Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Folau turns back on Eels to play rugby union

That`s true; but when they do, they stipualte that it is over multiple years (as you`ve just shown). When the media reports a figure without stipulating the number of years, it is understood to be for one year only. The reported money for Hoppoate was always understood to be per year. Of course, that figure is a newspapre figure, so it might not be accurate.

Do you think it's likely that Will Hopoate would be on $850k a year? At the time he signed he had played less than 20 first grade games.

The reason the media were vague about his contract duration is because they had no idea of the terms. Hopoate is already getting paid by the club. In light of this, he is on a four year contract. How does the media report that to the average punter when he is only playing for two of them?

boxhead

One thing I think needs to be pointed out; how often does the media ever lay into Ricky? They almost never do. One of the worst things about being an Eels supporter for several years has been the constant media scrutiny; with Ricky at the helm, surprise, there's been very few negative articles about us recently.

And thanks Jodeci, I can't wait for the club to announce it. Absolutely massive signing.

Jake

It's a song and dance cause we are securing one of the best young talent in the game.

He is the hottest property in the game other than SBW and you can understand why we are talking it up.

Price and value remains the same Jake. He was always in our sights and we are getting him.

We should be very proud of the club securing someone like him when he could of gone elsewhere and demanded whatever he wants.

We are a club on the rise slowly with the right people behind the scenes and a coach who controls the media very well.

Thanks for the info mate.

One thing I think needs to be pointed out; how often does the media ever lay into Ricky? They almost never do. One of the worst things about being an Eels supporter for several years has been the constant media scrutiny; with Ricky at the helm, surprise, there's been very few negative articles about us recently.

And thanks Jodeci, I can't wait for the club to announce it. Absolutely massive signing.

i think thats one of the reasons sticky will do well at parra kearney shunned the spotlight stuart loves it

Maroubra Eel

Do you think it's likely that Will Hopoate would be on $850k a year? At the time he signed he had played less than 20 first grade games.

The reason the media were vague about his contract duration is because they had no idea of the terms. Hopoate is already getting paid by the club. In light of this, he is on a four year contract. How does the media report that to the average punter when he is only playing for two of them?

Is he in our top 25? Or just a Wenty contract?

I do. For the second two years. Don't forget two of his brothers are coming with him.

That's easy. They pay him 10 k's a year for the first two years (to stay fit) and then the rest when he plays the 2nd two years. We knew we had a salary cap increase coming and knew we had retiring stars or other overpaid duds (Poore) we could get rid of. We were desperate and had to pay overs. We also had to lure him from a club that had a far brighter future than ours. Of course the $850 k's are for his two playing seasons primarily.

That's what I reckon anyway.

I do. For the second two years. Don't forget two of his brothers are coming with him.

That's easy. They pay him 10 k's a year for the first two years (to stay fit) and then the rest when he plays the 2nd two years. We knew we had a salary cap increase coming and knew we had retiring stars or other overpaid duds (Poore) we could get rid of. We were desperate and had to pay overs. We also had to lure him from a club that had a far brighter future than ours. Of course the $850 k's are for his two playing seasons primarily.

That's what I reckon anyway.

If we were that desperate we would have gone for a player who would be playing a bit sooner than 2014. We also would have gotten more recruitment targets this year - everyone has a price and there's no way a mercenary like Tony Williams would have knocked back $850k if a mercenary like Izzy Folau (sorry, Falou) will come here for less.

If we were that desperate we would have gone for a player who would be playing a bit sooner than 2014.

We tried. No one would come.

We also would have gotten more recruitment targets this year - everyone has a price and there's no way a mercenary like Tony Williams would have knocked back $850k if a mercenary like Izzy Folau (sorry, Falou) will come here for less.

Who said we offered Williams 850? :?
Now you really are making stuff up to reinforce you're argument.
What makes you think we haven't offered three Hopoate brothers 850 k's over two years?

Maroubra Eel

Hopoate was hot property when we signed him last year. I doubt he would have signed for 425K per year. I hope he did, but I can't see it.

Jodeci

Spot on about Sticky controls the media.

Just watch his press conference of when he signed, he owned the room and Weidler struggled to get anything from it.

Maroubra Eel

Newspapers at the time were reporting it was $1.7M over two years.
If this is true then we are next to no chance of retaining Hayne. He would want a bit more than Hopoate.

We tried. No one would come.

Sandow, Tonga, Roberts.

I think your memory is playing tricks on you.

Who said we offered Williams 850? :?

Exactly. If we were that desperate we would have.

Now you really are making stuff up to reinforce you're argument.
What makes you think we haven't offered three Hopoate brothers 850 k's over two years?

Because two of them are already getting paid. That means they're here for more than two years.

you can dig up a hundred sources when you need to - go dig up a hoppa story and clear it up pou

Jodeci

Thanks for the info mate.

Hang in there buddy

It's a long off season and yeah I agree with your comments on SK saying some if the right things, Sticky shows emotions and feels the pain when his sides lose and says it unlike Sk who praised every poor effort. That wad SK's style I guess.

Yes we have heard the terms it's the hardest off seadon, etc

This time it's different.

We have cleaned out our footy staff back room and replaced the while coaching staff with blokes who know how to win and demand success.

Not someone like Brad Arthur's and to a certain degree Matt Cameron who is a great bloke though players wouldn't look to him to lead them.

Jake, I know you hate the Bulldogs more than anyone, they finished 13th in 2010 and were almost last in 2011 until Dymock took over for the last 6 rounds or so and still missed out on the semis.

I'm not saying we will have a Dogs 2012 in our 2013 season, but I'm expecting a massive improvement and if we get Hock, then we should be around the 8 or even it in.