Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

For the people on this forum that play/use to play rugby league....

Knight87

Out of all the people on this forum that current play rugby league (whether it is for their local club or not) or use to play rugby league, a few questions for you guys:

1) How long have you been playing league for?
2) What club(s) do you/did you play for?
3) How would you describe the quality of the players in the competition which you participate in?
4) Are there any players in your comp that play dirty (ie John Hopoate, Adrian Morely, Michael Crocker, Danny Williams style), or do 99% of the players in your comp play fair?
5) Have you had any serious injuries? If so, how many have you had and which one would you say was the most painful?
6) If the answer is no for question 3, have you had any injuries during the time you've played, or managed to stay relatively injury-free in your career, like the likes of Cliff Lyons?
7) In a game which you have participated in, what is the worst injury you have ever seen?

1/I last played a couple of decades ago

4) damaged ligaments in my knee saw me finish playing, it still sees me with pain in it on most mornings and cold days.

3]Granville Diggers in the old Western Suburbs junior comp in my grade always mistook the final bell for the round one bell, a stink was always on at fulltime.

2=All the players in my comp were better than me, so a pretty high standard.

t-ba

Tonearm Terrorwrist said:
want to explain how morley and williams played dirty sh*t for brains?

He assaulted Corey Hughes. What did that Angel on the field do to deserve rough justice from that filthy pom?

Misanthrope

On and off since I was sixteen. So, eight years.

Glen Innes High School and rugby for my college

3) How would you describe the quality of the players in the competition which you participate in?
Poor to promising

4) Are there any players in your comp that play dirty (ie John Hopoate, Adrian Morely, Michael Crocker, Danny Williams style), or do 99% of the players in your comp play fair?
The guys from Robb and Albies college used to get dirty if things got close, but the worst were Earle Paige. They were a sh*t team so they played dirty at all times. Concussed friends, bit at your ears in scrums etc. Dirty f**kers

5) Have you had any serious injuries? If so, how many have you had and which one would you say was the most painful?
Not from rugby league, no.

6) If the answer is no for question 3, have you had any injuries during the time you've played, or managed to stay relatively injury-free in your career, like the likes of Cliff Lyons?
I've never had an injury from any sport. I just lost interest after college/high school.

7) In a game which you have participated in, what is the worst injury you have ever seen?
I knocked a guy out along with two of his teeth (unintentionally, I might add) and he had to go to hospital to get his jaw fixed. It was a complete bit of bad luck.

t-ba

Tonearm Terrorwrist said:
and that meant he was a dirty player his whole career :lol:

Touching a model citizen like Corey Hughes, who has not an ounce of niggle in him, is enough to face the firing squad imo.

Knight87

hahahhaa, Misanthrope. You must be a relatively fit person to not have obtained a single injury from league. I guess the blokes from Wikipedia would beg to differ with that, with this biased statement from below:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Touch_football_(rugby_league)

" Schools have used touch as part of their curriculum to avoid the inevitable injuries that can stem from the full contact version."

Inevitable, ay? We'll see about that, Wikipedia

Knight87

And in regards to Adrian Moreley, he was a dirty player. Not just the Corey Hughes incident, he had a pretty atrotious judiciary record to go with the Corey Hughes incident. Not to also mention being sent-off of the very first play of the game (1st Test GB vs Australia 2003), and gets nothing more than a fine (he didnt even get suspended for that) I mean, who does these sort of malicious acts. Getting sent-off of the first play of the game, for goodness sake! (but obviously, if you're a Sydney Rorters supporter, you'll disagree, thinking that there's nothing wrong with that). He reminds me a bit of Shaun Edwards. Edwards had a lot of talent and achieved a lot at Wigan (winning 8 premierships), but did heaps of dirty and foul acts on the football field (which he got away with most of them). That hit against Bradley Clyde in the 1st Test of the '94 Kangaroo Tour was pure vile and malicious to the nth degree

i can still remember corey hughes' "wtf did i do look"

anyway ill answer the pop quiz for ya

Knight87 said:
10 years. i quit a few moons ago though

pensy

hard to tell really because we were young

there were a few scattered from different teams but i'm f**ked if i remember their names

nothing long term

injury free

we played a knock out tournament at peakhurst park. a kid from kingsgrove was running away, no one in sight and was about to score a try under the post until he smashed into the wooden soccer frame posts and disintegrated his nose. he had a face like a pancake

Knight87 said:
And in regards to Adrian Moreley, he was a dirty player. Not just the Corey Hughes incident, he had a pretty atrotious judiciary record to go with the Corey Hughes incident. Not to also mention being sent-off of the very first play of the game (1st Test GB vs Australia 2003), and gets nothing more than a fine (he didnt even get suspended for that) I mean, who does these sort of malicious acts. Getting sent-off of the first play of the game, for goodness sake! (but obviously, if you're a Sydney Rorters supporter, you'll disagree, thinking that there's nothing wrong with that). He reminds me a bit of Shaun Edwards. Edwards had a lot of talent, but whose career was marred by dirty and foul acts on the football field. That hit against Bradley Clyde in the 1st Test of the '94 Kangaroo Tour was pure vile and malicious to the nth degree

then there were the times he was reported and didn't have to front the MRC. because you know people don't get targetted on reputation do they? no brains and happy without them

McLovin

1) How long have you been playing league for? Roughly 7 years on and off...

2) What club(s) do you/did you play for? None, always played for school though

3) How would you describe the quality of the players in the competition which you participate in? Half decent

4) Are there any players in your comp that play dirty (ie John Hopoate, Adrian Morely, Michael Crocker, Danny Williams style), or do 99% of the players in your comp play fair? None that i encountered

5) Have you had any serious injuries? Nothing

6) If the answer is no for question 3, have you had any injuries during the time you've played, or managed to stay relatively injury-free in your career, like the likes of Cliff Lyons? Totally injury free. In fact, not one broken bone in my life.

7) In a game which you have participated in, what is the worst injury you have ever seen? Worst i've seen was probably a broken wrist. Some big toughy thought he was the sh*t, ended up off the field after the first tackle...

Spike

Haven't played for 12 years

Wests Rosellas

Pretty good to piss poor

Yeah me, expelled from the Newcastle junior league for two years for headbutting and starting an all-in brawl.

5) Have you had any serious injuries? If so, how many have you had and which
one would you say was the most painful?

None

injury free

Saw a kid break is leg falling awkwardly in a tackle

I played mainly junior and high school league. Western and southern suburbs Sydney. Long time ago now.

Q. How would you describe the quality of the players in the competition which you participate in?
A. At Miller High School (western suburbs Sydney), it was quite a high standard. Cronulla HS had a poor record in all sports.

Q. Are there any players in your comp that play dirty (ie John Hopoate, Adrian Morely, Michael Crocker, Danny Williams style), or do 99% of the players in your comp play fair?
A. Strange question. There were always dirty players but they were not really a problem and were in the minority. I generally watched out for players who hit the hardest - and they weren't dirty.

Q. Have you had any serious injuries? If so, how many have you had and which one would you say was the most painful?
A. Nothing too serious. Got knocked out. Plus the knees got hurt when I was 16-17, and I couldn't walk properly for a week.

Q. In a game which you have participated in, what is the worst injury you have ever seen?
A. Broken bones, concussion, a few bloody noses. One young bloke copped a badly broken leg which was quite severe at the time, and we were only playing park footy. Nothing malicious in the tackle, just one of those things.
For the most part, everyone walked off without injury.

Phillips

1 year.

Forbes Magpies.

A few Ex NRL players are running around in Group 11.. Epa Navale (Former Eel) played for Dybbo Cyms this season. Damien Kennedy (Former Western Suburbs) plays for Parkes, Wes Maas (Former Rabbitoh) is also running around for Dubbo i think.. theres some good players running around.

Most teams have some players that like to elbow to the face & give abit of niggle etc etc.

Fractured my Arm, was out for a 3 weeks.

One of my team mates hurt his knee.. called the game off a few minutes early so the Ambulance can take him from the field.

Red Bear

1) How long have you been playing league for? - under 8'8, 11's, 12's and 16's for a club and playerd for school the last 3 years
2) What club(s) do you/did you play for?St Columbkille's (school had side in the junior comp) in 8's Collies the rest and for the might Smiths Hill rugby league side.
3) How would you describe the quality of the players in the competition which you participate in? Club - sh*t, was in the b's and no one was going to go far i dont think, few decent players but no one outstanding.
4) Are there any players in your comp that play dirty (ie John Hopoate, Adrian Morely, Michael Crocker, Danny Williams style), or do 99% of the players in your comp play fair?Couple of guys from another club got suspended for 2 years for fighting, teams from down south were always dirty
5) Have you had any serious injuries? If so, how many have you had and which one would you say was the most painful?Bloody nose is about it, worst is being slammed on the back tho
6) If the answer is no for question 3, have you had any injuries during the time you've played, or managed to stay relatively injury-free in your career, like the likes of Cliff Lyons? Nah i was too sh*t to get injured, sh*tty winge rmost of the time (altho i playe dmuch better at school when i played in the middle more, so much easier to defend, enjoyed defending from marker)
7) In a game which you have participated in, what is the worst injury you have ever seen? Mate broke his collar bone. There was a massive brawl in my last ever game of footy and the game got abandoned a few weeks back for school.

8 - Why did you stop? Too small, too sh*t, and too slow. Didnt enjoy playing when i was sh*thouse, soccer is waaaay more fun to play.

Knight87

Soz, I should also add this (want your opinion on this):

9) When someone is about to tackle you, do you ever get worried that you could possibly get injured or not? Because (even though I never played at any of the higher levels), I use to get that thought in the back of my head, when I saw someone running in at me at full speed (maybe it was fear, i dunno).

10) on the topic of brawls, have you been involved in, or seen any really bad ones on the footy field? Tell us about it

Misanthrope

hahahhaa, Misanthrope. You must be a relatively fit person to not have obtained a single injury from league.

I don't injure easily. In my theatre days (which are considerably more recent) ran into walls at top speed, got hit upside the head with bronze candle-stick holders, and got three colours of sh*t slapped out of me by an angry feminist. All scripted. I wasn't universally hated or something like that.

Alas, I cannot fight to save my life. I'm like Homer in that episode where he's a boxer. Hard to hurt, but sh*t useless.

TooheysNew

When someone is about to tackle you, do you ever get worried that you could possibly get injured or not? Because (even though I never played at any of the higher levels), I use to get that thought in the back of my head, when I saw someone running in at me at full speed (maybe it was fear, i dunno).
To be honest, anyone who feels that way has no place on a football field.