he pi$$ed me right off. Then again, I may just be overly sensitive given how crap we’ve been in the second half of the season :)