Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fish > Union

Benek

Not to sorry to see Fish go. Never once proved himself at a first grade level and was obviously injured way too much to be useful.

But I hate that it makes our thin outside back selection even thinner. Must sign some depth ASAP.

Rich102

Agree, but the depth signings have to be better than what we had or the changes will be meaningless.

How the hell did we get in this position, spending up to our salary cap and then giving the players away.
It's going to take years to fix and I don't know that the club has years to fix it.

SpaceMonkey

Six month ago we were all fapping over our outside back depth. The only real difference is Laumape leaving and Hurrell not getting his shit together. We get an upgrade with RTS and Wright has exceeded expectations, we should be travelling much better than we are.

Penrose Warrior

No loss. In terms of depth, the one game Fish had back v Manly he was absolutely atrocious and there's really no benefit if your depth gives you that. At least Wright comes in and puts his body on the line, Fish never did. As I've said before, he was a 4 tries in a romp man.

Unfortunately, Robinson is nigh-on the same and we're definitely signing him now. A mate who is a mad Eels fan says the difference between his best and worst games is astronomical. Do we need another one of those?

I wish Fish luck in rugby but I don't see him being anything more than a good ITM Cup player. That's where quickness is rewarded in a more open style. Gotta be tough to make it further and he isn't.

Could be a good Sevens player, however.

Sanchez

Agree, but the depth signings have to be better than what we had or the changes will be meaningless.

How the hell did we get in this position, spending up to our salary cap and then giving the players away.
It's going to take years to fix and I don't know that the club has years to fix it.

Who said we were up against the cap, we are just releasing a ton of deadwood in one swoop

vvvrulz

No loss. In terms of depth, the one game Fish had back v Manly he was absolutely atrocious and there's really no benefit if your depth gives you that.

This is what always annoyed me the most about Fish, he never played like a guy who knew his selection was always on the line.

Penrose Warrior

This is what always annoyed me the most about Fish, he never played like a guy who knew his selection was always on the line.

I just think he's scared of contact, I don't think it's necessarily a desire thing as much as a bravery thing. The effort (if you could call it that) on Taufua...wow. That spoke volumes to me. He's never looked like wanting to get hurt for the team.

Agree with the deadwood comments, it has little to do with salary cap as much as it does getting rid of players who won't contribute even when they have to in times of injury. There's no point having 'depth' if you'd be just as well off losing with a 20s player.

Fish, Lousi, Ika, Havili all had ample opportunities and proved they're not up to it as front-liners or in time of need, so they've been moved on. There's been times when all of them (bar Lousi for me I never thought he was decent) looked like they might contribute...but they haven't. Who knows, they might've in a winning side in the future but if you're not prepared to do the hard work in the lean times, you're gone. Allwood I'm buggered if I know what the hell happened there but it's obvious he isn't going to contribute either, so he goes.

Shaun Hewitt

Exactly. Why did we sign this deadwood in the first place?

To be fair to the ones who are going:

Laumape - One of our best backs when not injured

Fish - Showed heaps of potential, just didn't materialize. We would have been gutted if we didn't sign him due to the promise he showed (we weren't to know he was as fragile as a vase)

Rapira - Came through our systems, probably one a reduced contract (guessing) due to injuries.

Friend - High signing wasn't 'deadwood', he's just been replaced by one of the premier hookers in the game

Tomkins - We all knew it was a gamble, had it paid off it would have been a masterstroke. Still think he goes alright, just not as good as the hype had built him up to be

Matagi/Peturu - Warrior juniors, came through our ranks. Hardly 'deadwood' Both getting NRL game time with their new clubs since moving.

Peyroux - Can cover centre/2nd row. I'd guess he was always a depth signing. This one can probably looked back on as a failure

Allwood - Low risk gamble, didn't pay off. Nothing gained, nothing lost.

Havilii - Come on, he got capped by the Kiwis! Just hasn't kicked on.

Townsend - Actually one of our better players - WHEN JOHNSON IS PLAYING - Can't carry the team on his own apparentely. Not deadwood. Don't know weather his form has dipped due to him confirming leaving or paired with Johnson going down or both

I don't think any of these guys signed were deadwood. For one reason or another they either havn't kicked on or they were intended gambles ala Allwood.

I'd be asking more as to instead of why did we sign these blokes, but why aren't these guys delivering on the promise they showed prior to signing for us

vvvrulz

I just think he's scared of contact, I don't think it's necessarily a desire thing as much as a bravery thing. The effort (if you could call it that) on Taufua...wow. That spoke volumes to me. He's never looked like wanting to get hurt for the team.

:lol: yep summed it up, and you won't cut it at the NRL if you're afraid to take a hit son

Fast Eddie

Really? I'm not talking about the year the Roosters won it.
I remember him being way off his best during the final rounds and playoffs.

The year they won it I would say he was the best forward in the game, maybe tied with Burgess. Wasn't as good the next season but still a hell of a player. The drop off was just noticeable because he was so good his first season back.

Scott

To be fair to the ones who are going:

Laumape - One of our best backs when not injured

Fish - Showed heaps of potential, just didn't materialize. We would have been gutted if we didn't sign him due to the promise he showed (we weren't to know he was as fragile as a vase)

Rapira - Came through our systems, probably one a reduced contract (guessing) due to injuries.

Friend - High signing wasn't 'deadwood', he's just been replaced by one of the premier hookers in the game

Tomkins - We all knew it was a gamble, had it paid off it would have been a masterstroke. Still think he goes alright, just not as good as the hype had built him up to be

Matagi/Peturu - Warrior juniors, came through our ranks. Hardly 'deadwood' Both getting NRL game time with their new clubs since moving.

Peyroux - Can cover centre/2nd row. I'd guess he was always a depth signing. This one can probably looked back on as a failure

Allwood - Low risk gamble, didn't pay off. Nothing gained, nothing lost.

Havilii - Come on, he got capped by the Kiwis! Just hasn't kicked on.

Townsend - Actually one of our better players - WHEN JOHNSON IS PLAYING - Can't carry the team on his own apparentely. Not deadwood. Don't know weather his form has dipped due to him confirming leaving or paired with Johnson going down or both

I don't think any of these guys signed were deadwood. For one reason or another they either havn't kicked on or they were intended gambles ala Allwood.

I'd be asking more as to instead of why did we sign these blokes, but why aren't these guys delivering on the promise they showed prior to signing for us

I reckon Hurrell will go to Rugby & Lueleui back to Wigan.

Reece Robinson will come over & quite a few more as well. Once the season is done & dusted there will be alot of player 'forced' out of their current clubs due to salary cap pressures. We just need to make sure we get the right players for the right positions.

spear tackle

I'm really starting to think we keep too many U20's players when many would really thrive in a different team enviroment,so would be better to offload them and buy in a few players from other clubs of course we should be keep the top 3 or 4 but too many seem to get to comfitable where they are and never get much past Reserve Grade.