Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fox Sports - Sailor Out, Johns and Geyer In

Eddie.

The fox team need a revamp.

Sailor was useless. No real insight into the game, and pathetic, boring humour. Good riddance.

Freeman talks in circles and again doesn't add any great insight into the game. Too busy trying to make a fool of himself.

Tallis is pretty average as well however occasionally he will say something forthright.

Daely used to be good but now he has lost the plot, become captain obvious.

Kimmorley is rubbish.

The only couple i don't mind are Smith and Alexander. Belcher is ok too. Phelan ain't a bad host but its just annoying when he adds his opinion, which is useless, stick to hosting.

I'm a fan of Mark Geyer. He says some dumb things, however he pulls no punches and aint best mates with all the players. Matty Johns would be very good I think. He said himself now he aint treading on egg shells as a mate of all the players. I think he would have alot to offer.

Fair dinkum .... The dragons could sign Josef Fritzl and the fans would climbing over each other to suck him off.
It is Wendell sailor people.
Qlder wanker
Broncos wanker
Rugby Union money grabbing wanker
Drugs wanker
Dragons wanker

Glad he's gone .... Be good to see Phil Gould follow him.

moggs

I think it is a great choice by Fox..

Dell was too busy talking up friends and connections where MG speaks from a footy fan perspective.

We need panelists that tell it how it is.. MG is a good start, but please find some people that polorize opinion! That is why we come to this forum isnt it?

drake

I like MG.

He just comes across as real. He admits he's made some f**k ups (Smoked pot and belted blokes on the field - yeah, a real danger to society) but he is a genuine bloke. I don't agree with everything he says, far from it, but I think he has done very well for a boofhead from the west who got a rep for being the coach's hitman.

Dell is a tosser. I can't stomach the arrogant twat. I don't care if he goes for Saints or is the Red V ambassador. Skull goes for Saints and has done for decades... he's still an A grade wanker.

Now if Traitor Tallis would get the flick and take Daley with him.

Seriously, out of the hundreds of ex-footballers floating around, surely one or two of them can string words together.

M.G is like a punch drunk boxer he is just another ex footballer with little to no brain cells left.

All of the footy shows are poor at best they don't even comapre to the AFL footy show.

Big Pete

I'd still prefer ex-footballers than a bunch of journalists trying to make a name for themselves.

Could you imagine a DT League show...

*shivers*

Then why not ex coaches? Every one I have heard with a media gig - apart from Wally - had great insight into so many facets of the game. Daniel Anderson is warming to his ABC role. Brian Smith used to be great - also had wonderful insights into his ex players.

When a twat like Freeman gets a long term gig I'm sure a small house plant could do better.

beave

I actually like listening to Matt Elliott when he used to go on Fox, he speaks really well IMO.

Big Pete

Good suggestion Strat.

And I agree with beave, Elliott was a lot of fun when he was on The Footy Show and they were giving him grief for his post-match interviews. Very well spoken and brought some great insight. Would make a wonderful addition to any panel.

Allstar Knights

Elliot handles himself like a real professional when he's speaking in the media. Ever since I've watched him on either The Footy Show or Foxsports, I thought he'd have a future in the media. He knows his shit and can get very technical on footy related questions . He's exactly what you want on a show when it comes to talking serious footy. He would still do well on say, The Footy Show, but I think he's perfect on a show like NRL On Fox, The Game Plan, or even commentating.

Ulysseus

When a twat like Freeman gets a long term gig I'm sure a small house plant could do better.

I like it, make it happen.
After the Raiders have another shit start to the year Furner gets interviewed by an actual kitchen sized Fern.
Given the silent treatment, Furner cracks under the pressure.

babyg

The good news is that it is a good sign to see different networks fighting each other over securing league people. Hopefully we will see this at tv rights time.

Special K

Geyer says dumb stuff for the sake of it 9 times out of 10... If only fox would get rid of Freeman and Pearce ffs.

Surely Freeman will be punted next... Do they still employ woolford? Ffs

nrlnrl

Geyer says dumb stuff for the sake of it 9 times out of 10... If only fox would get rid of Freeman and Pearce ffs.

Surely Freeman will be punted next... Do they still employ woolford? Ffs

as Big Pete said, Woolford punted recently

Pearce gone as he'll be on IC, Freeman - ??

rednblack

I hear there's a big shake up coming of on-air talent at fox.
Quite a few have had the talk from the new boss, and I wouldn't be surprised to see quite a few either go, or have their on-air roles significantly reduced. I believe Phelan might end up being one of the losers. Some of the fox sport news presenters also.
Can't confirm anything, just what I hear.

docbrown

That's Burns' directive. They're clearing the ranks to make room for Matthew Johns and a reformatting.

docbrown

If there's one thing every EP has in common it's that as soon as they come in they make a drastic change/changes.

Why?

Because if they maintain the status quo then management might question why they hired them.

Then why not ex coaches? Every one I have heard with a media gig - apart from Wally - had great insight into so many facets of the game. Daniel Anderson is warming to his ABC role. Brian Smith used to be great - also had wonderful insights into his ex players.

.Two words

Stuart Raper

Theyre much like ex players, in that most are ex palyers but also some are good in media, some arent