Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

First Grade Knights vs Rabbitohs

I wonder what Luke Walsh thinks of that comment.

Not to mention the argument that Corey Patterson arguably was playing better footy in 2007 than 2008. And I'm 100000% certain Chris Houston was playing better footy for St George last year too. :lol:
pato was by and large a turnstile in defence in '07. walsh didn't get anything close to a full pre-season.

Karmawave

Smith has no control of injury and illness.

I understand that Pika, but you were the first to tell me earlier this year that Luke Walsh was at that time fully fit and eligible for selection like everyone else when we were having the Dureau/Walsh discussion?

roopy

And Chris Houston Dragons 2007 v Chris Houston Knights 2008?
I didn't see enough of him last year to comment, but to use another player as an example - Doogs went backwards a lot in his first year under Smith. Doogs said Smith 'taught him a lot' - but i think Doogs was trying to think about his positioning in defence for the first time and he was far better just doing it on instinct.
Some players just go backwards for unforeseen reasons. If 10 go forwards and one goes backwards it is still progress.

Karmawave

Is progress as satisfying as a feeling that 2009 is a very good chance of being a semi final year.

Who here can honestly say that with our signings and the squad for 2009 as it stands is a side capable of being in the Top 4 teams. Forget the top 8, if we are aiming once again to just sneak into the top 8, then that is exactly my point.

Settling for mediocrity.

i'm willing to put my neck on the line and say that we'll be competing for a top 4 berth next year.

one for the bookmarks.

Karmawave

i'm willing to put my neck on the line and say that we'll be competing for a top 4 berth next year.

one for the bookmarks.

Oh I'm bookmarking! :lol:

Bookmark me as saying that we won't make the Top 4 next year.

And boy I wish I was wrong.

roopy

one for the bookmarks.
I agree.
We are good enough this year to be a top 4 side if we had had an ounce of luck, and i have confidence we will be better next season.

Adsy

Houston's defence towards the end of last year was comparable to Walsh's. Slipping off tackles left right and centre.

Who cares if we have a few 'rejects'. Look what Perry is doing at Manly. We need to do that to Houston, Wicks, Fa'oaso and Taia.

I really think we can follow what the sharks have done the last two years. Just missed the 8 but put up a fight in every game last year then top 4 the next year. Hopefully we never become as boring as they are though.

i have no idea what you're talking about adsy. taia has been awesome for us this year for the most part. one of our best forwards all year.

Adsy

i have no idea what you're talking about adsy. taia has been awesome for us this year for the most part. one of our best forwards all year.

Mate wasn't puting Taia dow nat all i ment i see even more improvement in him. I reckon he was our best forward the last 2 weeks if not our best player. I've given him points after the Penrith and Sharks game.

antonius

I'll add my 2 bobs worth Dureau has to be at 7 and Mullen 6 for the rest of this season (injury permiting) Mullen and Bailey in the halves just strangles our attack. With Dureau there we have another kicking option, and he is far more organised than either Mullen or Bailey.

Mate wasn't puting Taia dow nat all i ment i see even more improvement in him. I reckon he was our best forward the last 2 weeks if not our best player. I've given him points after the Penrith and Sharks game.
sorry mate, jumped the gun there.

i just think everyone is being over-critical of our team at the moment. i don't understand where all of it is coming from.. because i see a bright, rosy future ahead. if a couple of 2 point losses etc had gone our way this year, we'd be knee deep in the top 8. this, with a largely experimental team that has been chopped and changed due to form and injury all year. we only need to improve another 5 or 10% and we're in the 8. another 10 - 20% and we're up to our eyeballs in the competition.

Adsy

Thats alright. Karma makes everyone agro. Turning everyone against each other.

End of the day every team in the comp needds some form of luck. We havn't even been close to getting an inch of luck this year. Teams are getting easy draws, low injuries and players away on rep duty, favourable calls getting them over the line in matches. We have had none of that yet our biggest loss this year is 14 points against the 2 premiership heavy weights. Pretty good effort this year from the boys if i say so myself.

Serc

Who here can honestly say that with our signings and the squad for 2009 as it stands is a side capable of being in the Top 4 teams. Forget the top 8, if we are aiming once again to just sneak into the top 8, then that is exactly my point.

Settling for mediocrity.

I haven't got the balls to say top 4, but I think we'll be top 6 material next year, bookmark me for that :)

I said at the start of the year that I think we'll finish 8th-10th...looking pretty good so far, and i expect more improvement on top of that next year at this stage.

taia has been awesome for us this year for the most part. one of our best forwards all year.

Seconded!

i think it's a bloody steep demand of any coach and recruitment staff to turn a club that has lost danny buderus and andrew johns in the last 2 years into a top 4 side the very next year, but i'm willing to say that we'll be right in the mix for it.

Karmawave

Thats alright. Karma makes everyone agro. Turning everyone against each other.

:lol: !!! I do no such thing.

I add some much need excitement and thought provoking topics to a forum which at times has been Shark backline boring. ;-)