Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

FnF on hold for Royal Wedding

Wedding or Footy

Reading the Telecrap* this morning & it looks like ch9 will reschedule the NRL games set down for the 29th April as the Royal wedding will be on at 8pm that night with all networks set to cover the event, a nine spokesman said "its a very important event and we want to cover it to the best of our ability. We have not made a decision on the NRL yet but it will be something we will liik at over the next couple of weeks."thoughts ?

cleary89

Already posted on their site. Obviously they will cover it, and we have no choice. But who the f**k wants to watch this?

KeepingTheFaith

Who the f**k cares. This is why they have multiple channels. Of course it won't happen though because if they put the marriage up against the league it'd get destroyed and they'd look stupid.

hell, i'd rather watch cronulla play souths than watch the wedding..

Saw this and was about to bring it up... Ch 7 has already signalled it's intent to shift the games to mate or TWO, so I wouldn't be surprised if GEM or GO! ended up taking the footy... preferrably GEM so it can be in HD.

The round in question includes these possible candidates for FNF:

St George Illawarra v Parramatta
Brisbane v Canterbury
Gold Coast v Sydney
Canberra v Wests Tigers

jc155776

What a load of sh*te.

Why show the Royal Wedding when every other station is showing it?

Whatever Station DOESN'T show the wedding will kill it in the ratings.

Men rule the TV on a Friday night, apart from allowing the wife to switch over for 30 seconds to check out the dress they won't be watching too much more then that.

Allstar Knights

I wonder if it's possible 9 might show an extra game on Sunday or even one on Saturday?

I'm guessing no because of the tv rights already in place.

Godz Illa

We have not seen a better reason to ditch the monarchy and become a republic than this. What an outrage. Thou shalt not steal thy colony's friday night footy, motherf*ckers

Something else the complicates that round - if there's no Friday night football... it's the only round of the year without Monday night football as well (weekend before the Test/CvC).

Could we see 4 games Saturday, 4 games Sunday?

Sat 3:30pm
Sat 5:30pm
Sat 7:30pm
Sun 12:00pm
Sun 2:00pm
Sun 3:00pm
Sun 7:00pm

?

chefman21

Football was always going to take a backseat to this and so it should. Besides, it will be nice to see a culturally significant event on the television. If you want to watch football when it's on then go to the game. Or if you can't get to a game then go out to dinner with your family, go to the theatre, a concert or something. Pretty easy huh?

keno will probably kick up a stink over this.. they lose their friday replay exposure, which will lead to reduced sales for the weekend..

although.. i'm sure it can be incorporated....

<insert ray warren voice here> "and what a great first kiss as a married couple, lets go to the keno replay to have a look.... yes, we can see wills leaning in here, eyes closed, whilst kate smiles and moves in, although we can see she keeps her eyes open as she moves in"

<sterlo> "yes rabs, i reckon she's on the lookout for the queen there to see that she approves, if we look to the left..."

<rabs> "shut up sterlo, watch now as the two lock lips, yes, it's a huge day here for monachists everywhere"

no name

Something else the complicates that round - if there's no Friday night football... it's the only round of the year without Monday night football as well (weekend before the Test/CvC).

Could we see 4 games Saturday, 4 games Sunday?

Sat 3:30pm
Sat 5:30pm
Sun 12:00pm
Sun 2:00pm
Sun 3:00pm
Sun 7:00pm

?

Round 26 also has no Monday footy.
On topic, surely the games will be shown on gem or go. If there is a hint of 9 doing otherwise the NRL needs to grow a set and ensure it happens.

Round 26 also has no Monday footy.
On topic, surely the games will be shown on gem or go. If there is a hint of 9 doing otherwise the NRL needs to grow a set and ensure it happens.
Well, to be fair R26 still has Sunday night footy. Round before the Test/CvC doesn't even have that.

whatwhat

Football was always going to take a backseat to this and so it should. Besides, it will be nice to see a culturally significant event on the television. If you want to watch football when it's on then go to the game. Or if you can't get to a game then go out to dinner with your family, go to the theatre, a concert or something. Pretty easy huh?

Does your husband post on here?

The Engineers Room

They have three digital stations, why not run it on GO or GEM then run a replay on analogue later that night or on Saturday?