Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Finals Week One

Latimore declares Widdop the missing X-factor Dragons need coming into the semis.

We're f#*ked.

Straight Shooter

Widdop will be fresh, just hope his shoulder is ok.

He could be the spark that ignites the fire !

Broncos coming off a month where they beat Souths, Roosters and Manly.

Their forwards are relatively inexperienced. If we can get under their skins and smash their halves legitimately from the kickoff anything is possible.

ozbuck

Yeah understand Ozbuck, you feel my comments are personal and offensive.

My problem is I see the situation somewhat differently to you.

I am exasperated at the thought of watching Mary make the same mistakes over and over again.

I am offended by Mary’s incompetence and the failure of the board to recognise the need for change.

I am hoping Saints do a John Millman on Sunday and vanquish the Broncos.

Our chances would improve enormously if Mary were to select 17 fit players.

Wonder if I am the only exasperated Saints supporter on this forum.

Have a feeling I may be not be.

All good to feel exasperated and want change, but to make stories up and pin responsibility that someone has done or will do (force players to play even though they are injured and shouldn't) is not cool in my books. Plenty of people call bs on journos making stories up to fit their agenda...seems like that is well and alive here on this very forum sometimes.

Absokutely can't knock you for having an opinion, but the making bs stories up is not the most honest way to reach truth.

Just tell it like it is without the fictitious fluff.

BLM01

Will be tough, Brisbane have a few guys in form, none more so than Oates and Sutton.

Roberts is a weak link, I'd play Tariq on that left edge and target him all game defensively
I agree. But I also see that Jordon Kahu as a weak link in defense also....he defends beside Milford. Throw Frizell at them.

Blood Shot Eyes

Fellas , can we ignore anything from this Gasnier dude as he clearly is a troll and is ruining every thread when he gets a bight.
I agree have you noticed I never comment on his rubbish.....he wont get a bite off me....it takes a man on a horse to upset me not a monkey on a stick....or maybe I should change that to on a microphone

getsmarty

preview-pic_round-26_broncos-v-dragons.jpg

MATCH PREVIEW

Broncos v Dragons: Elimination final preview
Author
NRL.com
Timestamp
Wed 5 Sep 2018, 09:20 AM

It is 25 years since Wayne Bennett guided Brisbane to back-to-back grand final wins over St George and eight years since he took the St George Illawarra joint venture to their only premiership.

The history between the Red V and the Broncos is a rich one and the ties between the two clubs extend beyond King Wayne to Darius Boyd and Ben Hunt and the Sims brothers.

On current form you would say Brisbane are far more likely to score another premiership trophy than the Dragons in 2018, but the Red V did restore confidence with last Saturday's 24-14 win over the Knights.

The Broncos, meanwhile, jumped from eighth to sixth with Sunday's 48-16 win over Manly and their potency out wide is certain to trouble a Dragons defence which has leaked 26 points per game in the past six weeks.

The return of captain Gareth Widdop is a massive boost for the Dragons and they will be hoping the Englishman can relieve some of the stress on halfback Ben Hunt.

Key match-up: The forward battle will be immense as the big men look to lay a platform for the playmakers. Ben Hunt has been the man under the microscope at the Dragons and his showdown with Kodi Nikorima will be critical. Nikorima is growing in confidence every week whereas Hunt's confidence has been eaten away during the past six weeks.

For the Broncos to win: Get the ball to Corey Oates. The towering left winger crossed four times against Manly to equal the club record for tries in a match and take his season tally to 18. The Dragons' backline defence is vulnerable and Oates has the pace and power to make them pay if he gets into open spaces.

For the Dragons to win: Gareth Widdop needs to play with the flair and freedom which had Paul McGregor's men flying high only eight weeks ago. Widdop is the heartbeat of the side and if his running game and kicking are on song then the Dragons can fire a warning shot across the bow of the other finalists. If he is rusty and fails to gel with Hunt then it could be curtains.

Broncos Stat Attack: Rookie winger Jamayne Isaako has been a revelation in 2018, finishing as the competition's leading point-scorer (233) following his 20-point haul against Manly on Sunday afternoon at Suncorp Stadium. His teammate Anthony Milford comfortably chalked up the most kick metres (8462). Wayne Bennett's men are also competing their sets at 80 per cent.

Dragons Stat Attack: Despite some scratchy form heading into the finals, the Red V are still the yardstick when it comes to tackle breaks (880). Pivot Gareth Widdop has 16 try assists to his name, while hooker Cameron McInnes has made 1062 tackles.

And another thing: The rival squads opened the 2018 Telstra Premiership campaign, with the Dragons cruising to an impressive 34-12 victory at Kogarah in early March. Look for under-siege Red V halfback Ben Hunt to rise to the occasion against his former employers.

Brisbane Broncos v St George Illawarra Dragons, Sunday 4pm at Suncorp Stadium

Team Lists
Backs
  • Fullback for Broncos is number 1 Darius Boyd

Fullback for Dragons is number 1 Matthew Dufty
  • Winger for Broncos is number 2 Corey Oates

Winger for Dragons is number 2 Nene Macdonald
  • Centre for Broncos is number 3 James Roberts

Centre for Dragons is number 3 Zac Lomax
  • Centre for Broncos is number 4 Jordan Kahu

Centre for Dragons is number 4 Timoteo Lafai
  • Winger for Broncos is number 5 Jamayne Isaako

Winger for Dragons is number 5 Jordan Pereira
  • Five-Eighth for Broncos is number 6 Anthony Milford

Five-Eighth for Dragons is number 6 Gareth Widdop
  • Halfback for Broncos is number 7 Kodi Nikorima

Halfback for Dragons is number 7 Ben Hunt
Forwards
  • Prop for Broncos is number 8 Matthew Lodge

Prop for Dragons is number 8 James Graham
  • Hooker for Broncos is number 9 Andrew McCullough

Hooker for Dragons is number 9 Cameron McInnes
  • Prop for Broncos is number 10 Sam Thaiday

Prop for Dragons is number 10 Leeson Ah Mau
  • 2nd Row for Broncos is number 11 Alex Glenn

2nd Row for Dragons is number 11 Tyson Frizell
  • 2nd Row for Broncos is number 12 Tevita Pangai Junior

2nd Row for Dragons is number 12 Tariq Sims
  • Lock for Broncos is number 13 Josh McGuire

Lock for Dragons is number 13 Jack de Belin
Interchange
  • Interchange for Broncos is number 14 Patrick Mago

Interchange for Dragons is number 14 Jeremy Latimore
  • Interchange for Broncos is number 15 Joe Ofahengaue

Interchange for Dragons is number 15 Kurt Mann
  • Interchange for Broncos is number 16 Korbin Sims

Interchange for Dragons is number 16 Blake Lawrie
  • Interchange for Broncos is number 17 David Fifita

Interchange for Dragons is number 17 Luciano Leilua
Reserves
  • Reserve for Broncos is number 18 Kotoni Staggs

Reserve for Dragons is number 18 Jason Nightingale
  • Reserve for Broncos is number 19 Sam Tagataese

Reserve for Dragons is number 19 Euan Aitken
  • Reserve for Broncos is number 20 Gehamat Shibasaki

Reserve for Dragons is number 20 Jacob Host
  • Reserve for Broncos is number 21 Troy Dargan

Reserve for Dragons is number 21 Hame Sele
Broncos Ins
  • Alex Glenn
  • Andrew McCullough
  • Gehamat Shibasaki
  • Sam Tagataese
  • Troy Dargan
Ins
Dragons Ins
  • Euan Aitken
  • Gareth Widdop
  • Hame Sele
  • Jacob Host
  • Jason Nightingale
Broncos Outs
  • Jake Turpin
Outs
Dragons Ins
  • Jai Field
Broncos: Andrew McCullough (concussion) returns at hooker, allowing Josh McGuire to revert to lock and Joe Ofahengaue to the bench, with Jake Turpin dropping out. Alex Glenn (calf) is also back in the second row, with David Fifita back to the bench and Kotoni Staggs to 18th man. Tevita Pangai jnr (hamstring) has been named to start.

Dragons: Captain and five-eighth Gareth Widdop (elbow) returns, bumping Kurt Mann to the bench and Jai Field out of the squad, in the only listed change from last week. Lock Jack De Belin has been named despite sporting a moon boot on an injured ankle or foot on Tuesday. Backs Euan Aitken (hamstring) and Jason Nightingale (elbow) are both listed in the reserves and could yet come into the 17.

Head-to-head in NRL era: Played 38; Broncos 23 wins, Dragons 15 wins
Previous result: Dragons won 34-12 in round 1 at Jubilee Oval
Points per game (regular season): Broncos 23.2 (3rd); Dragons 21.6 (7th)
Points conceded per game (regular season): Broncos 20.8 (10th); Dragons 19.7 (8th)
Televised: Live on Nine, Fox League

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/09/05/broncos-v-dragons-elimination-final-preview/

getsmarty

f1_bel_landscape.jpg

TEAM LISTS

Behind enemy lines: Finals week 1
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Wed 5 Sep 2018, 11:00 AM

Brisbane Broncos have named their 21-man squad to face Dragons in the elimination final this Sunday at Suncorp Stadium.

Hooker Andrew McCullough has been named but Broncos still await confirmation that he will be back for the game. International second rower Alex Glenn has been named to come back into the team after he also missed Sunday's game.

David Fifita has been named on the interchange bench after he played 80 strong minutes against the Sea Eagles in Glenn's absence. McGuire has been re-installed at lock and Kotoni Staggs has been named 18th man but may end up back in the Intrust Super Cup this weekend.

Team Lists
Backs
  • Fullback for Broncos is number 1 Darius Boyd

Fullback for Dragons is number 1 Matthew Dufty
  • Winger for Broncos is number 2 Corey Oates

Winger for Dragons is number 2 Nene Macdonald
  • Centre for Broncos is number 3 James Roberts

Centre for Dragons is number 3 Zac Lomax
  • Centre for Broncos is number 4 Jordan Kahu

Centre for Dragons is number 4 Timoteo Lafai
  • Winger for Broncos is number 5 Jamayne Isaako

Winger for Dragons is number 5 Jordan Pereira
  • Five-Eighth for Broncos is number 6 Anthony Milford

Five-Eighth for Dragons is number 6 Gareth Widdop
  • Halfback for Broncos is number 7 Kodi Nikorima

Halfback for Dragons is number 7 Ben Hunt
Forwards
  • Prop for Broncos is number 8 Matthew Lodge

Prop for Dragons is number 8 James Graham
  • Hooker for Broncos is number 9 Andrew McCullough

Hooker for Dragons is number 9 Cameron McInnes
  • Prop for Broncos is number 10 Sam Thaiday

Prop for Dragons is number 10 Leeson Ah Mau
  • 2nd Row for Broncos is number 11 Alex Glenn

2nd Row for Dragons is number 11 Tyson Frizell
  • 2nd Row for Broncos is number 12 Tevita Pangai Junior

2nd Row for Dragons is number 12 Tariq Sims
  • Lock for Broncos is number 13 Josh McGuire

Lock for Dragons is number 13 Jack de Belin
Interchange
  • Interchange for Broncos is number 14 Patrick Mago

Interchange for Dragons is number 14 Jeremy Latimore
  • Interchange for Broncos is number 15 Joe Ofahengaue

Interchange for Dragons is number 15 Kurt Mann
  • Interchange for Broncos is number 16 Korbin Sims

Interchange for Dragons is number 16 Blake Lawrie
  • Interchange for Broncos is number 17 David Fifita

Interchange for Dragons is number 17 Luciano Leilua
Reserves
  • Reserve for Broncos is number 18 Kotoni Staggs

Reserve for Dragons is number 18 Jason Nightingale
  • Reserve for Broncos is number 19 Sam Tagataese

Reserve for Dragons is number 19 Euan Aitken
  • Reserve for Broncos is number 20 Gehamat Shibasaki

Reserve for Dragons is number 20 Jacob Host
  • Reserve for Broncos is number 21 Troy Dargan

Reserve for Dragons is number 21 Hame Sele
Broncos Ins
  • Alex Glenn
  • Andrew McCullough
  • Gehamat Shibasaki
  • Sam Tagataese
  • Troy Dargan
Ins
Dragons Ins
  • Euan Aitken
  • Gareth Widdop
  • Hame Sele
  • Jacob Host
  • Jason Nightingale
Broncos Outs
  • Jake Turpin
Outs
Dragons Ins
  • Jai Field

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/09/05/behind-enemy-lines-finals-week-1/

getsmarty

St George Illawarra Dragons have point to prove against Brisbane Broncos: Jeremy Latimore
  • Local Sport
    r129_129_3678_2101_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Happy Dragon: Jeremy Latimore scored his first try since round three, 2016 against the Knights in Newcastle on Saturday. Picture: AAP Image

• Jeremy Latimore understands why Brisbane are favourites for their elimination final but maintains the Dragons have a big point to prove.

It will be do or die for St George Illawarra at Suncorp Stadium on Sunday, with the added pressure of a first week finals exit hanging over them after a glittering first 16 rounds of the competition that led the Dragons to the top of the NRL table.

The Dragons have lost six of their last nine games with most writing off their premiership chances.

Brisbane on the other hand appear one of the form teams of the competition alongside Cronulla. The Broncos have beaten top four opposition South Sydney and the Sydney Roosters as well as a 32-point hammering of hapless Manly to win three in a row heading into the finals.

But Latimore, who has five finals appearances included in his 162 top grade matches, said the Dragons were keen to prove their critics wrong.

“You can understand why they’re favourites. The way they’ve played over the last couple of weeks. I know it sounds like a broken record but they’re probably the form team at the moment. I know a lot of people are talking about them and that’s for the right reasons,” he said.

“There’s been a few people that have come out and been pretty critical at us over the last month or two. Some of that is warranted, we haven’t been playing well. They’re playing good at the moment so that’s probably why people are talking about them.

“We’ve got to go up there and have a point to prove. It’s a daunting stage up there, there’s a few New South Welshman in our team and a few Queenslanders [playing for Brisbane]. So there’s going to be that aspect as well. It’s a challenge but it’s exciting.”

Latimore said the Dragons would not fear the potentially hostile environment at Lang Park and needed to embrace the challenge.

“It’s going to be a tough environment up there. They’re playing some pretty good footy at the moment. I know they’ll be pumped to play in front of their home crowd. We’ve just got to go up there and play well,” he said.

“They’ve got some big boys that are playing well. [Tevita] Pangai Junior, [David] Fifita is going really good. Then you’ve got [Josh] Maguire and [Matt] Lodge are doing a good job as well. They’re in form so it’s going to be a challenge.

“Obviously Wayne Bennett-coached teams are made for this environment. You see he’s put his magic dust on them over the last couple of weeks and they’ve been playing some really good football.

“But we’ve got to focus on ourselves and go up there and put a performance together. It’s going to be good, a full crowd and we’ve got to enjoy everything up there.”
https://www.theleader.com.au/story/5627616/dragons-have-point-to-prove-latimore/?cs=1633

ALSGI

Just jumped onto the Donkeys forum which I registered into before round 1 - haven’t been on since until today.

The merkins are supremely confident, they don’t get why Sutton refs are being mentioned in the press. Geez they’re not kind to Hunt.

Anyway, left a few well wishes for them.

getsmarty

Tyson Frizell ready to grab his NRL finals opportunity for St George Illawarra Dragons against Brisbane Broncos
  • Local Sport
    r408_125_3133_1608_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Tyson Frizell hits the ball up against Newcastle on Saturday. Picture: Darren Pateman/AAP Image

• St George Illawarra will enter just their second NRL finals series in the last seven seasons on Sunday and Tyson Frizell believes they will make the most of it.

The Dragons travel to Brisbane to face the Broncos with their season on the line in an elimination final, a scenario almost unthinkable nine weeks ago as St George Illawarra sat proudly on top of the NRL table.

And Frizell in particular wants to grasp the opportunity.

The 26-year-old has developed into one of the best back-rowers in the game, representing NSW and Australia. But he is yet to fulfill his potential at the highest club level.

Frizell has played just one finals match since arriving at the Dragons from Cronulla in 2013. That was the heart-breaking 11-10 qualifying final loss to Canterbury in 2015.

And Frizell said the Dragons wanted to seize their chance despite their recent struggles.

“There’s a lot of teams sitting out at the moment and for us it’s good to come in and train this time of year. That’s what we’ve been aiming for since day one of pre-season,” he said.

“I’ve only been a part of one finals game. We all know how that panned out. It’s good to be playing footy this time of year.

“[Brisbane will] be going in there favourites. After our performances we’ve been written off by a lot of people. It’d be nice to go up there in their environment, at their home ground and play in a finals game. The boys are looking forward to it and I’m sure the Broncos are ready to go.”

The Dragons have a point to prove to themselves as well as many of their vocal fans who have turned on the team and coach Paul McGregor as they slid from the top of the table to finish seventh on the back of six losses in their final nine games of the season.

But Frizell said the Dragons would embrace their underdog tag with little pressure from outside their playing group to win against the Broncos.

“People are not expecting us to go up there and win [because of] our form the last couple of weeks. The only pressure we have is [what] we put on ourselves. We’re preparing as well as possible,” he said.

“It depends what you take out of it. I don’t find [Suncorp Stadium] a difficult stadium to play at. It’s more enjoyable. It’s what you play rugby league for, the Queensland crowd is very supportive of their sides. A lot of boys haven’t experienced finals footy.

“I don’t really look into it too much. Our fans haven’t been too happy with us but we haven’t been happy with our performances of late. We just want to, depending on the result, know that we went out there and did everything we could and played to our potential. I’m sure if we do that we’ll be in for a good chance.

“[We’ve] obviously not [played to our potential]. We’ve been pretty up and down the past couple of weeks. There’s still a lot of potential there to improve and hopefully we can start this week.”

Jack de Belin hobbled into Dragons training on crutches wearing a moon boot on Tuesday after suffering a syndesmosis injury in the opening minutes of their win over Newcastle on Saturday.

If de Belin was to miss the match it would be a huge blow to the Dragons who are already without Origin prop Paul Vaughan to a season-ending foot injury.

Jason Nightingale (neck) and Euan Aitken (hamstring) are racing the clock to be fit for the trip to Brisbane.
https://www.theleader.com.au/story/5625984/frizell-ready-to-grab-his-finals-opportunity/?cs=1633

getsmarty

Hunt ready for game of his life: Walters
  • r0_0_800_600_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Dragon Ben Hunt (left) is under pressure to perform in the NRL finals match against Brisbane.

• The knives may be out for Ben Hunt but Kevin Walters has tipped the maligned St George Illawarra No.7 to put Brisbane to the sword with a career-best performance in Sunday's NRL elimination final.

An out-of-sorts Hunt has been the scapegoat of the Dragons' late season fadeout, copping so much social media hate that his wife Bridget last month publicly hit out at the "despicable bullying".

And there will be no let-up on Sunday after even good mate, Brisbane captain Darius Boyd, admitted they would target their ex-Broncos teammate despite also hitting out at the "terrible" abuse Hunt had copped.

However, Queensland coach Walters believes Hunt will be primed for the game of his life when he will no doubt cop more boos from the Suncorp Stadium faithful this weekend.

Walters saw first hand how Hunt handled criticism after the Dragons playmaker was pilloried during Queensland's 2-1 series loss to NSW this year.

"Knowing Ben and his character, he will come here on Sunday looking for the best performance of his career," Walters said.

"And he will need to do that if the Dragons are to win.

"But I think he was unfairly criticised.

"We lost the second Origin game and all of a sudden Ben Hunt couldn't play (according to critics) which I thought was ridiculous - you don't lose your ability overnight."

Hunt has been under pressure all year to prove his worth after leaving Brisbane and signing a $6-million Dragons deal.

Boyd has been a vocal supporter of Hunt during his ordeal but even the Broncos skipper admitted they would make life tough for him on Sunday.

"Hopefully he has a good game but doesn't play too well for our sake," Boyd said.

"But first and foremost I want to win the game (and) he plays for the Dragons.

"We would target him if he was in good, bad or indifferent form because of the position he plays, it's a key role.

"And we will need to do that because he is a quality player."

Walters believed the pressure on Hunt would be relieved by skipper Gareth Widdop returning from a three week shoulder injury and joining him in the halves on Sunday.

"The Dragons team lost their way there but there was evidence on the weekend they were getting it back and with Gareth Widdop coming back he will assist Ben," he said.

Australian Associated Press
https://www.theleader.com.au/story/5628432/hunt-ready-for-game-of-his-life-walters/?cs=13068

getsmarty

frizellt-vaughanp-de-belinj-simst-180711-gp-01-.jpg

DRAGONS

Origin benefits far outweigh fatigue factor for Dragons
Author
Brad Walter Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Tue 4 Sep 2018, 07:52 PM

State of Origin has been blamed for St George Illawarra’s end-of-season slump but Dragons players believe the experience their forwards gained during the series will hold them in good stead for Sunday’s elimination semi-final against Brisbane.

With lock Jack de Belin named to play after suffering an ankle injury in last weekend’s win over Newcastle, the Dragons will boast three members of the series winning NSW team in their forward pack, along with Test props James Graham and Leeson Ah Mau.

The return of captain Gareth Widdop from a dislocated shoulder alongside Queensland playmaker Ben Hunt in the halves also adds to the big game experience in a St George Illawarra side with few players who have tasted finals success.

Widdop, de Belin, Ah Mau and Tyson Frizell are the only survivors in the 17-man squad named by Dragons coach Paul McGregor from the club’s last finals match in 2015 – an 11-10 loss to Canterbury.

Of the four, only Widdop (Melbourne) has played finals elsewhere, as have Hunt (Broncos), Graham (Bulldogs), second-rower Tariq Sims (Broncos), hooker Cameron McInnes (South Sydney) and centre Tim Lafai (Bulldogs).

However, Dragons players are confident they have enough representative experience in the side through Hunt, Blues forwards Frizell, Sims and de Belin, England’s Widdop and Graham, and Ah Mau, who played for New Zealand in the Denver Test.

grahanj-fiizellt-180406-gp-01-.jpg

Dragons enforcers Tyson Frizell and James Graham. :copyright:Gregg Porteous/NRL Photos
“Gaz is a big-game player, he has played a lot of big games with England, and all of the boys who have had exposure with NSW this year are going to be better for that, and there are obviously a few boys who have played in grand finals,” interchange forward Jeremy Latimore said.

Fatigue from Origin is a reason identified for the Dragons dropping from the top of the NRL ladder in round 16 to finish seventh but Latimore was confident the team’s representative stars were ready to fire in the finals.

“It was a challenge mentally for those boys to come back from Origin and play week in, week out NRL but finals football gets you excited,” he said.

“I dare say those boys who might have been experiencing a bit of tiredness will be bouncing on Sunday.”

Frizell admitted the Broncos had the edge in finals experience as well as home ground advantage but he was unfazed by St George Illawarra’s record of not having beaten Brisbane in their last 10 matches at Suncorp Stadium.

Widdop to give Dragons confidence

“It's awesome to be playing footy at this time of the year,” Frizell said. “I guess you could say I'm not familiar with it. I've only played one and we all know how that panned out.

“It's what we play footy for and it’s why we train so hard in the off season. We don't train hard and perform the way we do to get knocked out early. We want to play as well as we can this week and hopefully go the whole way.

“You can ask anyone that question and they'll all saying the same thing, everyone has that belief in their team,” Frizell said.

“We've got a strong group of players here that want to play for each other and play well. I know for myself, and on behalf of the players, we have a strong belief in what we can do with this side.

“If you don't have that belief then you're not here this time of year. Our form of late probably hasn't shown that but the footy we've played throughout the year, if you take that into account … we've been a top-four team all year bar a couple of weeks.”

De Belin was on crutches at training on Tuesday but is expected to play with the aid of a painkilling injection.

McGregor named centre Euan Aitken (hamstring) and winger Jason Nightingale (dislocated elbow) in an extended 21-man team but it is unlikely they will be cleared to play after suffering their injuries in the round 24 loss to Canterbury at Kogarah.

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/09/05/origin-benefits-far-outweigh-fatigue-factor-for-dragons/

getsmarty

Gareth Widdop will rush back after a shoulder dislocation to lead the Dragons, and Paul Vaughan says he’s ready to go
Dragons
joe_mcdonough.jpg

• September 5, 2018 6:07am
  • Joe McDonough
  • Source: FOX SPORTS
356b0d8b48fc8d2a22052a585e3971e3

Gareth Widdop will make an early return from a shoulder dislocation to lead the Dragons into battle against the Broncos. (AAP Image/Craig Golding)Source: AAP
GARETH Widdop requires a shoulder reconstruction but he’s putting it on hold so he can lead the Dragons’ finals charge.

The Red V skipper has been sidelined for the past three games, and with their season on the line against the Broncos at Suncorp Stadium he has been rushed back into the No.6 jersey.

Finals Week 1

697190_640x360_large_20180904195253.jpg

Vaughan: He's a big inclusion

1:13
Paul Vaughan, who suffered a late season-ending injury, said you can’t underestimate what the Englishman’s return does for the team’s morale.

“I think ‘Gaz’ is a massive inclusion for this weekend,” he said on NRL 360.

“I think Benny’s [Hunt] been doing a good job sort of steering the team around but Gaz comes back and he’s obviously the skipper, all the boys have great respect for Gaz.”

Widdop’s attacking instinct is also something they miss when he’s not on the park, according to the NSW Blues representative.

“He’s that little bit of X factor as well that we need in the team,” he added.

“He can do some great things on the football field which some people can’t... So like I said he’s going to be a great inclusion and the boys are really excited to have him back.”

697128_640x360_large_20180904124329.jpg

Hodges: All eyes on Hunt

3:12
Luke Lewis then pressed Vaughan on whether Widdop’s shoulder would hold up under the intensity of NRL finals football.

“I think so,” he responded. “The performance staff we have at the Saints there, they are second to none.

“They’ve got a great team there and I don’t think they’ll put Gaz in danger of doing any more damage to his shoulder.

“Originally I don’t think he needed surgery, I think that was the initial thing that came out about that injury, but like I said if he’s ready to go, he’s ready to go.

“He wouldn’t be a liability in the team, he’s strong defensively, and like I said he’ll be a great inclusion.”

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...o/news-story/630f7051219dbb2161c7052118401362

Red V for life

I just booked my flights and purchased my tickets.
I hope we dig deep and have a red hot go that's all I ask.
Never been to a game up there before.
It’s an awesome stadium to watch a game. You’ll love it.

If it’s like usual, you’ll be surprised how many Dragons supporters are in the crowd up here. I reckon 60/40 split.

I’ll be there carrying baggage (7 Bronco supporting mates). Let’s hope it’s a GREAT day :grin:

Blood Shot Eyes

I just booked my flights and purchased my tickets.
I hope we dig deep and have a red hot go that's all I ask.
Never been to a game up there before.
Suncorp and its parochial crowd will open your eyes.....I thought Melbourne fans were one eyed and biased....give as much as you cop mate...but please behave.. ....its a fantastic ground to view a match...very close to the action.
PS....keep and eye out for me I'll be in my Saints gear outside the ground.....you will easy spot me I will be the bloke letting the tyres down of the Donkey supporters cars....nah only kidding....enjoy mate

Blood Shot Eyes

It’s an awesome stadium to watch a game. You’ll love it.

If it’s like usual, you’ll be surprised how many Dragons supporters are in the crowd up here. I reckon 60/40 split.

I’ll be there carrying baggage (7 Bronco supporting mates). Let’s hope it’s a GREAT day :grin:
Mate I doubt the 60/40 bit...maybe 80/20 even would be nice.....hopefully your 7 mates will leave disappointed....whatever the outcome enjoy