Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

forevermakingthreadafterthread

IF THE CLUBS AND PLAYERS CAN BE FINED SO SHOULD THE NRL AND THE REF BOSS AND THE REFS BE FINED TOO

foreverinourshadow

Shadow Something that I've noticed recently is the fact that our big name players haven't stepped up. When I saw manly sea eagles have a massive clean out I straight away thought f**k these guys are gonna be a bottom 8 team for years to come. Two years later they're a top 4 team again.

Manly based their whole team around big name recruits and players. DCE, Green, trbojevic brothers, Koroisau, Walker and Taupau. The rest of manly's roster could quite as easily be seen as duds. Sironen, winterstein, Kelly, uate pfft these guys were reserve graders last year.

What I'm trying to get at is the fact that Souths big name players in Adam Reynolds, Farah, Tom Burgess, George Burgess have all had below average seasons. We supply a significant amount of our salary cap to these players (bar Farah) and they have been some of our worst performers this year. The reality is that we're not going to be a premiership force until they all pull their fingers out and start playing good footy again. Plus we're sorely missing GI. Give me a metre eater prop and a fast winger for next year. We should be able to afford that with the salary cap increasing.

but but but but SSTID sillysaggypants and co want to wait for burns jennings talakai turner clark and greinke and gosiewski and co to come of age lol.....tell em their dreaming i think 9/10 of our board members are a duplicate of the dont knowers on here FACT!!!I reckon r20 will back me up on this one its as plain as day to see mate....Shadow...

foreverinourshadow

I am totally besotted how the dont knowers cant see why we are on 13th position in 2017 it beggars disbelief they just cant see it its truly amazing....Shadow...

Itsamansgame

I'm being serious in saying this,Madge should get his good mate from the old dart Sir Alex Ferguson on the line and discuss the aspects of sports psychology and the success that Ferguson had with Man Utd employing this science.
Ferguson was a wizard in turning average players into very successful players by installing belief in themselves,I believe that our squad are seriously lacking in that belief,"time for the shrink"!

DiegoNT

We won a premiership with turner, clark and tyrrell.
We had Auva'a,Johnston and keary as rookies who were developing and making the odd mistakes. Tom as well, who was only half as good as george in that 2014 season.
We had Tuquiri after his failed Irish rugby adventure.
By that logic with so many duds and rookies we should have been spooners.

We won the lot.
Why?
Because it's a team game.
We had our stars firing. All the rookies and duds had to do was their own jobs.

You say Rochow and cherrington need to play like Papali, Vaughan or Taupau. Both were brought cheap as depth players yet your comparing them to 3 of the most expensive forwards in the game. If anyone we need the twins to be playing like Taupau or Vaughn

You ask would Broncos have the same.
Look at their 2015 gf sides.
Broncos had
Reed- bog average
Oates- Rookie with a few mistakes in his game
Kahu- still not quite a first grade standard back
McCullough- at the time was just getting to be an average hooker.
Adam Blair- off the scrap heap
Wallace- bog average until he went to titans
Ofenhaugie- is he still in 1st grade
Dodds- who?
Nikorima- at the time a limited player.

Souths Till I Die

We won a premiership with turner, clark and tyrrell.
We had Auva'a,Johnston and keary as rookies who were developing and making the odd mistakes. Tom as well, who was only half as good as george in that 2014 season.
We had Tuquiri after his failed Irish rugby adventure.
By that logic with so many duds and rookies we should have been spooners.

We won the lot.
Why?
Because it's a team game.
We had our stars firing. All the rookies and duds had to do was their own jobs.

You say Rochow and cherrington need to play like Papali, Vaughan or Taupau. Both were brought cheap as depth players yet your comparing them to 3 of the most expensive forwards in the game. If anyone we need the twins to be playing like Taupau or Vaughn

You ask would Broncos have the same.
Look at their 2015 gf sides.
Broncos had
Reed- bog average
Oates- Rookie with a few mistakes in his game
Kahu- still not quite a first grade standard back
McCullough- at the time was just getting to be an average hooker.
Adam Blair- off the scrap heap
Wallace- bog average until he went to titans
Ofenhaugie- is he still in 1st grade
Dodds- who?
Nikorima- at the time a limited player.

You're right diego. We don't need a team full of champions we need a champion team as the saying goes. But right now our team isn't playing like a team. More like Girl Scouts.

foreverinourshadow

Well you have given Shadow every reason to feel very good about himself,both men mentioned have risen to the top job in their country...not bad for anti leftist's with suggested low intelligence!
images

themacemaceman

6. And lastly like every loyalist souths fan/member its rather concerning to why or how such a mess has occurred after 2014? and it definitely defies natural logic that Crowe/Packer and co allowed this to happen remember we are on 13th position this season and come october we will definitely all be watching a STORM VS ? GRAND FINAL:mad: ...Shadow...

I'm not sure what your definition of a loyalist is shadow, but I'm thinking it differs from that of the rest of society.
By constantly deriding the club, the players, the coach and other supporters of the club you claim to love you have proven time and time again on this forum that you are most definitely NOT a loyalist fan/member.

ThingFish

Answer in a nutshell!! We won a premiership. 2012-2014 the players would put up with Madge's style because they where hungry for 21. They finally got it so now the hungers gone, no need for the hard yards, they've got a ring.

The only way to make Souths great again.
1: End Rusty's love affair with Burgess family.
2: Get rid of Madge.
3: Keep and Buy players that are hungry for 22.

foreverinourshadow

6. And lastly like every loyalist souths fan/member its rather concerning to why or how such a mess has occurred after 2014? and it definitely defies natural logic that Crowe/Packer and co allowed this to happen remember we are on 13th position this season and come october we will definitely all be watching a STORM VS ? GRAND FINAL:mad: ...Shadow...

I'm not sure what your definition of a loyalist is shadow, but I'm thinking it differs from that of the rest of society.
By constantly deriding the club, the players, the coach and other supporters of the club you claim to love you have proven time and time again on this forum that you are most definitely NOT a loyalist fan/member.

oi R20 ....TMMM wants to stick with mediocrity they just dont get it do they:confused:...Shadow...

Itsamansgame

Answer in a nutshell!! We won a premiership. 2012-2014 the players would put up with Madge's style because they where hungry for 21. They finally got it so now the hungers gone, no need for the hard yards, they've got a ring.

Inglis,Johnston,Sutton,Reynolds,Tyrrell,Turner,Clark,T Burgess,G Burgess and Sam the 10 players left from our GF winning team.
Let's be honest,how many of these players have improved since 2014,in my opinion none,only Sam can still hold his own.
So in your assessment of the lack of hunger of this core group with their ring on their finger I couldn't agree more.
As for Madge,yep definitely hasn't altered our game plan to throw the cat amongst the pigeons and keep the opposition guessing,definitely not hard to coach against our mob.
And yep I'm so over the "Crowe,Burgess" soap opera.
So my friend I definitely reckon you have hit the nail on the head with your 3 reasonings!

foreverinourshadow

oi r20 will cecchin give us some good calls mate im hoping for a decent go by the ref i want to be optimistic mate this week.....will we get hammered or will we stand up at anz on sunday arvo??...Shadow...

doyen

The 3 things you've mentioned have contributed to our demise.

Sths are not only at the tail-end of the ladder------they are also still playing an uninteresting style of RL!!!

I don't think this will change under Maguire as he is set in his way & quite possibly is incapable of change!!
Obviously,our roster has serious deficiencies & is inferior to most of our rivals.

Gagai is a great step in the right direction with recruitment!!