Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

forevermakingthreadafterthread

IF THE CLUBS AND PLAYERS CAN BE FINED SO SHOULD THE NRL AND THE REF BOSS AND THE REFS BE FINED TOO

Souths Till I Die

Totally agree---he is a pretty valuable player for the reasons you express.

And I believe he is held in high esteem for what he brings to the team & club off-field.

It would be utter craziness to cast aside great clubmen in the Clarke mould!

The best thing about Clark is that he's one of those players that won't let their pride get in the way of what's best for the club. If he needs to be stood down for a game or two to trial a youngster he wouldn't go to the media to bitch and moan. Until our youngster props step up I think he has to stay in the 17.

clark/tyrrell/turner ARE DUDS/greinke gone cherro gone rochow gone all these forwards are duds why on gods earth would you buy all of these duds to play in one team its CRAZYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY RECRUITMENT GONE MAD NOW WE BOUGHT BRITT THINGS NEVER CHANGE FOR THE BETTER DO THEY I SUGGEST THE 2018 WOODEN SPOON MAY HEAD OUR WAY UNLESS WE CULL MORE DUDS AND BUY A WINGER NOT GRAHAM/ AND BUY A CENTRE NOT HUNT AND ALSO BUY 2 BALL PLAYING 1ST GRADE PROPS OR PERISH IN 2018....R20 KNOWS I AM RIGHT...SH A D O W...

Shadow I understand your frustration but Clark is a true club man. He lives and breathes south Sydney. He is also okay with being a depth player. We don't have anyone better than him in the squad right now. Johnstone has the potential however. Turner is definitely struggling to cement a spot in first grade so there's no need to freak out about him.

Your concern about Adam Reynolds is definitely shared though. He is on his last legs. We have a very injury prone team.

foreverinourshadow

Souths have a shiiit team just stick with clark/turner/britt/gosie and souths will most probably collect the wooden spoon why some people want to stick with mediocrity amazes me ...Shadow...

foreverinourshadow

Totally agree---he is a pretty valuable player for the reasons you express.

And I believe he is held in high esteem for what he brings to the team & club off-field.

It would be utter craziness to cast aside great clubmen in the Clarke mould!

no he is not we need far better forwards than clark/gosie/britt/turner we just released cherro/rochow/greinke thats 3 more dud forwards that i told you we dont need now they are gone yippppeeee and thank god tyrrell is released or is he such a great club man like clark that we should keep tyrrell as well?? souths must be reading my posts R20?? they need to read that great last post of yours for sure...Shadow...

foreverinourshadow

callmack1......graham cant handle the radradra""s whom is gone to french footy anyway luckily.....graham cant handle the likes of blake ferguson/vanivalu/ or any top winger one on one etc etc etc etc graham aint ready fact .....we need dylan walker to partner gagai not hunt / hunt is a nsw cup player and will never be anything in the future fact fact fact and you can quote me mate!!! we dont need gosie/britt/clark/turner we need a teo or a brown or a taupau or a james graham to help the 3burgi/crichton/fui ok fact fact . mate we need a winger and a centre and 2 running / ball off loading props/forwards players otherwise just stay with mediocrity and stay near the bottom of the ladder fact....mate if we use sutto/gosie/britt/turner/clark in our 17 man squad continually then logically we are fugging doomed BIGTIME . NO IFFS OR BUTTS HERE.....ask yourself could you see bellamy for instance using clark/turner/sutto/britt/gosie in a 17 man squad at the storm continually and do you think that the storm recruiters would buy these dud players with sutto used by date which has expired sutto is not a dud may i add but he will be a passenger player in 2018??would grandpa bennett like these 5 players in his 17 man squad for 2018 i forbid not?? its a big huge fugging mess at redfern there cruitment after 2014 borders on insanity fact fact fact...souths have not been proactive in the players market like the tigpies/drugcastle and a few other clubs now ask yourself why??we dont need farah.... we did not need luke kelly/cherro/rochow/nielsen/greinke so why did we buy all of these duds for 1-2 seasons then sack them all it defies logic?? its a mess callmack1 ...Shadow...

foreverinourshadow

Wooohoooooooo Shadow is on fire.......
images

Souths Till I Die

callmack1......graham cant handle the radradra""s whom is gone to french footy anyway luckily.....graham cant handle the likes of blake ferguson/vanivalu/ or any top winger one on one etc etc etc etc graham aint ready fact .....we need dylan walker to partner gagai not hunt / hunt is a nsw cup player and will never be anything in the future fact fact fact and you can quote me mate!!! we dont need gosie/britt/clark/turner we need a teo or a brown or a taupau or a james graham to help the 3burgi/crichton/fui ok fact fact . mate we need a winger and a centre and 2 running / ball off loading props/forwards players otherwise just stay with mediocrity and stay near the bottom of the ladder fact....mate if we use sutto/gosie/britt/turner/clark in our 17 man squad continually then logically we are fugging doomed BIGTIME . NO IFFS OR BUTTS HERE.....ask yourself could you see bellamy for instance using clark/turner/sutto/britt/gosie in a 17 man squad at the storm continually and do you think that the storm recruiters would buy these dud players with sutto used by date which has expired sutto is not a dud may i add but he will be a passenger player in 2018??would grandpa bennett like these 5 players in his 17 man squad for 2018 i forbid not?? its a big huge fugging mess at redfern there cruitment after 2014 borders on insanity fact fact fact...souths have not been proactive in the players market like the tigpies/drugcastle and a few other clubs now ask yourself why??we dont need farah.... we did not need luke kelly/cherro/rochow/nielsen/greinke so why did we buy all of these duds for 1-2 seasons then sack them all it defies logic?? its a mess callmack1 ...Shadow...

Had a big read of this shadow and you make some good points but you also need to understand that there's gonna always be some average players in the 30 man squad. Yeah I don't believe graham is ready for first grade yet either. He has a lot of talent but needs to do some bulking up and he doesn't have that speed which AJ had when he debuted. I still think we need another winger as you say. As for the prop department you're completely on point and Richo was saying that he still has a few key signings in his firing line. He reckons that we're okay with the cap so maybe we will see another prop and winger signing? We just have to be good on the market you know? We still have to wait for cooper cronk to make a decision because then there's gonna be a player merry go round. Seibold has some tough decisions to make in retention as well.

Personally I wouldn't be keeping Sutton and I'd be keeping Reynolds on notice. I'd like to see Souths recruit a back up half like Hastings because it means that he can slot in when Reynolds isn't performing. This year we didn't have that option.

Souths Till I Die

2018 squad.

1. GI
2. AJ
3. Hunt.*
4 Gagai
5. Graham.*
6. Walker
7. Arey
8. Tom Burgess
9. Cook
10. Sam Burgess
11. Fuimaono
12. Crichton
13. Murray

14. Farah
15. Musgrove
16. Sutton/Talakai/Britt/Turner
17. George Burgess*

18. Clark

Ideally where there are * I'd like to see signings but otherwise I think this is the best squad we can offer with the crop we have. I'd be looking at replacing Sutton with Britt or talakai in the second row as that's their best position and I think talakai has a lot to offer as a ball runner. I reckon we can transform him into a taupau like player who just runs the ball in short stints. Hunt and graham are our best options right now but hunt worries me because he's injury prone and graham worries me because he's still not ready for first grade.

If Farah is on the books we keep in the 17 purely for leadership. You don't put 600k in reserve grade and make the club look more stupid than it already looks. George Burgess needs a massive kick up the backside. He should be worried about even getting a contract next year his brother is playing twice as good as he is and he just has no impact anymore. I remember one game he ran for less than 10 metres, what the f**k is going on there? I understand he's recently had a child but his on field performances are no where near where they used to be. He has a lot to prove next season.

Souths Till I Die

So if I'm looking at options for next year in recruitment and if we can make two key signings there are two specific players that I would target.

1. Latrell Mitchell. I know his contracted but it's not like the roosters are staying away from Crichton either. If we can promise him the fullback role then he would be fantastic at Souths. Would allow GI to play centre as well.

2. Aidan Tolman. I understand the dogs just resigned him to a massive contract but I think a workhorse prop that can play big minutes is exactly what this team needs. Not only does he rack up massive tackle counts and run metres but he is experienced and is a leader. If Sam and Tolman were our starting props with tom and George coming off the bench playing smaller stints for bigger impact then we would be all set in the prop department.

As a small signing I'd be looking at locking up Jackson Hastings as well. Great utility player that can fill in if there's ever an injury to our spine.

Some other players that should be considered. Brett Morris, Josh Morris, Marika Koroibete, Young Tonumapeia, Joseph Manu, Agnatius Paasi.

foreverinourshadow

SSTID...in england tom was always a better player than george its just that george arrived much earlier in australia,before tom did and george gained more seasoned/experience well before tom did but now tom is quietly getting better fact although i believe they both need to get a far lot better than at present its just not good enough sammy is a GEM . ..Shadow...

Souths Till I Die

SSTID...in england tom was always a better player than george its just that george arrived much earlier in australia,before tom did and george gained more seasoned/experience well before tom did but now tom is quietly getting better fact although i believe they both need to get a far lot better than at present its just not good enough sammy is a GEM . ..Shadow...

Really? I never actually knew that. Tom has actually had some really good games this year it's just about consistency for him. George definitely needs to step it up a gear. Sam is worth every cent of 800k. The only reason we got him so cheap is because he loves this club to death. He is a true Rabbitoh.

Had a big read of this shadow and you make some good points but you also need to understand that there's gonna always be some average players in the 30 man squad. Yeah I don't believe graham is ready for first grade yet either. He has a lot of talent but needs to do some bulking up and he doesn't have that speed which AJ had when he debuted. I still think we need another winger as you say. As for the prop department you're completely on point and Richo was saying that he still has a few key signings in his firing line. He reckons that we're okay with the cap so maybe we will see another prop and winger signing? We just have to be good on the market you know? We still have to wait for cooper cronk to make a decision because then there's gonna be a player merry go round. Seibold has some tough decisions to make in retention as well.

Personally I wouldn't be keeping Sutton and I'd be keeping Reynolds on notice. I'd like to see Souths recruit a back up half like Hastings because it means that he can slot in when Reynolds isn't performing. This year we didn't have that option.
Yet the Roosters and Cows are examples of teams that only have 8-9 average players in their squad. Yet we have 16-17 average out of our 30'man squad!!!!

Really? I never actually knew that. Tom has actually had some really good games this year it's just about consistency for him. George definitely needs to step it up a gear. Sam is worth every cent of 800k. The only reason we got him so cheap is because he loves this club to death. He is a true Rabbitoh.
Of course Sam is worth 800k yet most on here can't see that....

Tom currently worth $400k.

George worth $250k.

Souths Till I Die

Of course Sam is worth 800k yet most on here can't see that....

Tom currently worth $400k.

George worth $250k.

Yeah that baffles me. Sam is one of the best players going around in the NRL. He just needs more help up front!

Yeah that sounds about right and would free up 350k spending money!